We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great laid back spot for brunch”
Review of Dan's Cafe Deluxe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dan's Cafe Deluxe
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great laid back spot for brunch”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Believe the hype! When visiting Dan's you soon see why this place is so highly rated. A perfect mix of great food, juices, coffee + laid back friendly vibe. Definitely worth the walk from Marinero end of town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonItchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lots of good choices on the menu. Fresh food smell is heavenly. Service was extremely slow and it was not very busy. A little hard to find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Super vegetarian friendly and just awesome”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

There is absolutely no point going anywhere else for breakfast other than Dan's. The place offers huge portions, great food, a great vibe and is a legendary hang out among the worlds surfing elite. I still think fondly back to eating a "surfer slam" breakfast which consists of 2 eggs, 3 big pancakes/french toast, beans, potatoes, salsa and a bowl of fruit. I think this all came in at $49 Pesos, which is roughly $4 USD for a criminally large amount of tasty food. I'm a big guy but that meal is so generous that more often than not, I ended up splitting the meal with my girlfriend.

Lunches were also great, with a good variety of burgers, salads, Mexican fare and stir fries on offer. Portions for lunch are also large so plan on leaving full. Over the course of our month long stay at Dan's hotel, we worked our way through the whole menu, all of which is varying degrees of good or great. Breakfast is definitely the star of the show though, so if you only go once, go for breakfast. Save some time for a game of ping pong, as it's kind of a right of passage when dining at Dan's.

It does close daily at 4pm (2 pm on Sunday) so don't stop by after then as you'll be disappointed. Friday and Saturday are fish taco days, which people start talking about on Tuesday, eagerly awaiting the weekend. Tons of vegetarian options too, as I didn't feel deprived one bit, choosing from the extensive veggie friendly menu. Go to Dan's, get a seat under a fan, order some food and enjoy an oasis in Puerto!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in PE”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Hard to find but worth it. Go down to the end of the beach retail strip, head up the hill, and it's the second dirt road on the right. Big menu, big portions. Fruit drinks galore. Service was great.

Helpful?
Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dan Rocks, his accommodation rocks, the whole place is top notch! I would rather call it a total experience, not to be missed! I had the greatest time of my life! And then the cafe, which was your new project back then, still dreaming about the food... DeLiCiOuS!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fickydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan's Cafe Deluxe also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to Dan's Cafe Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing