We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible! do not stay here!!!”
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Buena Vista
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible! do not stay here!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I have never met a women so rude as the lady who runs this hotel. She was extremely unfriendly when we arrived, basically throwing our keys at us and pointing us in the direction of our rooms.

After spending three relative quiet nights at the hotel, we needed to leave our bags there until 7pm so we could go on a trip before getting the bus. The lady who runs the place refused to let us leave our bags any later than 5pm. A bit unreasonable I thought but not a problem as I had a friend staying in a different room who was stay an extra night. We could just leave our bags in the friend’s room for a couple of hours til we got back. Well it turns out you can not even leave one bag in a friends room for 2 hours. Said friend got thrown out of the hotel too. The owner went completely crazy at us because there were two extra bags in a friends room for 2 hours….i still have no idea why, but to be honest it was quite a frightening experience, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank threeminutehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
18
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This place is awesome - super cheap and absolutely no frills but great location and views! This would definitely be the best budget place on Zicatela.

Just a flight of steps away from a shop for groceries, plenty of restaurants (Los Tios is the best!), bars and taxis come by all the time to take you to other areas of the town.

Definitely get a room with air conditioning - while loud, it's so hot there that you'd struggle to sleep without it + it's so nice after hiking up those stairs.

We almost didn't stay here because we couldn't book online and we don't speak Spanish but after some searching I found a website for them and they got back to me really quickly.

http://www.hotel-buenavista.com.mx

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appleetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Good rooms opposite the Zicatela beach. The rooms were very clean and well equipped with a basic kithenette, and the hot water showers in the en suite bathrooms had good water pressure. All the rooms are facing the beach and have balconies with outside seating which was nice. There was free wifi but only available closer to the main office- not in the rooms.

Overall, good value and a great budget place to stay and chill out.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ningu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Buena Vista was a great place for me and my fiance to stay on our honeymoon (luna de Miel). It had a beautiful view as the name suggests, and the staff and owners were very pleasant. I loved seeing the iguana's in the trees off our deck everyday. They were fun to watch. We had a room that was $40/ night, with a/c and a kitchenette. This helped us to save money and experience cooking with the local foods. We stayed pretty close to the beach most of the time, since it was hard to want to go traveling knowing that a heavenly place was right out your door. It wasn't a far walk to go to a great restaurant. Every day we ate at Mango's at least once, either for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The staff was very nice and the food was always delicious and reasonably priced. TWO 4 1 Happy Hour was our daily treat. The local musicians would play outside, and a torch juggler would perform almost every night. It was pretty entertaining.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickysquared
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Great place to stay. Just a walk across the street to Zicatela. Friendly staff and great view. The only thing that sucks is walking up the stairs when you have to go to the bathroom real bad.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank nickysquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#20 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
235 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#6 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Property: Hotel Buena Vista
Address: Calle de Morro | Zicatela Beach, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing