We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vivo Escondido Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Best Hostel I have ever been to. Stay here! Friendly staff, good vibes and great facilities. Even if you surf, just stay here and taxi to the surf spots (30-40 pesos). You will enjoy Peurto Escondido more if you stay here, period.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mitchell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Viva Escondido we felt very welcome. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and the location was great. Close to one of the only swimming beaches. We among many other guests decided to extend out stay because we enjoyed it so much. Pancakes every morning and a swimming pool, what else could you want!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Malicki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

What can I say about this fantastic place? If you are looking meet people, have fun, go to nice but cheap restaurants and are on a budget this is the place for you. With approx 25 beds it is a perfect size to get to know everyone, the kitchen is a good size, there is always someone about during the day and they have a noise curfew around about 11/midnight due to being in a residential area. We absolutely wish we could have stayed longer, it is like one big family with group meals organised to share costs. We want to say a huge thank you to the staff Chris, Suzi and Ellie for being so accommodating and doing everything in there power to make sure we had an awesome time. If we come back to Mexico we will definitely come back here!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank evesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What can I say, this is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Really not even a hostel, more like a house full of friends and good people. Ross was a great host and knows how to show guests a great time. I was only planning on staying for a few nights and stayed well over a week. It is a hard place to leave! You can just chill by the pool and drink all day, go to the beach, hit the town or go kayaking, birdwatching- the list goes on. The town itself is great as well- full of great people, food, wildlife, and night life. Anything you are looking for! And this hostel is a great addition to it. Super clean, relaxed and safe. It is also in a perfect location. Close to great food and the beach! I could easily go back to Mexico just to hang out in Puerto Escondido and at this hostel. I've never felt more at home abroad and I've been to a lot of places! If you get the chance, don't miss out on this hostel. You won't regret staying there! And you probably won't want to leave. Thanks again Ross and D! Hope to see you cats again soon! -Dan from WI

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hostel is epic. The owner, Ross has done an amazing job of turning this once mansion into Escondido's best place to stay. Ross is also and amazing host and he rocks at showing his guest a good time.
If your coming to Escondido don't miss out on staying here.
Great beds, cool staff, beautiful pool & everything is very clean. Also some of the best art pieces painted on his walls I've ever seen.
As a hostel owner myself I know what makes a great hostel and this is absolutely an epic hostel.
Thanks for the great time bro. I'll see you next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

What can i say.. Its like i was at home.. Everyones so friendly the pool is cleaned everyday the paintings nikki and joe have done are amazing loved watching the progress they made.. Mongo the 70 year old mongolian painter who lives here for 2 weeks at a time is hilarous! Joel and trent and de were so helpful! I was sick for most of the time and they acted as big brothers to me.. They also let me organise a pirate party which everyone loved!! Nothing bad to say the dorms are also clean and beds massive!!!! Thankyou guys


Xxxx luci

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucindaemmaord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

By far the best hostel my boyfriend and i went! The owner and the staff are so amazing!! We had a hard time leaving, we absolutely loved it! Anyone who is suppose to stay a day or two ends up staying longer than 1week! Brand new hostel with art everywhere, and if u are lucky youll get the chance to meet Ali Mongo who is a 78year old artist! (Chillest man ever) so we 1000% recommend this place! Thanks so much for everyhing ross xoox manu and karo!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Karolambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
8 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caracol Plaza
Caracol Plaza
#41 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#16 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
134 reviews
2.7 mi away
One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido
One Love Hostal Puerto Escondido
#3 of 71 in Puerto Escondido
97 reviews
3 mi away
Akadia La Punta
Akadia La Punta
#18 of 71 in Puerto Escondido
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivo Escondido Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivo Escondido Hostel

Address: Calle Barriletes Esq Mantarraya Rinconada 2, Puerto Escondido 71983, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $16 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a spacious villa with high ceilings and large open areas, when you arrive at Vivo Escondido you step into the ultimate holiday home you never knew you had. We welcome you with open arms and friendly smiles to join our little family and explore the beauty and magic of Puerto Escondido. Laze in the hammocks or practice yoga on the roof terrace, as the breeze from the ocean washes over you. Play a round of table tennis, have a beer by the pool, watch the sunset from the rooftop, cook your favourite meals in our fully equipped kitchen or just explore all the different art and murals covering our walls. We are close to the best swimming beaches of Puerto Escondido and a 5 minute walk from the beginner/intermediate break at Playa Carrizalillo. As well as homemade breakfast, you can enjoy great restaurants nearby ranging from Middle Eastern cuisine to seafood straight from the ocean, to pizza and even sushi. Come with an open mind and you will leave with a full heart, new friends, and a promise to return to your home away from home. Breakfast included. Reception opened from 7am to 11pm. Please let us know if you will arrive before 7am or after 11pm so that we can welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing