We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place in Puerto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Carrizalillo
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed at the villas for 1 week during our honeymoon in August '06 and it was the most memorable part of our entire trip. We stayed in the Puebla villa which had a view of the ocean and a lot of privacy. The rooms are clean, simple and perfect - not luxurious. If you're looking for luxury you should check into a mega resort in Puerto Vallarta. PE is all about simple, friendly beach living.

The grounds of the villas are beautiful as they are perched on a hiilltop overlooking Playa Carrizalillo. Every morning we would wake up and walk down the winding staircase to the beach. We would lay about the beach, or take surf lessons in the calm inviting waters. We often ate lunch at one of the many palapas lined along the beach. The beach is great for novice surfers because there are absolutely no attitudes on this beach. The pros are all at Zicatela.

When the day was done we would often meet up at the bar on the patio. This tiny "bar" was run by Ricardo every night from 6-10ish where he would make the absolute best Pina Coladas and Margaritas in PE. We loved this time because fellow guests in other villas would come out and chat. We met many cool people here and were often sad when people would leave. It felt like a really tight knit community because you would see the same people every night drinking at the bar. Then you would often break off and do your own thing or go out to dinner with new friends.

Basically, the villas are a very special place for us. We felt like we had a more personal vacation in Mexico as opposed to feeling like tourists who order room service, ride a banana boat, then leave.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hardychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Villas Carrizalillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 182 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Villas Carrizalillo for a week during our honeymoon & loved it! The location is perfect- far enough away from Zicatela to be quiet at night, but a quick cab ride to great restaurants and nightlife. It is right on playa Carrizalillo- a beautiful, clean beach and a great place for snorkeling! The water there is quite calm, so its a great place to swim too!

The villas themselves have beautiful views- the balcony was perfect for watching the sunset while having a cocktail. Ours was nicely decorated, very comfortable, and immaculately clean.

The staff a the villas is very friendly and helpful. They are great resources for info on restaurants and activities and give the place a great laid-back family feel. Their restaurant (which recently opened) has excellent food- especially the mole! They are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner which is very convenient! Anybody who doesn't stay at the villas should at least go there for a drink at sunset. The new restaurant and bar have an awesome view!

Activities I'd recommend:
-snorkeling at playa carrizalillo- the villas have equipment for rent & there are some beautiful fish in the coral & shallow water along the cliffs

-boat tours off playa carrizalillo- we saw LOTS of dolphins & swam with a sea turtle. It was amazing. Ricardo & Shawn both run boats from the beach . In the afternoon, they walk around playa carrizalillo looking for people interested in tours- so its very easy to reserve a spot!

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank MaryP-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

I've stayed elsewhere in Puerto and enjoyed my time there, Hotel San Juan. I love family run businesses with a "real" atmosphere. The "Villas" provide this plus an excellent location and terrific accomodations.

Amy and Ed are remarkable hosts, even with a newborn they are there when one of their great staff are not able to help. As someone mentioned in another review, Ricardo does make amazing margaritas. In fact, I only make them his way now and have passed along the method to anyone willing to learn.

The Villas are located at the end of a dirt road, which makes for a longer walk to where you want to go but not like it is that much of a hassle. We did the walk a few times but when we want to be somewhere quick we took a cab and they were cheap. We were constantly reminded how how good we have it by going by the hostel at the beginning of the road. Their dirty grounds, empty pool, and constant Bob Marley music (not that I dislike Bob but it seems really cliche) and dirty guests made us happy that we booked at the Villas.

The area that the Villas is in seems to be growing ever so slowly with lots of lots for sale and already finished properties for sale. I can see the potential in the area and with the Rinconada right there as a main drag for restaurants and bars along with other accomodations it is ripe for being a hot spot, just not yet. Highlight of the Rinconada is the Cafecito. Great coffee and they have their own bakery.

The villas themselves all have a kitchen and if you visit their webpage you can get a layout of all the rooms in each one. We stayed in Oaxaca and it had two very large rooms. We didn't really use the second room other than to keep a few things in we were not using but we used the bedroom for siestas and the patio for private drinks and conversations all the time. This year we're saying at Florencia for its excellent view of the beach and I can just imagine how great the breeze will feel.

When we were feeling social, which was often, we'd visit Ricardo. Ricardo, along with all the other staff, are great. I'm not sure where it comes from but the Villas focus on their customers to the point where it is not just customer service but friendly service. Some of my favourite nights last year were out at the bar with Ricardo just talking away.

The beach is great for swimming and laying out at. If you are brave you can go near the rocks with snorkling equipment available for rent at the Villas and see lots of colour aquatic life. I was comfortable with it but Trisha was a bit scared by being so close to the rocks with the waves.

There are other places to stay in Puerto and there are also many types of travellers. We're both in our late 20s, work hard for a living, but never let ourselves not enjoy life, whether in Canada or Mexico. We're not party animals but know how to have a good time. The other travellers at the Villas when we were there were of all walks of life and from different backgrounds but all had that "spark" in them and i think if you enjoy a decent level of accomodation and an extraordinary level of comfort and relaxation then the Villas are for you.

This fall will be my 5th visit to Mexico and although PE is a great draw in itself, having the Villas there was one of the main reasons to choose Mexico for my vacation this year, again.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank danj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
France
15
Reviewed June 18, 2006

We stayed at the Villa's end of May and loved the place.
If you don't mind being a bit out of town, then this is where you should be.
The villa's are very spacious and clean, and the view over the cliffs is amazing. We wanted to take some surfing lessons, and it's perfectly located on the beginners beach. Also, the beach is great for swimming as the wave are not too big and it's not too crowded.
It's really easy and cheap to get a taxi into town.
Also, we wanted to leave a day earlier as it rained quite a bit, and the receptionist was very flexible to change our booking.
Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

If you have not heard of this place, and your thinking about going to mexico, you havn't researched enough. The staff are amazingly friendly and Ricardo who attends the bar every night at 5pm makes Mexicos best Margaritas hands down. The accomodation is clean, authenticaly decorated and perched upon the hillside overlooking a nearly private beach for the guests. After lazing on the beach, swimming in turquoise waters and sipping lemonada under the palapas (thatched roof huts on the beach that serve food and drinks) the walk back up to the villas is a bit of a killer, however when heaven awaits you at the top, who cares right!
This place is about a 3 minute taxi ride into town (Zigotela beach) which will cost you about 35 pesos, currently about $3.50 US. It is great to visit the downtown area for some night life, restaurants and shopping but even better to arrive back at Villas Carrizillio, what feels like your personal hideaway. I will definately be heading back there with my young son next time.

4  Thank Rachellw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2006

My husband and I have vacationed annually or bi-annually for over twenty years throughout Mexico. Vacations were beginning to feel like "been there, done that." We were ready for a new Mexican experience. Based on positive comments heard about Puerto and Villas Carrizalillo, we spent a week there in February. Our expectations were exceeded and our stay at the Villas was the frosting on the cake.

PUERTO: Felt like we were really in Mexico. Puerto was pleasant, laid back, easy to get around on foot and cabs were inexpensive and plentiful. No need to rent a car.

RESTAURANTS: Overall very good food, gracious service and reasonably priced. If you are into seafood, this is the place.

ACTIVITIES: Outstanding beach vacation spot; in fact, going to the beach was our daily daytime activity.

WEATHER: Clear blue cloudless skies with daytime temps in the mid-80's. Water temp at the beach was just right for cooling off. Evening temps were perfect for sitting outdoors and sipping cool beverages.

VILLAS CARRIZALILLO: Great setting; quiet, lovely sunsets, convenient to everything, clean and FRIENDLY atmosphere.

SUMMARY: One of the most relaxing vacations we have had in years.

Puerto may not meet the expectations of:
1. Type A personalities who cannot relax on vacation; this place is mellow.
2. People needing luxury 5 star resort amenities.

And, yes, we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Berkeley, California
16
Reviewed March 24, 2006

A beautiful cliff-side location of peace and traquility, just minutes away from as much hustle and bustle as you may care to indulge yourself in shopping or restaurants. Amy Hardey has done a wonderful job of creating a perfect laid-back setting amongst tropical landscaping. Each villa is unique, kept spotlessly clean by a dedicated staff. The kitchens are complete and the villas are air-conditioned, have ceiling fans and hammocks. My wife and I spent three weeks there and we enjoyed every moment. Amy and her partner, with their beautiful new baby, create a very home-like feeling not to mention their two great dogs, Zelda and Dudley. And for those of you who are blue-water sailors, we saw four green flashes at sunsets while we were there! Beautiful beaches are just steps away. While we rented a car in Acapulco and drove ourselves to Puerto Escondido, local taxicabs are the way to travel, $2-$3 will get you just about anywhere in town. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
241 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Carrizalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Carrizalillo

Address: Ave. Carrizalillo No. 125, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $240 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Carrizalillo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Carrizalillo is a small boutique resort hotel in Puerto Escondido consisting of 12 uniquely designed units. The property is situated under a small palm grove atop a cliff side, overlooking one of the most scenic bays in the area. All Villas come equipped with air conditioning, kitchenettes, wireless internet, personal safes, and private outdoor areas. Other property amenities include a swimming pool, library/lounge and now Restaurant/bar Espadín. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Carrizalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Resort Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing