We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home, host and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascina Cesarina B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borgo Ticino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascina Cesarina B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Borgo Ticino B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful home, host and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Casina Ceserina over the Summer, the house is beautiful, cosy and has a wonderful home-like feel. The host, Lorraine is very friendly and pointed out some fun things to visit in the area. I particularly enjoyed the train trip through the mountains to Locarno, Switzerland which ended with a wonderful three hour boat ride back down Lake Maggiore to Arona. Ceserina is only a 30 minute drive away from the airport and is very close to Lake Maggiore and Orta. Lorraine's home cooked Italian food is amazing, and I particularly love the fact it is all made from their own home-grown organic vegetables. This place is special and I would definitely return again. Thank you Lorraine and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for your very positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that my tip to go for the Lago Maggiore Express tour of the lake by scenic railway and boat has created a lasting memory - great for photography enthusiasts such as yourself, too. We hope you will return in future - you could try late autumn for special colours and our polenta with mushrooms from our woods cooked over the wood stove, or Spring to enjoy the azaleas and rhododendrons in our garden but especially in the many gardens around the lakes which are open to the public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Norwegian family with 3 kids stayed for 3 nights in August. The kids enjoyed the pool, table tennis and the dogs, and they are still talking about Lorraines pasta! The food was great, and we all enjoyed the proximity to Laggio Maggiore. We really appreciated the meals together with the family, and would like to visit the place again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We love having friendly and lively families such as yourselves to stay, and it is nice that you enjoyed all the facilities to the full: pool and swing, ping pong and basket ball hoop, and that the children enjoyed playing with the dogs and cats, who always appreciate younger visitors! Hope to see you again some time, and will have new pasta dishes for you to try, as well as our usual home-grown organic fruit and vegetable dishes, and other local specialities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

After some difficulty locating the house tucked away under an archway we were delighted to discover this enchanting family friendly B&B. Lorraine, Franco and Matteo were charming and generous hosts and our girls age 5 and 3 immediately fell in love with the dogs, cats and garden. In fact we had to drag them away to explore the stunning Lake Maggiore and surrounding areas. Lorraine was a font of local knowledge and helped us plan our tours so that there was something for all the family.
Overall we had a delightful break, enjoyed great food(including Franco's home made jams) and local ice-cream. We would certainly revisit this beautiful part of Italy and would recommend Cascina Cesarina to families especially with small children.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuravidaPlaya, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay - and the weather proved you made a great choice - the summer season is getting longer and longer, and you really enjoyed seeing the Lakes with all the sunshine but less of the crowds! We loved having you too, and your children were really delightful. Apologies for the animals - they are always so popular (together with the swimming pool in high summer) that it makes getting away to go touring more difficult than if you were staying in an anonymous hotel.... but then, taking things easy is part of what holidays are about. Come back again and see the Borromeo islands that you didn't manage to see this time around - guaranteed the children will love the silver peacock chicks, even if they are still young to appreciate the incredible history of the Palace and its beautiful ballroom, furniture, paintings etc....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days and loved it! We had some delicious home grown food made by Lorraine (the host) and also enjoyed trips to local pizzeria's and ice cream parlours. Great location to visit the beautiful island of Orta, and also close (driving) to Milan and Lake Maggoire.

Overall perfect holiday, made special by the hosts and house.

Steph and Neil

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Proprietario at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Thanks for your kind words. We're always pleased to give advice on local eateries as well as unmissable sights, and happy when our home-grown organic fruit and vegetables are appreciated. The last few days have been less manic than August, and we have been able to dedicate time to preparing delicious fig and chocolate jam, as well as melanzane alla parmigiana, which I remember you really liked (into the freezer for autumn guests now!) and today it's peach jam time..... they'll be waiting for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Cascina Cesarina is conveniently located less than 30 mins from Milan Malpensa airport. I really did not expect how pretty it would be, its got a very rustic feel to it and the minute you get there its impossible not to relax. The house itsself is great, with a large kitchen and 2 floors of bedrooms with balconies, but its also amazing because of the woodland grounds and of course, the swimming pool and basketball hoop area. The room was also very nice and comfortable with a more-than-decent en-suite bathroom. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lealondon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Proprietario at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. This year, in addition to our 'standard' tourist, here to visit the Italian Lakes (and enjoy some sunshine and good food), we have noticed an increase in British guests whose primary objective is 'chilling', enjoying everything Cascina Cesarina has to offer, interspersed with trips to the Borromeo Islands and the rest of Lake Maggiore, Lake Orta, or to nearby mountain/wilderness areas for short hikes. Glad you enjoyed yourselves and yes, come back anytime - budget airlines make it so easy even for a long weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for a few nights at Cascina Cesarina and loved every minute of it. Lorraine and Franco, the owners, are so friendly and welcoming. Our room was an excellent size and very clean with tea and coffee facilities and a TV. We ate there one evening and had three fabulous courses with very authentic italian food. All of the vegetables came from their own garden so the food was very fresh. We rented a car at Malpensa airport and only took about 20 minutes to drive to the B & B. The nearest town, Arona, is beautiful with great views of the lake and lots of lively bars and restaurants. There is also the best ice cream shop I have ever been to nearby! Highly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us - and that our food went down so well. After years of people thinking we were a bit mad to be so keen on organic food and growing as much of our own food as possible, and buying the rest from local producers, it is nice to see that we were really just ahead of the city-dwellers' fashion! You are one of several guests who have mentioned how excellent the new ice-cream place in Arona is - I now have favourite gelaterias to suggest in Arona, Castelletto, Sesto Calende, Orta San Giulio..... and a mean selection of home-made fruit ice creams appear according to the season's production at Cascina Cesarina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

There are many things about this wonderful authentic B&B that make it special but the one element that really made CASCINA CESARINA stand out for me were the hosts. And the food. Also, the fact that I think I might have actually discovered shangri la and it's in Italy.
A genuine family run business, you feel more welcomed than if you were to stay with your own relatives. I was greeted with the friendly Ciao! but fortunately they recognised the confused look on my face which resulted in the conversation switching to immaculate English.
Supper was always the ultimate treat. I have eaten well in my life, dining at fancy restaurants and in expensive hotels but genuinely nothing compares. Nothing! Truly the most magnificent home grown, seasonal and local ingredients came together in sumptuous Italian recipes to form dishes which made me think I had died and gone to heaven. A typical meal might consist of pasta arrabatia for starters, a fat trout caught hours earlier from an alpine river served with a mind meltingly delicious and home grown salad for the main, all finished off by a home made home grown summer fruit tart. Amazing!
During the day we had great plans to explore the area, being close to Arona, Lake Garda and Milan but we were a bit exhausted at this stage so spent a lot of time sunbathing by the pool or playing a little basket ball/table tennis. But mainly I lounged around in one of the hammocks pretending to read whist I actually snoozed the afternoon away waiting for the first glass of wine, board and card games to begin. Nirvana.

Difficult to find flaws really, I just wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Noise is so not an issue and the Italian countryside was beautiful in every direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank begnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorrainebb, Owner at Cascina Cesarina B&B, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
I try to answer all reviews, also to show I do take the time to read them and keep track of any suggestions guests may make.... but this time I confess I am lost for words: your review is so complimentary as to be quite embarrassing! Thanks so much. I am glad you and your friends had such a good time - there seemed to be a continual flurry of competitions and tournaments you organized in between your dips in the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgo Ticino
1.4 mi away
Casa Violetta
Casa Violetta
#1 of 2 in Agrate Conturbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.2 mi away
Farm House Altana del Motto Rosso
1.4 mi away
Il Giardino delle Cince
Il Giardino delle Cince
#1 of 1 in Borgo Ticino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascina Cesarina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Cesarina B&B

Property: Cascina Cesarina B&B
Address: Via Dei Cesari 32 | Frazione Gagnago, 28040 Borgo Ticino, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Borgo Ticino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Borgo Ticino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our country house (Dinner), Bed and Breakfast is strategically placed for touring the Italian Lakes, for overnight stays on arrival at or before departing from Milan Malpensa airport. Also convenient for business travellers to Milan or Milan trade fairs. Our two guest bedrooms with private bathrooms were restyled in April 2011 and both offer comfort in antique style. Our meals use fruit and vegetables we grow ourselves and we shop ethically at local organic farms/through fair trade etc. Italian and international cooking, vegetarian, gluten-free specialized... we'll do things just how you want them! We also love making super-healthy juices and smoothies, as extra snacks or as meal replacements - with our own fruit and veg and/or with exotic and superfood additions. Children welcome, as are well-mannered pets. We speak English, Italian, French and Spanish. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascina Cesarina B&B Borgo Ticino, Italy - Province Of Novara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing