We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zicatela Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zicatela Suites
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The attention to detail in these beautifully designed suites is amazing! We were lucky to stay for two weeks and would loved to have stayed longer but this little piece of paradise on Playa Zicatela has been discovered. Vicki is a wonderful hostess who enthusiastically shares her wealth of knowledge of the area with her guests. We are now considering returning to a Puerto Escondido in the "off season" just so we can enjoy this awesome property & hospitality again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharenThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
37
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We just returned from P.Escondido where we stayed for a week. It was our first time in Puerto and the location was perfect for exploration. The house/apartment is new and well appointed. The hammock and table on the wonderfully shaded balcony were terrific for relaxation, reading and hanging out. Vicki is a terrific hostess. She arranged for pick up at the airport (the charge was standard and worked out to about $ 80.) She also booked our trip to the Hot Springs which we selected and which we enjoyed very much. The pictures do the place justice. The bed was comfortable. Great view.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cintija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Absolutely love this place. We have been coming to Puerto for years and have stayed in all areas from Baccocho to Zicatela. Vicki has clearly designed these units as if she would be living in them herself . We stayed on the ground floor because we use the pool frequently and the barbecue but each unit has it's own charm. Love the fact that you are right across from the beach,close to the many restaurants etc. on Zicatela, but do not hear the noise from the late night action, and adore the 3 mascots of the property, Vicki's dogs. We felt extremely safe here and the beds are fantastic. (by the way, Ben, Mark did not make the ham and cheese,he just delivered it, but, regardless, we were happy to provide the cure for your hangover) if we had known, we would have made you the "Canadian" cure. A Bloody Caeser. Next time.
We will always stay at Zicatela Suites as long as Vicki will have us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDFMQF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's hard to fault what Vicki and her 3 small dogs have managed to achieve here.
The apartments are spotless with incredible warm showers, super comfy beds, fully stocked kitchen, aircon in the bedrooms and killer view.
You're close enough to the action to get there easily but far enough away to not be troubled by it.
Vicki is a wealth of knowledge and is a fantastic host at all times. She's also got a wonderful spence of humor!
I really can't recommend this place enough. I was so hungover one day and one of the other guests, possibly the biggest legend of all time, Canadian Mark, brought me out fresh papaya and a cheese and ham wrap...even the other guest are fantastic!
If you're looking for a place to get away from it all and relax, this is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BomBom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Zicatela Suites and can't say enough good things about our stay. The apartment and property are great - clean, comfortable, and with everything you need. For us it was situated perfectly in Zicatela, just a short walk from everything (5 min) but far enough away that it was quiet at night. Vicki was a wonderful host (even taking us to the pharmacy when I wasn't feeling well) and had great recommendations for places to eat and things to do. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Zicatela suites is the most amazing vacation rental I have ever rented. The bungalows are incredibly well constructed, and has more than enough amenities to make your stay comfortable. The staff and the owner were SO nice and friendly and sincerely cared about making our stay special. Vicki is awesome! Cannot wait to come back and stay here in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallenn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at Zicatela Suites with my surfer friends, and chose this location because it was right in front of the beach. So, it was very convenient for us to just cross the street and go surf! And when returning back, there was a douche outside, providing convenient means to wash the surf boards (not that they were made for that).
Vicki was super nice and showed me around once I arrived. She also recommended lots of cool places. I am glad I had the chance to check out turtles on one of the beaches with her.
The swimming pool was clean and deep. The scene around the pool was beautiful too.
The place has a cozy feeling to it. In addition, in August, there weren't many tourists in Peurto Escondido (or around the suites), so I enjoyed the tranquility a lot.
If I were to visit Puerto escondido again for surfing, I would definitely stay here again.

Best Regards,
Lama

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lama L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.5 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#4 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#7 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#6 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bungalows Santa Cruz
Bungalows Santa Cruz
#24 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zicatela Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zicatela Suites

Property: Zicatela Suites
Address: Calle del Morro s/n, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zicatela Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three oceanfront one bedroom luxury apartments located on Zicatela beach. All units have large private balconies,fully equipped modern kitchens, free internet WIFI service, onsite parking, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, maid service, 4th floor common area with spectacular views of the mountains and ocean, handmade furniture from different states of Mexico, closets in each room plus storage closet. Beautifully landscaped with swimming pool within easy walking distance to the Zicatela restaurant strip but out of the noise. Come relax in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zicatela Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing