We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burger off...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Casey's Drive In - CLOSED

Casey's Drive In
Attraction details
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Burger off...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were really looking forward to this. Casey's website had advertised the event in such a way that made you feel you were going to buy into the 'drive-in' experience.

Yes, we were in a field in Berkshire, in the middle of September, but we are hardy British souls, & we were up for it regardless!

Everything was fine going in - considering the number of cars, a fairly speedy entrance with the assistance of some very helpful traffic marshals.

With a (hungry) wife & 2 (hungrier) young children in tow, my heart sank when I saw the two very long queues for food...& then i spotted how many stalls (two) the queues were leading towards.

I joined the ordering queue, & about 15 minutes later, somebody further up that queue (rather than someone working there) informed us that the first queue was for ordering the food, & the second queue was for collecting the food.

Some 70 minutes later (& 15 minutes into the film itself), I was still queuing, & at this point there were still around 60 people in front of me waiting to be served. Another 100 or so were now in the queue for collecting their food.

I figured out (assuming they actually had sufficient food for everyone), that there was a good chance I would be spending the entire duration of the film queuing for food) & gave up at this point, & am grateful that we had the foresight to have packed some popcorn, drinks & other nibbles with us before we left.

We saw a number of cars leave well before the end, & can only conclude that the passengers that were hoping to buy some food, were now having to leave the field early in order to find some!

Before the film started, there were a number of announcements reminding us that the event was in aid of charity, which led to quite a few in the queue around me to comment that this was perhaps a ploy to ensure that not as many people would complain, because it would have seemed churlish to do so.

The film-watching experience was great, & weather-willing, we would do it again. But the food part of it was, a disaster. Even having additional tents selling pizza & hot dogs would have alleviated the queues significantly, & considering the number of people that wanted food, I have no doubt that all of the catering tents would have made a handsome profit on the night.

I see there is a mention on Casey's Facebook page effectively extricating themselves with how the catering-side of things went, by saying that they had informed the caterers of the expected numbers, & so it's not their issue.

However, if that is the case, they should have had iron-clad assurances that the caterers they had hired, would be able to cope with the demand.

A good reputation can be harmed by such occurrences, & I can only hope that Casey's ensure that future events have sufficient catering facilities in place.

So, in a nutshell, the film-watching part of it was brilliant - however, if you want to ensure that the hungry growls of your stomach do not interfere with your enjoyment of the film, then eat beforehand!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Man_About_The_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaseysDriveIn, Owner at Casey's Drive In, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
First of all sincere apologies. You are absolutely right and we are dreadfully sorry for the poor experience that you had. We have been let down terribly by the caterer, but you are correct there are no excuses for the issues that you have raised, and we apologise profusely to you.

The caterers were told numbers prior to the event, there is no excuse. We hope you understand that the caterers are separate from Casey's Drive In. We are as disappointed as you are that with so much hard work we have been let down so badly and you've had such a bad evening.

As you probably know we have put on this event solely for the benefit of the charity Sebastian's Action Trust, which helps terminally ill children and all the profits raised are going to them so we are doubly upset with letting you down and the repercussions of this for the charity.

We will be very pleased to send you the written assurances and guarantees we were given by the catering firm. If you would like to see these please email me on caseysdrivein@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Badly Organised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I liked the initial idea of this event, but the poor lack of organisation of the cars and food on the night ruined the overall experience of being at a "drive in".

When we first arrived we where directed into a space where are position prevented us even seeing the screen, this was the same for many other cars beside us.

The organisation of the food and refreshment stands was the poorest. On the website it stated that they where going to be a wide range of American style burgers and milkshakes. Because of this we decided to buy food, bad idea. The line was moving very slow! and by the time we got even near the front they had sold out of everything but a few raps ( by this time we had missed over half the movie)

This event was for charity and it was for such a great cause, but the organisers of this event failed to deliver what they were selling. The overall experience of this event for me and my family was poor, however on the end song everyone turned on their hazards and it was like a outdoor disco it was magical.

I would recommend this event to people as it is a good experience to go to, however, bring food and drinks with you, this will prevent you missing a lot of the movie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank S2v4f85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaseysDriveIn, Owner at Casey's Drive In, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
First of all sincere apologies. You are absolutely right and we are dreadfully sorry for the poor experience that you had. We have been let down terribly by the caterer, but you are correct there are no excuses for the issues that you have raised, and we apologise profusely to you.

The caterers were told numbers prior to the event, there is no excuse. We hope you understand that the caterers are separate from Casey's Drive In. We are as disappointed as you are that with so much hard work we have been let down so badly and you've had such a bad evening.

As you probably know we have put on this event solely for the benefit of the charity Sebastian's Action Trust, which helps terminally ill children and all the profits raised are going to them so we are doubly upset with letting you down and the repercussions of this for the charity.

We will be very pleased to send you the written assurances and guarantees we were given by the catering firm. If you would like to see these please email me on caseysdrivein@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great group singalong night out!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although the food issues were a problem we had a wonderful evening watching grease from our car, hazards going off at each song and blaring the choons and dancing in the car !!
A great evening with great friends :) well done girls u did a great job xx

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ticknersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drive In Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back home from Casey's Drive In watching Grease in Winkfield. The only good bit of the evening was the film - frankly becuase that's the bit Casey had nothing to do with.
Having arrived quite early, we spent over 2 hours in a queue for burgers. There were probably 200 hundred people behind us who also queued in the cold for over 2 hours for food only to be told that they'd run out 20 minutes into the film. Many of them had small children who didn't get fed. It's was a mess.
Whoever Casey is, he/she quite clearly got this VERY wrong. There was 1 catering company with 1 van and and 1 Outback BBQ which is designed for family cooking. The 'Traditional American Burgers' and Milkshakes were heavily marketed to those who'd pre-booked tickets. But they severely under-estimated the number of people and that people who obviously want to eat before the film.
It was an absolute disaster. We enjoyed the movie but my advice would be that if you're going to go along to one of these events then just make sure you take you're own food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyB_221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaseysDriveIn, Owner at Casey's Drive In, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
First of all sincere apologies. You are absolutely right and we are dreadfully sorry for the poor experience that you had. We have been let down terribly by the caterer, but you are correct there are no excuses for the issues that you have raised, and we apologise profusely to you.

The caterers were told numbers prior to the event, there is no excuse. We hope you understand that the caterers are separate from Casey's Drive In. We are as disappointed as you are that with so much hard work we have been let down so badly and you've had such a bad evening.

As you probably know we have put on this event solely for the benefit of the charity Sebastian's Action Trust, which helps terminally ill children and all the profits raised are going to them so we are doubly upset with letting you down and the repercussions of this for the charity.

We will be very pleased to send you the written assurances and guarantees we were given by the catering firm. If you would like to see these please email me on caseysdrivein@gmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an AMAZING idea! and so much FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thanks to Casey and Carly for organising such a fun and unique type of cinema experience. Such an enjoyable way to spend an evening- just pile a car full of friends and family, stock up on loads of snacks and drinks when you get there, and sit back and watch some classics on the big screen! So old school!

Can't wait until the screenings in September!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casey's Drive In also viewed

Winkfield, Bracknell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing