We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casamar Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This complex is lovely, well situated and a real haven. The staff is friendly, able and ever vigilant to the needs of the guests. They seem sincerely interested in making sure the guests are comfortable and happy. They did an excellent job in helping me sojourn to Oaxaca City for a couple of days sending me off with Captain Vega who pilots a lovely twin engine plane for a very affordable price. Our apartment was well furnished, quite comfortable and quiet. The maids were excellent in every way. The owner has a meet and greet on Monday evenings in his apartment and it was interesting meeting the other guests, many of whom had great life stories. Many of the guests were repeat guests over the years. I definitely recommend the Casamar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pueolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    26
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
46
66
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I cannot really add to the many positives written by others about this hotel.However I will add a couple of points not previously mentioned.If you are a beach walker (or jogger) then this is for you as it is quite a long beach and the sand is in itself walk-able.The rooms (at least the one we stayed in) have large screened windows and doors at the front and a screened opening at the back.This front/back screening allows for a cross breeze which coupled with the excellent room fans and landscaping did not require us to use the air conditioner at all.I do not agree with a previous comment that the hotel is situated in a rough looking neighbourhood but rather a typical one where sandy streets are the norm.Also,the Amoki restauant , where you likely will have your included breakfast also serves very decent hamburgers ,pizzas and other dishes during the daytime and evening

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dongara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Since we were visiting Huatulco before, which is cleaner and more family-friendly in terms of streets and security, Puerto Escondido appeared to us to be a rougher turf. When we took the cab towards Casamar, the road and area looked dusty and pretty rural with dogs chasing around others between empty buildings. The Casamar is located next to the beach and is a wonderful place with a beautiful pool and large rooms that can house many. Cooking is possible in the rooms and with a mini.market not far, we used it frequently since the offered breakfast, which is not in the Casamar but a walk down the dusty road in a little place called Amoki, has not been an option for us since my girlfriend had already trouble with the food and the Amoki offered mostly eggs and honestly, did not look very clean to us. On the upside, the friendly maid at the Casamar helped us even washing the dishes and kept the whole apartment clean while the gardener kept the pool area in a perfect condition. Also, the staff helped us tremendously when we asked for a doctor, as well gave us worthful recommendations where to eat, swim and shop in Pto. Escondido. We were taking cabs frequently to get to the best beaches, which are Manazanillo and Carazalillo and also have been using the bus to the market up in downtown and they appear to be safe while we received warnings not to walk on the beach at night and we werent feeling safe at night in general so we stayed mostly at the Casamar at night as at the Playa Zicatela wasnt alot of nightlife going during our stay anyway.
The rooms/apartments are good, however need a television since the only television at the Casamar wasnt working. The connectivity of the free wifi was ok, but worked mostly at the pool. Overall, it has been a pleasant stay at the Casamar but there is still room for improvement and I hope the owner can get it done in order to make it even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knutschito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Casamar is a great place to stay in Puerto Escondido. You are next to the Pacific Ocean in the quite part of Puerto Escondido (Punta). It is a very nice place with many "alternative people". Casamar is a beutiful place to stay. Everything is very clean and I like very much the staff and the owner. The design of the suites is very colorful in a Mexican traditional style. You can enjoy time in a hamac in the tropical garden with swimming pool, take some yoga or dance classes and enjoy a beautiful sunset on the Pacific - sometimes on the terrace on the roof of the building while Will (very nice owner) is welcoming all his guest with a drink and snacks as an "gettogether".
The rooms are very nice and are very well equiped with kitchen and you will be able to cook for yourself in case you are not in the mood to go out. To summarize: A great place to be with very nice people and staff. Dont miss it in case you plan your vacation in Puerto Escondido! Thank you to the great staff and thank you Will!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviaB0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willsawyer, Manager at Casamar Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hola Silvia!
It was great to have you here and learn about your contribution to the community in La Punta area along with Alejandro.
We look forward to your return to your home in Puerto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Casamar was recommended to us from some new found friends who had just stayed there. We booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for over 2 weeks because the place is an absolute oasis in beautiful Puerto Escondido. The owners have designed, built and decorated all the rooms and common areas to make you feel right at home and they have done an outstanding job. The owners are both caring and considerate and it was a real pleasure to meet them. The staff from reception were always friendly and very knowledgeable and helped us to organize and explore a large part of Oaxaca state. We made Casamar our base for our month in Mexico and while we explored the mountains and Oaxaca city the owners let us store our surfboards and extra luggage for free. It was always so nice to return to Casamar and relax in such a beautiful complex with everything you need on holiday including daily maid service to clean your rooms, kitchen, bring fresh towels and sheets and wash your laundry, so good! The gardens around the pool are so beautiful and provide a cool place to retreat from those hot Mexico afternoons, as are the air conditioned rooms which made siesta time a refreshing and relaxing part of our holiday. As a surfing couple we found the location ideal, walking distance to both playa Zicatela and La Punta, mid beach just a minutes walk, nearby restaurants and shops in a quiet area around 5 minutes cab ride away from the noisy nightlife areas. We hope to be back there soon, thanks to everyone at Casamar! We highly recommend it to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beach and point views, we stayed in Plumeria room which is huge and equipped with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willsawyer, Front Office Manager at Casamar Suites Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hey there! So glad to hear you guys made it back home safe :) We are so glad to have met you both and we hope to see you again in the future! Stay in touch! Also, contact us the next time you visit to receive 10% off your next stay (certain restrictions apply) no matter when you visit. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

i dtayed 2 times in this garden hotel with its beautyful swimming pool. for me the big garden in the quiet neigbourhood is unique. I loved justtobein the garden and watch the huming birds, the palms nadthe flowers. My room was veryclean all the time and the kitchen was well equiped, so that I could cook easely, make my shakes in the blender and make my morning cofe in the cafe mashine. the stuff is very friendly and the offer all kind of aktivities. my,room was very stylishly decorated with hand painted tails amazing pictures and confortable beds. Itis a place that I enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willsawyer, Front Office Manager at Casamar Suites Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We also like staying in touch with guests to hear of travels and to share photos. So stay connected :) And now that you have stayed with us, you are automatically part of our Guests Rewards Program. Enjoy 10% off your next stay, no matter when you visit. Notify the office for the best promotion code to use :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unalaska, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

After staying at Casamar Suites i had real mixed feelings about it. The rooms are clean, comfortable and look fantastic. Thats not what I am writing this review about.
I am writing a review to tell you an experience I had with the owner one night. The owners organized a 'meet and greet' evening, it was a few hours where everyone can have a chat with one another and enjoy a cocktail made by the owners.
It was all going well until, the male owner had obviously had a few drinks and made a few remarks about his past career and experiences that I found racist and very arrogant. I was extremely shocked by these comments and would like to warn people.

Also, I being male was asked to join a 'Mens only bible meeting'. I have no problem with religion in the slightest but i found this very strange, due to the fact that the women were not welcome.

Also, Ignore the 'free breakfast' which is advertised on the website. The owner informed me that they have been building the suites for the past few years. I asked him where the free breakfast was and he told me that the are 'under construction'. The only construction I saw was a couple of painters, He told me that I can get a complimentary breakfast across the road and that "its only $3 dollars so I may as well pay for it myself".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldsurfer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willsawyer, Front Office Manager at Casamar Suites Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that you had a so-so experience! Please be assured that the owners of this hotel are very good people. They are Christian and will extend invites to gatherings, but are not pushy. I am not religious, and from what I have seen while working here the Men´s Bible Study is harmless. It is simply a group of men gathering around and talking and socializing. I am not trying to downplay your experience, as you have every right to feel whatever you feel. In regards to the complimentary breakfast, my apologies for the confusion. But, yes we do have complimentary breakfast that was moved to the restaurant "Amoki" just two blocks away due to construction that is in the finishing stages. Regardless you should have gotten your free breakfast :) If you ever decide to visit us again we would like to offer you a 2 nights free stay...but I need to know who you are first :) I hope this message finds you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#6 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#14 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casamar Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casamar Suites Hotel

Property: Casamar Suites Hotel
Address: Calle Puebla 407 | Colonia Brisas de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casamar Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casamar is a collection of 16 uniquely designed suites. From a cozy, intimate couples' rooftop suite to a spacious family studio apartment, each suite is completely furnished and uniquely styled in the Mexican spirit, by local artists with traditional hand-crafted tile, hand-loomed cotton decor and artisan wooden objects.Just 10 mnts from the Puerto Escondido airport and a 1-minute walk from Zicatela beach, Casamar is a tranquil place set in closed, luscious gardens with high palm trees. Enjoy our cool pool, terraces with lounge chairs and garden hamacs. Stroll to the beach for a swim or a long walk.Casamar was designed as a place to come together with family and friends. Sharing the beautiful space to simply connect without the everyday distractions of life, to simply be together and appreciate each other and our stretch of coast. We have a weekly sunset get together with complimentary drinks to share experiences.Our facilities in the common area include a pool with terrace and lounge chairs, a bbq grill, a lounge area with satellite t.V., And a lending library. Wifi is available throughout. Casamar is smoke-free. We have private parking, housekeeping 6 days a week, and refreshments for purchase as well as complimentary yoga classes and dance and aerobics classes, seasonally.Casamar Cafe, our on-site restaurant, serves breakfast and lunch daily from 8:30 til 3 pm. Francisca , our chef, serves up traditional, balanced meals with market-fresh ingredients.Beyond Casamar, the area offers an array of activities from Spanish lessons to hiking to waterfalls. We are happy to assist you at the front desk in making arrangements. The center of Puerto Escondido and the market are a 5-minute taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casamar Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamar Puerto Escondido
Casamar Hotel Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing