We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fishing trip with Omar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omar's Sportfishing

Omar's Sportfishing
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fishing charter and sea safari tours. Departure at 7:00 am. Return at 10:00 am we offer trips to see dolphins,turtles,sea rays,humpback whales, and all the coast of puerto escondido! Cost: $500.00 Pesos per person also we can take you fishing for sailfish,marlin,tuna,or mahi-mahi! Cost:$700.00 Pesos per hour for the rental of the boat with all fishing gear include. We practice catch and released. Lots of nature out there!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fishing trip with Omar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went fishing with Omar a few days ago and it was a great experience. Many thanks for this fishing trip - i had a sailfish and we saw a lot of dolphins and turtles...next time in Puerto i will chose Omar's sportfishing again because of his skills and his extensive experience! Thanks Omar for making this possible!
See you next time in Puerto and best regards - Philipp

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philipp_8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    22
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saw dolphins, swam with a turtle - superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went on a dolphin watching tour with Israel, after being picked up at our hotel at 7:15. He showed us all the beaches and other highlights on the coast of Puerto Escondido from his boat. After that we saw multiple mating turtles and had the change of swimming with one in the crystal clear (and warm) water of the ocean. We hadn't seen a sign of dolphins in the first 3 hours but Israel told us that the key to finding them is patience. He was right.. We ended up seeing 20+ dolphins including a baby dolphin, they were swimming next to and under the boat and would surface to breath so we could take some really nice photos. Excellent tour, don't miss it when you are visiting Puerto!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Youri336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic morning out, lots of sea life to look at :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a great morning with Omar didn't really have many expectations for what we would see but Omar was skilled in knowing where to find life in the open ocean saw lots of dolphins and sea turtles and he was an excellent tour guide highly recommend to anyone that's in puerto thanks Omar! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“To live the life of local people for some hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was with two of my French friends on a three-week roadtrip in Mexico and we stayed in Puerto Escondido for 2 days.

Omar and Israel proposed us to go for a sea tour (to fish, to see dolphins and turtles) for 2000 pesos for just the three of us.

Omar came to pick us at her hotel Mayflower at 6h50 and then we spent the all morning with Israel on a boat fishing, seeing many dolphins and turtles.

We managed to have a fish and Israel proposed us to let a restaurant cook our fish the way we wanted to.

Israel stayed with us for the lunch and we tasted the fish we managed to fish thanks to him. He offered us drinks, rice and vegetables to eat with our fish. We didn't have to pay for more than the price that had been defined at the beginning.

Isreal is such a good profesor, someone very open-minded, patient, passionate with his job and he really manages to share his passion.

A very exciting experience I recommand to everyone !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CelinoTadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Sea safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Omar offers the most amazing ocean tour in Puerto Escondido. We made a trip through our hotel Villa Lili, from 7 to 10:30 AM on July 26th. During our trip, Omar explained the sea life and the Puerto Escondido coast geography. Also we saw many dolphins and sea turtles. We were able to swim with a sea turtle thanks to Omar's abilities and experience. My daughter got sea sick and he was SOO kind and help her to jump into to sea to feel better by swimming a little bit and, it worked !!! Thank you very much Omar! Martha Pacheco and Martha Andrea.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarthaPacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's Sportfishing also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to Omar's Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing