We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dinner at the Marina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Galeon

El Galeon
Ranked #22 of 105 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
“Dinner at the Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have not had dinner at the Marina for many years! The food was excellent - great caesar salad, tuna was fresh and the service was impeccable.

Will definitely go again next year!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IxtapaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Felt like your sitting on the deck of an old ship. Loved the table side Caesar salad. Good wine list.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wantogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at El Galeon in Feb 2014. The prices were very good and the food was even better. Cisco was our waiter and he was very nice. I would recommend this place to anyone..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic Evening at the Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed an evening of good service and good food at El Galeon. He had the Beef Medallion and I a pasta dish. Both meals as well as the Calamari (along with the chipotle tartar sauce) were very good. The atmosphere of the marina is very romantic. it was a bit warm at first, but they were able to turn on a few fans to get the air moving. We enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice Setting and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went to El Galeon for dinner. The bill was $45 US dollars for dinner + $40 for a nice bottle of wine. My husband had the tenderloin steak with mustard sauce and he liked it very much. Though the first time it came out very rare and he had to send it back to get it medium. I had the El Galeon soup which was great. The Caesar salads were also good. The marina setting was pleasant and the service was super friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Galeon also viewed

Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to El Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing