We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascina Cesarina B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Borgo Ticino B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We found this B&B totally by accident. We were driving to Venice and found ourselves suddenly without a lodging in Aosta, so we got on line and luckily discovered this hidden treasure. Lorraine, the hostess, and her lovely husband Franco, gave us one of the most fond memories of our vacation. The room was quiet and comfortable, like home. The yard and grounds are relaxing, and if you're lucky the rasberries and blueberries will be fruiting. There are two goofy dogs which the kids loved. We only spent a night, but this location would be a perfect central point from which to launch day trips around Lago Maggiore and the surrounding countryside. Warning: without a car you wont get here. And, it is not in Novara at all, but about 25 km outside of town towards the southern tip of Lago Maggiore in a small village called "Borgo Ticino".

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

It was a pleasure having you, and the children were such fun too. A real shame you couldn't stay longer, so although you had a chance to sample our fruit and vegetables, you didn't manage to visit the many wonders of Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta, or to enjoy just relaxing around the pool, maybe after some intensive bargain-hunting at one of the weekly markets each town has! Remember us next time you come to Italy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 58 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

Myself and a work colleague were stuck in Milan after the Furniture fair due to the Volcano ash crisis, and nearest accommodation we could find was 80KM from Linate, at Cascina Cesarina. Matteo the son went to pick us up at Maplense, yet we were at Linate ( our fault).
No problem, Matteo drove another 30 to get us, and 45 mins back to house.

Arrived at 11pm , exhausted, being on the go since 9am. His Mum, Lorraine, stayed uo and made us delicious pasta washed down with local wine. We were stuck for another 24 hrs, ( stuck not the correct word, we were at leisure..), so we hired a car to tour the lakes before sitting down with the family for a delicious homemade Italian meal and more local wine. Good company and good conversation, as good as it gets. Lorraine and Matteo were of great help in providing internet research to aide our journey home.

Made farewells in the morning as we drove to Genoa, train to Nice, train to Paris, train to London, train to Holyhead and ferry back to Dublin.

A difficult yet great adventure, and great memories of a truly relaxed and friendly hide away that we would have never discovered if the Ashes hadn't blown our way.

We will be back.

Barry & Paul.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

We were glad to be able to make your situation a little easier! It's an ill wind, as they say.... some customers unable to reach us because of the ash cloud, but you found us because of it! Matteo thoroughly enjoyed showing off his internet skills as he scouted out rental cars, alternative travel means to get you back home, and so on. We hope to be able to host you in more relaxed circumstances in the future.... come try our new selection of wines and see the improvements we have made to both guest bedrooms - and the new bathroom - since your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I have been to this beautiful house to experience Lorraine and Franco's hospitality for a number of years, but after another week-long stay this year, this is the first time I've actually written a review! I always have a wonderful time in this lovely old fashioned Italian farmhouse type property. I have read comments saying it is hard to find, but it's a fairly short drive from the airport and Lorraine will happily walk you through the directions so I have never had any problems. I have always found the rooms very clean and generously sized (comfortable beds as well!), not that I would want to spend much time inside when there is such a nice area by the pool to swim, read, sunbathe, play basketball or just relax in.
Lorraine has many years of hospitality and cooking experience and makes delicious suppers! I recommend them highly. She and Franco grow a lot of their own produce in their vegeatble gardens, something they are both passionate about, and incorporate this into their meals. I have recently found this passion starting to rub off on me and am starting to grow some of my own fruit and veg back home in England!
The lakes that surround this area are all beautiful and ther are some lovely towns that so far all seem to have been worth visiting. There are lots of nice ice-cream shops, incredible views, little cobbled streets, great architecture and sometimes even opportunities to swim in the lakes as some of the locals do. There are also of course the sights of Milan reachable either by car or trains from various local stations. I don't play, but I hear the Golf Courses are excellent, and are certainly very close. As young adults my twin sister and I enjoyed going to some of bars in towns such as Verona which were presented great value and friendly places to meet lots of people our own age.
So in summary, this is a beautiful house, run by Lorraine and Franco who know everything there is to know about the area, the food, growing produce, and all manner of other topics, who will look after you and you are sure to fall in love with this little corner of Italy. They speak a number of languages and give you Italian style with British hospitality,a winning combo!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. It has been nice to have younger repeat visitors, as most returnees are ... let's say, nearer my age than you are, and it was lovely to have you staying with your friends, so we had a 'full house' of young adults, which helped update me on the night life on offer as well as the standard tourist and sporting itineraries! (By the way, so as not to confuse others, the town where you enjoyed the bars and ice creams is Arona; Verona is much further east and where Romeo and Juliet hung out!) Thanks too for your help in getting the fire going for the various barbecues we had - young appetites certainly did justice to our grilled vegetables and the fruit and salad offerings we had, as well as requiring cartloads of organic beef and sausages! Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed at Cascina Cesarina for one night in March 2008.
For those of you who have a car and need an accommodation close to Milan Malpensa, this is the place to be in. It is a very reasonably priced B&B with excellent facilities.
Lorraine had given us very elaborate directions to the B&B - make sure that you follow them. She had also given us some very useful information about the park and ride facilities for sightseeing in Milan. She even e-mailed us a few weeks before our trip - warning us to bring warm clothes since the weather in Milan had been unusually chilly for that time of the year.
We had booked the Green room but upon arrival were upgraded to the bigger family room on the top floor. We had not asked for dinner, but I was a little sick and seeing my condition she made me some hot tea and offered to cook some pasta and vegetables for us (for a very nominal charge). It tasted fantastic!!
The room was big and both the room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was served next morning - plenty of food.
On our way to the airport we followed her directions again - it took us only 20 minutes to get to the airport.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this place - especially if you have a morning flight from Malpensa.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profshanku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thank you for expressing your appreciation of our hospitality, although your stay was very short. We are becoming almost 'specialists' in 'the-night-before-departure' stays, especially for guests from the U.S., but are sorry to find many people have toured other parts of Italy without putting Lake Maggiore and Lake Orta on their itinerary. It's a shame, as they have everything: natural beauty of lakes and mountains, world heritage sites, quaint old villages, bustling local markets and, as everywhere in Italy, wonderful food! For sports lovers there are also several top class (and one friendly amateurs') golf clubs, horse riding, mountain biking and trekking, for the adventurous rafting and other adrenaline-pumpers in Valsesia..... as well as just .... chilling! Come back to see us again, this time in top health, so you can enjoy more than just a plate of pasta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This was an old fashioned house in the middle of nowhere.
The hostess was extremely friendly. She couldnt have been more helpful.
We stayed in a large clean room. There was no air con but the windows were fully open with mos nets in them so it was fine. Bathroom was great, good shower, very clean.

Breakfast was lovely too.

The only thing I didnt like was trying to find the place, we were saved by my sat nav. Even though Lorraine had sent directions we would not have found it without sat nav, and we nearly didnt even trust that, when we were sent down some very small roads.

I sent Lorriane a Q before i got there, then paid cash when I got there,.

Lorraine is trying to acquire some eco friendly status, so dont expect your towels changed too often if you have a long stay etc. She clearly is really into being green and was v passionate about it, she was really lovely.


We arrived v late and left v early so i can really comment on the surroundings, it seemed very pretty but it did seem to be in the middle of nowhere.
Great for the airport and reasonable price.
Would recomend it, but not if you are in a car, on your own late on at night with just a map as you would be better off paying more and staying closer to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDUR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

I am sorry you had problems finding us. It is true that we are well-hidden and off the beaten track, but we are only 3 km from a motorway exit and for people coming from Malpensa (it is a beautiful cross-country route, shame you couldn't admire the riverside stretch at night!), so many people have complimented me on the accuracy of the directions on our website (whereas unfortunately sat.navs often bring people to immediate vicinity and then abandon them, saying they have arrived!) However we pride ourselves on giving maximum attention to all our guests, and are always willing to go out and rescue people who have a problem, even (or especially) in the middle of the night ! So come back again to stay for a few days, and discover that in daylight that 'in the middle of nowhere' means in a very countrified area about 1km off a main state road, and 10 minutes from the bustling tourist town of Arona on Lake Maggiore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I stayed on the Cascina Cesarina for 3 days with my family and it was a great experience. The owners are from UK and Italy and you get the best of both countries!

The breakfast is fabulous, the room big, nice and clean. The surroundings are great too.

We visited several museums around, the Lago Maggiore and other places but what my kids loved the most was playing in the Cascina Cesarina back garden!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ifitsrusteditsmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

I am glad you all enjoyed your stay with us. As parents, you had the 'problem' many families experience when staying with us: parents have plans to tour, the children love just staying at Cascina Cesarina to play with the animals, or swim in the pool, go on the swing, or help Franco pick (eat!) raspberries and blueberries. But as you also discovered, the Transport Museum in Ranco and the Rocca di Angera (Angera Castle) with its dolls' museum (full of marionettes and puppet theatres, large toy cars, strange automatons etc., so not only a 'girly' thing), beautiful frescoed rooms, old wine press and magnificent views from the top of the tower are among children's top places to visit. For animal lovers, we are right next door to a wildlife park (and benefit from their dawn and dusk choruses!), and a short drive will take you to a Safari Park which you can drive around, touring other parts on foot, and it also has various shows (falconry, show with horses, etc) and a small amusement park with roundabouts etc as well as a large reptilarium. Even visiting the world-famous gardens on Isolabella and Isola Madre is popular with children because of the silver peacocks (often with chicks) and other flamboyant birds kept there. Come back again and explore more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Rated excellent within what Cascina Cesarina claims to be: country home. It is not the Omni International. Clean, complete, tasteful, very quiet house in country close enough to Milan airport for immediate arrivals or departures. Proprietress Lorraine Buckley is well-traveled and fascinating, and provides nutritious & delicious breakfast. I arrived very late at night from the aptly named Malpensa. She was welcoming. (Follow her careful directions precisely or use GPS.)

Best was her support on many levels (purse-size Kleenex to go, generous Internet access from her office, repairing my cell phone, arranging for a cook at a rented villa later in the month), continuing even after I departed. In this area, she far exceeded any concierge service at the Omnis. To arrange a stay, see her web site, www.cascinacesarina.com.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AliciaDeNood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. Yours was indeed a lightning stay, as you were on your way to a very grand villa where you had arranged for a large party of friends and family to congregate. But it was a pleasure for me to be of assistance, as your contact at your next destination was both hard to get hold of and strictly Italian-speaking only. We are always willing to help guests organize trips, or next places to stay, and only recommend places we can trust to take equally good care of you.
Hope to see you again if you come our way - and take some time to explore our part of the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgo Ticino
1.4 mi away
Casa Violetta
Casa Violetta
#1 of 2 in Agrate Conturbia
135 reviews
4.2 mi away
Farm House Altana del Motto Rosso
5.7 mi away
La Capuccina - Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Aguzza
1.4 mi away
Il Giardino delle Cince
Il Giardino delle Cince
#1 of 1 in Borgo Ticino
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascina Cesarina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Cesarina B&B

Address: Via Dei Cesari 32 | Frazione Gagnago, 28040 Borgo Ticino, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Borgo Ticino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Borgo Ticino
Price Range: $52 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our country house (Dinner), Bed and Breakfast is strategically placed for touring the Italian Lakes, for overnight stays on arrival at or before departing from Milan Malpensa airport. Also convenient for business travellers to Milan or Milan trade fairs. Our two guest bedrooms with private bathrooms were restyled in April 2011 and both offer comfort in antique style. Our meals use fruit and vegetables we grow ourselves and we shop ethically at local organic farms/through fair trade etc. Italian and international cooking, vegetarian, gluten-free specialized... we'll do things just how you want them! We also love making super-healthy juices and smoothies, as extra snacks or as meal replacements - with our own fruit and veg and/or with exotic and superfood additions. Children welcome, as are well-mannered pets. We speak English, Italian, French and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Cascina Cesarina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascina Cesarina B&B Borgo Ticino, Italy - Province Of Novara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing