We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hambleton

“Home cooked meal”
Review of The Shovels Inn

The Shovels Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hambleton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Shovels Inn, located in the heart of the village of Hambleton, is a warm and welcoming, friendly, family orientated pub serving delicious home cooked (inc. real chips!) traditional pub food and a la carte daily specials. There is a wide range of cask marque recommended real ales, world wines, gins, draught beers/ciders, soft drinks and rijo coffees. We have regular entertainment inc quiz night (Thursdays), Karaoke, live bands, family fun days, psychic suppers and much more! Like The Shovels Inn on Facebook for regular updates too.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We have visited here on and off over the years and always enjoy the meal, we have called tonight for tea, and as usual it doesn’t disappoint, on the specials board was turkey, ham and leek pie, proper home cooked chips and sweet corn and it’s compliments to the chef it was delicious, my husband had the 3 sausage sizzler which he said he will have again next time. You have to wait a while once you have ordered but be patient as it’s cooked to order and we’ll worth the wait

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank twingyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2020

A group of eight of us had lunch here on the 8th January 2020. It was my first time at The Shovels, and I was very impressed. The staff were really pleasant and efficient, and the delicious food was served piping hot on hot plates. Well done.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Visited here with the family, 4 adults and 2 children. Originally booked a table for 6pm, but then received a call asking to make the booking later, which we accepted.

On arrival, the pub seems nice. Good atmosphere. We were shown to our table, on which we had booked a highchair. No highchair in position so had to get our own. We then have drinks orders, and after a wait had to request menus as none were offered. Staff were polite, but got the feeling they were new, as they didn't seem overly helpful. Drinks arrived and then the wait began...

Over an hour later, and after having to surah to a waitress, god finally arrived at our table. All ok apart from the waitress holding a very hot plate above our 2 year old's head while she put another down.

The food itself was very good. No complaints at all. We then had desserts which were nothing special (scoop of ice cream) but again had to wait a good 15 minutes for these to arrive.

As an aside, also popped to the gents toilet. Cleanliness is clearly not a priority, which is a worry for an establishment serving food. The urinals were dirty and clearly not flushing, the hand wash basin hot tap was broken, as the hand dryer wasn't working.

Overall an average rating. A promising little pub with very nice food, but kept down by slightly clueless waiting on staff, very slow service, and poor cleanliness.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank W3807MYhedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

The surroundings could do with an overhaul but the food is excellent and more than makes up for this.
It is good value with an excellent choice including vegetarian and gluten free.
Service is not the fastest but food is freshly cooked and worth waiting for. Staff are friendly and very responsive to individual requests and dietary needs

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank TPDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

We had the roast beef Sunday dinner and it was superb. The staff are all friendly and helpful and service was nice and efficient.

The pub is friendly and has a good atmosphere.

We’d certainly recommend the roast beef :-)

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Mojones3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shovels Inn also viewed

Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 
Preesall, Poulton Le Fylde
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Wyre District
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 

Been to The Shovels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing