We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Briliant Hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Briliant Hosts!”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I'm not one to write reviews often but our stay with Manfred & Angie @ Christmas this year was worth a mention.

Simple & clean accomodation in a perfect location at one of the better, less busy & more family orientated beaches.

We spent christmas on this beach soaking up the sun drinking beer from the small huts & eating plates of fresh oysters that a local man dives the bay for each day. When we returned to our room before heading to a local seafood restaurant 200 yards from Villa Mozart, Manfred & Angie were waiting with a complementary bottle of wine.

This part of our holiday was one of the highlights & for the price you can't fault the accomodation one bit.

We would definitly stay again, many thanks to Manfred & Angie.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    26
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
95
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed four nights in the bungalow at Thanksgiving- Manfred was a fabulous host! Bungalow was spacious, unique, clean, complete with two hammocks and two geckos. Also a safe for our passports and fridge for our beers. Several restaurants nearby for eggs, fish and great ceviche. Very short walk to Playa Carrizalillo.
Would definitely go back, especially to hang out with Manfred!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYCArchivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Puerto Escondido and stayed at the fabulous Villa Mozart. I agree with the previous review, it is everything it says it is and more. We just had a wonderful time. We stayed in the bungalow which I would recommend for a honeymoon. Great privacy and wonderful atmosphere. There is an outside kitchen and we loved using it. There are restaurants nearby which we went to but it was nice to "stay in" and cook. We could walk almost anywhere or quickly grab a taxi if we wanted. We walked to our closest beach, Carizallio once a day and then explored the other nearby beaches as well. Manfred and Angie are great hosts. Have great suggestions for "off the beaten track" things to do around Puerto. They know the area well and give get advice regarding what to do in such a beautiful place. We did not want to leave and will definitly go back again and stay at Villa Mozart. It is FULL of charm. The accomdations were just perfect for us. No TV! Just the basics for an escape from the "real world".

  • Liked — The location, our room and our hosts
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KateMcKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2008

I suppose we were a little apprehensive reserving a hotel based purely on TA ratings. The people who have stayed here and graciously sent in reviews really have it right. We experienced one of our best vacations and would return in a heart beat. Manfred and Angie were superb hosts and did everything possible to ensure our stay was perfect. The 6 suite hotel is close to needed amenities and the proximity to the best swimming areas make it the perfect spot if you are not into the surfing scene, a 20-25 peso taxi ride will get you anywhere you want to go. Our suite (#6) upstairs was quiet, had good cooking facilities, oodles of hot water and fans that made air conditioning unnecessary. I would mention that on our arrival from the airport to the hotel, the taxi driver had a terrible time locating the address listed as Tortugas 77 (which actually brings you to the rear of the hotel). We later realized that the front of the Hotel is actually on the Rinconada an area that every subsequent taxi driver knew instantly and is far more convenient for coming and going. Manfred allowed us usage of his membership to a private club and we spent a very pleasant day relaxing though nothing could compete with Carazallilo beach a short walk down the famous 167 steps to the water. The view from the top of the stairs is probably on everyone's camera. Just thinking about it kind of takes your breath away, our first venture to the beach I must say was only slightly disconcerting as the cabana's and chairs are for the most part quite old and somewhat dilapidated. We quickly realized that all is not what it seems and we ended up spending full days at the same restaurant (not the best word but I'm not sure how to describe the family operated business that line the beach). enjoying excellent food and beverages at low prices that still leave me shaking my head. We did a 2 night visit to Oaxaca and discovered one the nicest cities one could ask for, extremely well maintained, great shops and galleries and the food was out of sight. If you are looking for an all-inclusive type of holiday then PE wouldn't be right with it's quaint rustic charm but for a laid back do your own thing holiday it is perfect and Villa Mozart y Macondo is the only place to stay.

  • Liked — The host's genuine care and concern for his hotel and it's quests.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hill7458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We staid at Villa Mozart for just 3 nights in October and I must say that everything that's written on the tripadvisor site is absolutely true and this place deserve the rating of 5 stars. It's really amazing how an owner like Manfred can permanently do one thing and just this one thing: Provide this amazing special service. I'm sure that lots of hotel owners, managers and staff members should go there and see the secret of hospitality - at Villa Mozart it happens and we're very gratefull that we could spend some days over there. We'll surely be back. :-)

  • Liked — this one and only special service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floriditana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I booked the stay after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and was completely satisfied. We were 2 couples and stayed there for 4 nights. We took 2 rooms in the house. The rooms were clean, they provided towels, we had our own balcony, there were en suite bathrooms, bug nets in front of windows, a fan, even a safe in the room. Very good value for money. And I really liked the artwork. As I never believe reviews that are only good so I will also add one bit here that could have been better - the shower temperature did not go to hot and for me it was a bit cool. However, my friends did not see an issue with this and we never talked to the owner about it either. It was so hot outside that a cool shower was needed on most days anyway.

The owner is very friendly and accommodating. We needed late (very late) check out and he was extremely welcoming and flexible. He also recommended places to visit during our stay.

The place is near a very nice beach - in my opinion best beach in Puerto Escondido for swimming and sunbathing and for beginner surfing. The surfing school is across the street - with an amazing teacher. Granted, the hotel was a taxi ride away from the center, but the taxis are plentiful and very cheap. Everything we needed for the stay was available in walking distance. There is a GREAT breakfast place next to the hotel, there is Internet cafe, a store and a surf clothes and souvenir store and several places for dinner and drinks. It is also very nice to go to the top of the hotel and take some wine/ beer and relax there. If I went back to Puerto Escondido, I would without a doubt stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The owner, the rooms, the garden and the location
  • Disliked — nothing that could be noted here
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We found "Villa Mozart" by accident and were definitively surprised by this little oasis. Within a palmtree garden with hovering humming birds, "Villa Mozart" consists of one bungalow and a two floor building with four rooms and two appartments. The place is situated right next to the best (smallest and less crowded) beach in Puerto Escondido, Playa Carrizalillo. The right beach to relax and to learn how to surf. "Villa Mozart" is run by Manfred from Germany, a very polite, friendly and helpful host who is living in Mexico since years. He knows the surrounding by heart and recommended us good places for day trips (like eg a close laguna) etc.
This place is a must if you look for a tiny, quiet, very clean and beautifully situated place! The prices for rooms are a bargain too. One day i'll be back, i hope!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank serge_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#22 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#13 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mozart y Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mozart y Macondo

Property: Villa Mozart y Macondo
Address: Avenida las Tortugas 77 | Carrizalillo, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Mozart y Macondo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Mozart is a small and peaceful hotel comprising two apartments, four ground floor studios and two bungalows, each with its own unique and artistic touch. The apartments and the bungalows have good cooking facilities. The hotel, only two minutes from the Pacific Ocean, has a beautiful tropical garden, very appropriately named Macondo. There are many good quality places to eat just seconds away from the hotel. The Villa Mozart offers wireless access to internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Mozart y Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart y Macondo
Mozart y Macondo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing