We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casamar is an oasis, peaceful and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casamar Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Very comfortable accommodations and a brilliant staff. Every question answered, every request fulfilled. The pool was a great asset, sparkling clean and lovely tile artwork and pleasant surroundings. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Casamar isn't in the Tourist Centre of Puerto Escondido, it is in a quiet area towards the end of the main Zicatela beach (la Punta). Given that there are taxis passing by the end of the road every 2 or 3 minutes who will run you into town for about USD2, this means you can have a nice quiet sleep and still be close to the action. Its also a safe 30 minute walk down the beach to town if you want the healthy option.
So we eventually decided that Casamar's location is an advantage - since we enjoyed the beach walks. There are also some OK local restaurants 10 minutes safe walk at La Punta, if you are willing to try local food. There is also a great upmarket beachside restaurant 5 minutes away called Guadua, which is worth a visit.
Unlike many suites, Casamar has a fully equipped kitchen with cutlery, crockery, coffee machine, fridge etc. The owners have a part of the hotel reserved just for them. This ensures that the whole hotel has a homely family-run feel with very helpful and happy staff who soon become friends.
We initially booked for 7 nights but extended for a further two. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.
Puerto Escondido is a great place to visit and in August had nice temperatures. We'd definitely go back there and back to Casamar too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We fell in love with this absolutely charming, small boutique hotel! This place definitely stands out among Puerto's places to stay. We applaud Casamar's down-to-earth, bilingual staff for making us feel welcome, arranging all of our activities, and ensuring ongoing satisfaction during our four week stay. Once you step inside Casamar, you are surrounded by exquisite Mexican hand-painted tile murals and colorful ceramic Talavera tiles. The large outdoor pool is surrounded by an immaculately manicured lawn that boasts gorgeous flowers and trees. Our fabulously decorated Oaxacan-style suite was comfortable and clean. From our balcony, we had an incredible 360 degree view of the sunset that glistened upon the Pacific ocean and mountains. We walked down the street to Guadua--one of the best rated restaurants in the area. The hotel staff arranged all of our taxi's (very inexpensive), which took only a few minutes to get us to multiple attractions in and around Puerto. I expressed interest in taking Spanish lessons which was arranged for me on-site with a fabulous teacher named Sol. In addition, private yoga/pilates classes and massages were also booked for me by the helpful staff. Muchas gracias-- to all of the Casamar employees for making our stay exceptional! We will definitely return next year--hopefully with a group of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanaBethWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I would definitely recommend Casamar to anyone staying in Puerto Escondido! The courtyard was beyond beautiful with amazing landscaping. It was filled with hummingbirds and butterflies enjoying the bursting flowers. The suite was comfortable and impeccably clean. I loved how, instead of feeling like some anonymous hotel room, it felt like I was staying in a guest house with many personalized touches that reflected the local culture. The staff were always willing to help out or just have a chat. It really isn't within walking distance to anywhere that we went, however, taxis were easy to catch on the street and the staff was always willing to call one if we asked. My vacation in Puerto was the most relaxing, enjoyable vacation I have ever taken and I attribute that to staying at the Casamar!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Casamar is an excellent spot to get away from all of the touristy type things. With clean rooms, hot showers, and wi-fi, I could've spent a lot more time by the pool. The staff was very helpful and spoke wonderful english which made it way easier to get the service we desired.
Another great thing was that it was very secure with code access gates and a manager living on-site. I can't say enough how great it was:) very relaxing..... I'll definitley come back for another stay

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLOS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had a great experience at Casamar. We were welcomed by Andy, one of the staff members, who welcomed us and explained the local culture, transportation, restaurants and places to visit. The hotel is very secure and incredibly clean. The grounds were well kept and very picturesque, everyday the friendly staff at Casamar were working hard on keeping the place clean. The room was very nice with a nice kitchenette, coffee pot, mid-size refrigerator, ceiling fan, plenty of electrical outlets, reliable wireless internet and very clean. We stayed in room #12 which over looks the Pacific Ocean and Zicatela beach, our balcony was grand with a nice table, umbrella and deck furniture. There was room cleaning service everyday but Sunday, they did a really nice job as well. Every morning we were greeted by the Casamar staff with some chit chat in between. Overall we had a great experience at Casamar, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rl82integr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel has been absolutely perfect for us. The pool is lovely! It is very child friendly here (we have no children but if we did we would bring them here). The rooms are so nice and spotless and the staff is really helpful. You can't always buy breakfast here, but we had fun cooking all our own meals. I highly recommend this place. We are sorry that we have to leave it tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandBontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
251 reviews
10.8 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#26 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casamar Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casamar Suites Hotel

Address: Calle Puebla 407 | Colonia Brisas de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $46 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casamar Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casamar is a collection of 16 uniquely designed suites. From a cozy, intimate couples' rooftop suite to a spacious family studio apartment, each suite is completely furnished and uniquely styled in the Mexican spirit, by local artists with traditional hand-crafted tile, hand-loomed cotton decor and artisan wooden objects.Just 10 mnts from the Puerto Escondido airport and a 1-minute walk from Zicatela beach, Casamar is a tranquil place set in closed, luscious gardens with high palm trees. Enjoy our cool pool, terraces with lounge chairs and garden hamacs. Stroll to the beach for a swim or a long walk.Casamar was designed as a place to come together with family and friends. Sharing the beautiful space to simply connect without the everyday distractions of life, to simply be together and appreciate each other and our stretch of coast. We have a weekly sunset get together with complimentary drinks to share experiences.Our facilities in the common area include a pool with terrace and lounge chairs, a bbq grill, a lounge area with satellite t.V., And a lending library. Wifi is available throughout. Casamar is smoke-free. We have private parking, housekeeping 6 days a week, and refreshments for purchase as well as complimentary yoga classes and dance and aerobics classes, seasonally.Casamar Cafe, our on-site restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily from 8:30 til 3 pm. Francisca , our chef, serves up traditional, balanced meals with market-fresh ingredients.Beyond Casamar, the area offers an array of activities from Spanish lessons to hiking to waterfalls. We are happy to assist you at the front desk in making arrangements. The center of Puerto Escondido and the market are a 5-minute taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casamar Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamar Puerto Escondido
Casamar Hotel Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing