We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deserves to be rated #1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“deserves to be rated #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

I suppose we were a little apprehensive reserving a hotel based purely on TA ratings. The people who have stayed here and graciously sent in reviews really have it right. We experienced one of our best vacations and would return in a heart beat. Manfred and Angie were superb hosts and did everything possible to ensure our stay was perfect. The 6 suite hotel is close to needed amenities and the proximity to the best swimming areas make it the perfect spot if you are not into the surfing scene, a 20-25 peso taxi ride will get you anywhere you want to go. Our suite (#6) upstairs was quiet, had good cooking facilities, oodles of hot water and fans that made air conditioning unnecessary. I would mention that on our arrival from the airport to the hotel, the taxi driver had a terrible time locating the address listed as Tortugas 77 (which actually brings you to the rear of the hotel). We later realized that the front of the Hotel is actually on the Rinconada an area that every subsequent taxi driver knew instantly and is far more convenient for coming and going. Manfred allowed us usage of his membership to a private club and we spent a very pleasant day relaxing though nothing could compete with Carazallilo beach a short walk down the famous 167 steps to the water. The view from the top of the stairs is probably on everyone's camera. Just thinking about it kind of takes your breath away, our first venture to the beach I must say was only slightly disconcerting as the cabana's and chairs are for the most part quite old and somewhat dilapidated. We quickly realized that all is not what it seems and we ended up spending full days at the same restaurant (not the best word but I'm not sure how to describe the family operated business that line the beach). enjoying excellent food and beverages at low prices that still leave me shaking my head. We did a 2 night visit to Oaxaca and discovered one the nicest cities one could ask for, extremely well maintained, great shops and galleries and the food was out of sight. If you are looking for an all-inclusive type of holiday then PE wouldn't be right with it's quaint rustic charm but for a laid back do your own thing holiday it is perfect and Villa Mozart y Macondo is the only place to stay.

  • Liked — The host's genuine care and concern for his hotel and it's quests.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hill7458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
85
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

We staid at Villa Mozart for just 3 nights in October and I must say that everything that's written on the tripadvisor site is absolutely true and this place deserve the rating of 5 stars. It's really amazing how an owner like Manfred can permanently do one thing and just this one thing: Provide this amazing special service. I'm sure that lots of hotel owners, managers and staff members should go there and see the secret of hospitality - at Villa Mozart it happens and we're very gratefull that we could spend some days over there. We'll surely be back. :-)

  • Liked — this one and only special service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floriditana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

I booked the stay after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and was completely satisfied. We were 2 couples and stayed there for 4 nights. We took 2 rooms in the house. The rooms were clean, they provided towels, we had our own balcony, there were en suite bathrooms, bug nets in front of windows, a fan, even a safe in the room. Very good value for money. And I really liked the artwork. As I never believe reviews that are only good so I will also add one bit here that could have been better - the shower temperature did not go to hot and for me it was a bit cool. However, my friends did not see an issue with this and we never talked to the owner about it either. It was so hot outside that a cool shower was needed on most days anyway.

The owner is very friendly and accommodating. We needed late (very late) check out and he was extremely welcoming and flexible. He also recommended places to visit during our stay.

The place is near a very nice beach - in my opinion best beach in Puerto Escondido for swimming and sunbathing and for beginner surfing. The surfing school is across the street - with an amazing teacher. Granted, the hotel was a taxi ride away from the center, but the taxis are plentiful and very cheap. Everything we needed for the stay was available in walking distance. There is a GREAT breakfast place next to the hotel, there is Internet cafe, a store and a surf clothes and souvenir store and several places for dinner and drinks. It is also very nice to go to the top of the hotel and take some wine/ beer and relax there. If I went back to Puerto Escondido, I would without a doubt stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The owner, the rooms, the garden and the location
  • Disliked — nothing that could be noted here
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

We found "Villa Mozart" by accident and were definitively surprised by this little oasis. Within a palmtree garden with hovering humming birds, "Villa Mozart" consists of one bungalow and a two floor building with four rooms and two appartments. The place is situated right next to the best (smallest and less crowded) beach in Puerto Escondido, Playa Carrizalillo. The right beach to relax and to learn how to surf. "Villa Mozart" is run by Manfred from Germany, a very polite, friendly and helpful host who is living in Mexico since years. He knows the surrounding by heart and recommended us good places for day trips (like eg a close laguna) etc.
This place is a must if you look for a tiny, quiet, very clean and beautifully situated place! The prices for rooms are a bargain too. One day i'll be back, i hope!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank serge_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We had a great time at the Villa Mozart. We would definitely stay there again. The very nice beach for swimmers and surf-beginners is only 2 minutes away. The Villa Mozart was clean, quite and the house and all the rooms have very nice and lovely decors, all rooms have a safe and the tropical garden with collibris and hammocks is like a peace of paradies. And Manfred, the host, is a very friendly, open-minded german guy, who knows, where to go in Puerto Escondido. Thank you Manfred from the Saarland, we miss you!

  • Liked — The nice and clean rooms/The garden/The service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank this_is_christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2008

Had a great time staying at the bungalow. Very clean with great decor. Love the outdoor kitchen so we could have coffee and breakfast while sitting outside. Manfred the owner is a fabulous host. He gave us great ideas about where to go etc. for sightseeing plus he's just a great guy. We always felt completely safe there. No air conditioning but good fans and there is a safe that you can use. Just a really nice private place to stay and very affordable too. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Privacy, affordability and decor.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

My husband and I just returned after 3 wonderful weeks in the bungalow at Villa Mozart. Although not at all fancy or deluxe, it is clean, simple and charming in a quiet neighborhood near a lovely beach, about 2 miles out of town. Manfred, the owner, was a wonderful host, making sure all our needs were met. He was the best inn-keeper we have ever had, very personable and warm. It was the perfect place to unwind and relax, spend hours in the hammock, read, nap and and watch all the tropical birds around. A little slice of paradise, every day was picture-perfect. Our kitchen consisted of a refrigerator, 2 burner stove, and all the necessary pots, pans, cups and dishes. A local baker stopped by weekly with freshly made banana bread and other pastries. Life was most excellent at Villa Mozart, and we would happily stay there again and again.
Nanci and Loren, Portland, Oregon.

  • Liked — The host, location and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NanciAndLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#17 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#6 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#16 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mozart y Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mozart y Macondo

Property: Villa Mozart y Macondo
Address: Avenida las Tortugas 77 | Carrizalillo, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Mozart y Macondo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Mozart is a small and peaceful hotel comprising two apartments, four ground floor studios and two bungalows, each with its own unique and artistic touch. The apartments and the bungalows have good cooking facilities. The hotel, only two minutes from the Pacific Ocean, has a beautiful tropical garden, very appropriately named Macondo. There are many good quality places to eat just seconds away from the hotel. The Villa Mozart offers wireless access to internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mozart y Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart y Macondo
Mozart y Macondo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing