We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
72
13
0
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
13
0
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong table one night super friendly and helpful staff the owner every morning highly recommend it to anyone other guests nice beaches cold beer ceiling fan stay there again excellent location clean rooms short walk ross vibe chill
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 90 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Viva Escondido we felt very welcome. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and the location was great. Close to one of the only swimming beaches. We among many other guests decided to extend out stay because we enjoyed it so much. Pancakes every morning and a swimming pool, what else could you want!

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Malicki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

What can I say about this fantastic place? If you are looking meet people, have fun, go to nice but cheap restaurants and are on a budget this is the place for you. With approx 25 beds it is a perfect size to get to know everyone, the kitchen is a good size, there is always someone about during the day and they have a noise curfew around about 11/midnight due to being in a residential area. We absolutely wish we could have stayed longer, it is like one big family with group meals organised to share costs. We want to say a huge thank you to the staff Chris, Suzi and Ellie for being so accommodating and doing everything in there power to make sure we had an awesome time. If we come back to Mexico we will definitely come back here!

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank evesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What can I say, this is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Really not even a hostel, more like a house full of friends and good people. Ross was a great host and knows how to show guests a great time. I was only planning on staying for a few nights and stayed well over a week. It is a hard place to leave! You can just chill by the pool and drink all day, go to the beach, hit the town or go kayaking, birdwatching- the list goes on. The town itself is great as well- full of great people, food, wildlife, and night life. Anything you are looking for! And this hostel is a great addition to it. Super clean, relaxed and safe. It is also in a perfect location. Close to great food and the beach! I could easily go back to Mexico just to hang out in Puerto Escondido and at this hostel. I've never felt more at home abroad and I've been to a lot of places! If you get the chance, don't miss out on this hostel. You won't regret staying there! And you probably won't want to leave. Thanks again Ross and D! Hope to see you cats again soon! -Dan from WI

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hostel is epic. The owner, Ross has done an amazing job of turning this once mansion into Escondido's best place to stay. Ross is also and amazing host and he rocks at showing his guest a good time.
If your coming to Escondido don't miss out on staying here.
Great beds, cool staff, beautiful pool & everything is very clean. Also some of the best art pieces painted on his walls I've ever seen.
As a hostel owner myself I know what makes a great hostel and this is absolutely an epic hostel.
Thanks for the great time bro. I'll see you next time.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

What can i say.. Its like i was at home.. Everyones so friendly the pool is cleaned everyday the paintings nikki and joe have done are amazing loved watching the progress they made.. Mongo the 70 year old mongolian painter who lives here for 2 weeks at a time is hilarous! Joel and trent and de were so helpful! I was sick for most of the time and they acted as big brothers to me.. They also let me organise a pirate party which everyone loved!! Nothing bad to say the dorms are also clean and beds massive!!!! Thankyou guys

Xxxx luci

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucindaemmaord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews