We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Carrizalillo
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed6nights in this delightful small hotel perched over a perfect beach,with the best sunset views I ever saw.our room had all mod cons ,including endless bottled water(something all good hotel rooms should have)the restaurant is operated by an outside operator ,and was outstanding.we only ate one meal out,and decided there was no reason to leave to leave paradise! Service was excellent , even the music was great.

Room Tip: Make sure you are over the beach,and try the oysters on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Puerto Escondido is a sleepy little town on the southern Pacific coast of Mexico. It has not yet been discovered and developed like Acapulco, Puerto Vallarta and so on. Villas Carrizalillo is a small-midsized boutique hotel built high on a cliff overlooking a beautiful beach and bay. The website photos do it justice. The restaurant is very good, the rooms are air conditioned and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. You can get just about anywhere in town by taxi for about US$2. Vendor palapas on the beach sell beer, food, and snacks. Surf, SUP, and snorkel equipment and lessons are available on site and three SCUBA nearby operators offer diving. PE has an airport and the flight from Mexico City takes about 90 minutes. if you want a quiet Mexican beach that is not overrun with tourists, cruise ships, etc. this place is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a great boutique hotel, overlooking a spectacular beach. If you aren't a hardcore surfer, this is the beach you're looking for in Puerto Escondido. The beach is a short walk down private steps.

The rooms were true to their pictures on the website. Take some time to look through all of the rooms. We stayed in Terrazza -- which has a great patio complete with hammocks.

The on-site restaurant was great. The hotel staff was attentive and usually helpful. There is also a small on-site pool which was nicely maintained. We were only there for three nights, and basically didn't leave the hotel.

This place was also a really good value. If they were located in a place with a slightly higher flow of American tourists, they could charge at least double.

We did have a problem with our bill at check-out. Our pre-paid deposit was being logged as a charge instead of a credit. Basically, we were being double-charged. It took a long time to get it figured out with the clerk. I exchanged a couple emails about the incident with one of the owners. She was very apologetic, and demonstrated some real customer service skill. It's clear that this is a well-managed place.

If you're going to Puerto, stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms were true to their pictures on the website. Take some time to look through all of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed 9 days in this hôtel. The location is great, over looking the best beach of Puerto Escondido. Also the service is very friendly and attentive. Rooms are spacious and clean. We Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephane75009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had an amazing time in Puerto Escondido and at Villas Carrizalillo. I will confirm what other reviewers have said--some at long length--that this is beautiful property that is staffed with friendly people, professionally run, provides clean, well appointed suites, and boasts a great location (steps from town and private stairs to the small swimming beach). With all of that, it also somehow pulls off a rustic but lavish vibe. We stayed in the Villa Colorada. Truly, the pictures of the views and establishment pale in comparison to the reality. I absolutely would feel lucky to make a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-DC-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don't be alarmed as your vehicle enters the back entrance to the Villas, down the heavily rutted road, recently washed out by Ernesto.  Concerns of all sort will pass through your mind but in minutes, you will arrive at the beautiful, secluded, cliff-top villas, and have no doubts about the wisdom of staying here.

Immediately on entering the gates to the villas, one realizes that these are the two worlds of Mexico as they appear all over the country.  The rutted, gutted road that passes very small, very rustic habitations, and leads to walled gardens and beautifully manicured, classic comfort.  The pobre and the fino ... the rustico and the rico.   

The gardens and villas are maintained in top condition.  For anyone who cares even a little about tropical flora, there is much to delight the eyes and test the curiosity.  (How did that Madagascar palm get so tall and then branch at the top?  Why does the ficus benjamina variegata go un-variegated on particular branches, just as at home?) 

The views of the cove, the beach, the cliffs, and the Pacific are beautiful, though perhaps not unsurpassed.  One can spend hours watching the surfers navigate serious waves; local kids splashing and learning to surf; young lovers splashing in the waves; and countless vendors of tours, sodas, and what-not on the most beautiful small beach in the area.  

We stayed in Londres and others stayed in Suiza.   The accommodations were simple but very comfortable.  The kitchen was well-stocked for a wide range of cooking or food preparation.  The rooms were quite large given how little reason there was to be in them, given the broad open patio with hammocks and a gorgeous view within earshot of the crashing waves of the beach.  Room service was diligent and thorough.  

The stairway to the beach may be more like 130 steps down than 30 steps down as one review had it, and one could be winded on the way up, but the walk is very convenient, and stunning on the descent, even if winding and windy on the ascent.  The sheer convenience of the stairway to the beach is a major benefit of the Villas.  

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary here in July 2012 and had the most wonderful experience. It is hard to exaggerate the superlatives that come with this place: clean and aesthetically pleasing rooms and immaculate grounds; outrageously gorgeous balcony views; a wonderful beach for swimming, snorkeling, surfing, sunning and drinking; a great on site restaurant called the Espadin with stunning views and a welcoming and attentive staff. We were so impressed by the night manager Mayra and the day manager Gabriella. They were gracious, engaging and accommodating – made us feel so welcome. This is a gem of a refuge. Highly recommend it to anyone with a romantic reason to celebrate and splurge!
A couple things we would change if we could would be the road to the place which is hopelessly rutted and trashy, but once you are inside the confines of Villas Carrizalillo, all such cares and concerns vanish.

On another note – we never had hot water for showers, something you would expect given the price we were paying, but it was a small concern given everything else the room had – including satellite TV, air conditioning, wifi and a fully functional kitchen which we did use.
Be sure to try the Mescal that the owners of the Villas serve at the Espadin from their very own hand crafted high-end Mescal distillery. We liked the “joven” and bought a bottle back to the states with us.

Room Tip: We loved our "Puebla" Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverartisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
8.2 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Carrizalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Carrizalillo

Address: Ave. Carrizalillo No. 125, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $206 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Carrizalillo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Carrizalillo is a small boutique resort hotel in Puerto Escondido consisting of 12 uniquely designed units. The property is situated under a small palm grove atop a cliff side, overlooking one of the most scenic bays in the area. All Villas come equipped with air conditioning, kitchenettes, wireless internet, personal safes, and private outdoor areas. Other property amenities include a swimming pool, library/lounge and now Restaurant/bar Espadín. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Carrizalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Resort Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing