We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Fantastic.....can't be faulted”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of The Ongar Bell

Take a seat at your very own bar!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time! Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
23 reviews
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time!
Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Art deco backdrop behind the bar
The dining room with exposed original beams
The living room with a real log fire
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in blue
En suite double bedroom tastefully decorated in black and white
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in green
Double bedroom with bay window, tastefully decorated in gold
Spacious landing
Large family kitchen with American style fridge freezer
Kitchen double doors open out on to a spacious terrace, perfect for al fresco dining!
The Ongar Bell, an impressive landmark on the High Street
A perfect place to relax in your own lounge bar
Patio area
Garden area
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
High Ongar, Ongar, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neil P
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic.....can't be faulted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was the 5th time we have stayed at The Bell and it gets better and better each time we go! Keith and Yvonne are great hosts and everything is 1st class, from the amazing food to the superb new bar and hot tub in the garden. The whole place is furnished to the highest order and you've got everything at your finger-tips to have a great time.......we'll be back there soon I hope!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: I suppose if I had to pick one thing it would have to be the new garden area with bar and hot tub, but the food was a very close second
Liked least: That we had to go home!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiffa
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for the weekend. WOW what a hidden treasure. The place is so well furnished, big plasma tv with full sky package including sky sports, not to mention the hot tub!!Yvonne and Keith the owners could not offer to do enough for us. We cannot recommend this place enough. Book it!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebsOxfor...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best nights ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

You have to visit this venue, it is an amazing place for almost any celebration. Yvonne and Keith are perfect hosts, the staff attentive, friendly and very professional. The rooms have character, perfectly clean, the reception rooms are quirky mixing modern with traditional features. Loved a dip in the hot tub. The chef would give most top chefs a run for their money. The lovely part is the flexibility offered, nothing is too much trouble.
This is a true gem of a place and we will be revisiting at the soonest opportunity.
Debbie and Richard from Oxford

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The flexibility to adapt to our needs 100% and the huge hot tub oh and the food
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa J
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic place, the photos don't do it justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay for my friend's hen do. It's absolutely fantastic and perfect for what we needed (12 girls).

In a lovely quiet village but just a short cab ride away from The Sugar Hut. Cringe, yes we went there and it's everything you'd expect!

Owner answered lots of questions prior, decor is lovely, garden is beautiful, bar is amazing. Only good things to say.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyPop...
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Venue, Amazing Hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Bell is a fabulous venue for any occasion, beautiful décor, stunning garden and hosts to die for! If you are looking for a top location for that special celebration, I suggest you stop looking now and book the Bell now!
I really couldn't fault anything about this venue and I guarantee you will fall in love with it like we all did x

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The garden area is so beautiful.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S
Chinnor, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at the Bell with a group of friends for 40th Birthday Celebrations.

Everyone had a great time and Keith and Yvonne could not have done more to ensure our stay was perfect.
Accommodation very stylish and comfortable , We especially like the Bar and Hot tub 
Already planning next year’s weekend @ the Bell.
Thanks again Keith and Yvonne for an amazing weekend.

Richard and Claire Simpson.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoJo599
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Christmas to treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We said we would come back to the Ongar Bell & luckily we were able to at the most fabulous time of year...Christmas! We spent a whole week with our close family & had the best time ever. Yvonne & Keith & staff again went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. The decorations for Christmas were gorgeous and the atmosphere wonderful. The kids being together with their cousins and grandparents at such a special time of year couldn't be beaten and it was great recuperation for Grandpa who was recovering from recent heart surgery ,with everyone to look after him. A stay at anytime of year is fantastic but the memories of Christmas 2012 will last forever. A wonderful addition since our last stay is the new outdoor hot tub area. Absolutely fantastic! Not sure what else can be done to make The Ongar Bell any better-to us it's perfect and we can't wait to be able to return. We hope! Definately recommend to all.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Christmas time together with loved ones
Liked least: Once again...leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing