We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Osa Mariposa Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Osa Mariposa Hotelito
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Osa Mariposa Rocks!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Osa Mariposa Hotelito is one of the most unique places I have ever stayed. Not only is the food amazing but the people and place its self is too!! It's beautiful and quiet but still has a bit of a party feel to it. They are always playing great music on the stereo, always ready to have a good conversation or play some awesome card games with you. You can walk to the beach in about 3 minutes, its that close to the ocean. You can hear the waves from your room. The place is just down right beautiful.
The wonderful people that run Osa make you feel like your a part of there family and when you leave they will be! You will never forget them or the wonderful place they have made their.
With love, Marie Litton

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
20
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nh, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went to osa mariposa because of the vegan restaurant. It was difficult finding food in mexico that i could eat. I loved the hotel and the staff (especially Dave) their care and kindness make you feel at home right away. After a few days I had the perfect hammock rotation down so I could get optimal sun in the courtyard. I loved teh food and the friends I made there. It was an amazing place, steps to the ocean and a short walk to the surf beach. Definitely worth checking out!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ambgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Walking distance to the best waves in Latin America, cheap, clean, and great service.
Parties are great, but you can also relax at the hamacs while you drink a beer.
Great place to meet Interesting people from all around the world.
VERY safe, and I'm sure I'll be back as soon as possible

Room Tip: Talk to Aquiles, He is a very cool guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeL A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have never stayed in Osa Mariposa, but we eat there regularly when we are in Puerto Escondido. The Vegan/Vegetarian food is excellent and very economical.
The menu is small but all the food is tasty, we particularly like the Black Bean Burger.
Every day they have a different couple of specials, I usually have them, and I'm never disappointed.
The people who work there, a mixture of young Americans and Mexicans, are always friendly and helpful.
I have never stayed there, but the rooms look basic but clean, the grounds are well kept, the shared showers and toilets are spotless.
Its a less then 5 minute walk to the surf of Playa Zicatela, a little over 10 minutes to the restaurants and shops of La Punta.
Its a great place to have dinner, and one of the best places in Puerto for Vegan/Vegetarians.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We found this hostel by accident, although i think it was a destiny!! It was the best hostel i've stayed in Mexico in my one month long trip. We wanted to stay for a night and end up staying 5 nights! Beautiful place, very clean with an amazing atmosphere and people working there! The food they're making was great too! We went out together and spend a great time! The hostel is located in a very quite area, just perfect distance from Puerto Escondido, you can catch this funny small trucks to get there for a little money. It`s also very close (two minutes maybe) to the beach, very wide and empty in november!!! It has been a great time :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.3 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#6 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#17 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#20 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osa Mariposa Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osa Mariposa Hotelito

Property: Osa Mariposa Hotelito
Address: Privada de Cancun S/N | Colonia Brisas de Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71988, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osa Mariposa is a small boutique hotel on Oaxaca's Emerald Coast. We are located in the Brisas de Zicatela neighborhood of Puerto Escondido right between the two best surf breaks in a quiet community made up of sandy streets and smiling faces. We rent rustic beach bungalows surrounded by a lush and colorful tropical garden. Plenty of hammocks, books, breeze and great food. Check our schedule for live music, karaoke, cinema and other events. We can direct you to yoga or surf classes, tours, travel information and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Osa Mariposa Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing