We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would consider myself lucky to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Carrizalillo
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had an amazing time in Puerto Escondido and at Villas Carrizalillo. I will confirm what other reviewers have said--some at long length--that this is beautiful property that is staffed with friendly people, professionally run, provides clean, well appointed suites, and boasts a great location (steps from town and private stairs to the small swimming beach). With all of that, it also somehow pulls off a rustic but lavish vibe. We stayed in the Villa Colorada. Truly, the pictures of the views and establishment pale in comparison to the reality. I absolutely would feel lucky to make a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-DC-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don't be alarmed as your vehicle enters the back entrance to the Villas, down the heavily rutted road, recently washed out by Ernesto.  Concerns of all sort will pass through your mind but in minutes, you will arrive at the beautiful, secluded, cliff-top villas, and have no doubts about the wisdom of staying here.

Immediately on entering the gates to the villas, one realizes that these are the two worlds of Mexico as they appear all over the country.  The rutted, gutted road that passes very small, very rustic habitations, and leads to walled gardens and beautifully manicured, classic comfort.  The pobre and the fino ... the rustico and the rico.   

The gardens and villas are maintained in top condition.  For anyone who cares even a little about tropical flora, there is much to delight the eyes and test the curiosity.  (How did that Madagascar palm get so tall and then branch at the top?  Why does the ficus benjamina variegata go un-variegated on particular branches, just as at home?) 

The views of the cove, the beach, the cliffs, and the Pacific are beautiful, though perhaps not unsurpassed.  One can spend hours watching the surfers navigate serious waves; local kids splashing and learning to surf; young lovers splashing in the waves; and countless vendors of tours, sodas, and what-not on the most beautiful small beach in the area.  

We stayed in Londres and others stayed in Suiza.   The accommodations were simple but very comfortable.  The kitchen was well-stocked for a wide range of cooking or food preparation.  The rooms were quite large given how little reason there was to be in them, given the broad open patio with hammocks and a gorgeous view within earshot of the crashing waves of the beach.  Room service was diligent and thorough.  

The stairway to the beach may be more like 130 steps down than 30 steps down as one review had it, and one could be winded on the way up, but the walk is very convenient, and stunning on the descent, even if winding and windy on the ascent.  The sheer convenience of the stairway to the beach is a major benefit of the Villas.  

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary here in July 2012 and had the most wonderful experience. It is hard to exaggerate the superlatives that come with this place: clean and aesthetically pleasing rooms and immaculate grounds; outrageously gorgeous balcony views; a wonderful beach for swimming, snorkeling, surfing, sunning and drinking; a great on site restaurant called the Espadin with stunning views and a welcoming and attentive staff. We were so impressed by the night manager Mayra and the day manager Gabriella. They were gracious, engaging and accommodating – made us feel so welcome. This is a gem of a refuge. Highly recommend it to anyone with a romantic reason to celebrate and splurge!
A couple things we would change if we could would be the road to the place which is hopelessly rutted and trashy, but once you are inside the confines of Villas Carrizalillo, all such cares and concerns vanish.

On another note – we never had hot water for showers, something you would expect given the price we were paying, but it was a small concern given everything else the room had – including satellite TV, air conditioning, wifi and a fully functional kitchen which we did use.
Be sure to try the Mescal that the owners of the Villas serve at the Espadin from their very own hand crafted high-end Mescal distillery. We liked the “joven” and bought a bottle back to the states with us.

Room Tip: We loved our "Puebla" Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverartisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful couple of weeks in one of their villas perched on top of the cliffs overlooking the secluded bay and beach just outside of the town. The location is amazing, it is a quick walk down steps to the beach, there is a good restaurant on site and the accommodations are very comfortable. Be aware that all of the villas are different so make sure you pick one that suits your needs, we stayed in Florencia which was perfect for our family of four with a view over the ocean, two bedrooms, a small kitchenette and outside dining area. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalVagrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right decision to stay here.
The one bedroom villas we stayed in (we stayed in two) had uninterrupted views of the bay and evening sunsets.
The rooms were amazing - there website shows detailed pictures of the rooms so you know what you are getting before you book. A great idea!!
Reception and bar staff were fantastic and friendly.
The bar has undoubtedly the best cocktails in Puerto and the food is great. Even if you don't stay here you should eat here at least once to enjoy that view.
Even though you are slightly out of town, reception are more than happy to arrange a taxi for you and taxis are cheap! (20 - 40 peso)
I can not speak highly enough of this place and thoroughly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Look on their website they show detailed images of every room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Can't image there's a better place in Escondido.

Food was great, pool was relaxing, and the views just can't be beat. To get into town it's just a quick cab ride, it's also walkable, but there's little shade along the road.

Rooms were unique, although I had a few scorpions to battle, but they were here first so what can ya do? Staff was completely understanding and took care of the situation very well.

Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Villas Carrizalillo is a beautiful place to stay if you are traveling with your significant other or your family. A very quiet place, the staff is very, very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are very clean and A/C is a blessing, most of them have kitchens and living rooms, and look for rooms with balcony to get an awesome view (Mitla, Colorada rooms, for example. To access the beach you must go down a set of about 30 stairs. It can be a challenge, but once you realize that Carrizalillo is the best beach in Puerto Esconido to relax, you'll know that is worth it. Surf lessons can be taken, but the waves are very small. Zicatela surf beach and other popular spots are 10 minutes away from Villas Carrizalillo.

Room Tip: Rent surfboards and snorkels at cheaper rates than on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajpicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
8.2 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Carrizalillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Carrizalillo

Address: Ave. Carrizalillo No. 125, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $207 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Carrizalillo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Carrizalillo is a small boutique resort hotel in Puerto Escondido consisting of 12 uniquely designed units. The property is situated under a small palm grove atop a cliff side, overlooking one of the most scenic bays in the area. All Villas come equipped with air conditioning, kitchenettes, wireless internet, personal safes, and private outdoor areas. Other property amenities include a swimming pool, library/lounge and now Restaurant/bar Espadín. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villas Carrizalillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Hotel Puerto Escondido
Carrizalillo Resort Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing