We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fishing and sight seeing with professionals!”

Omar's Sportfishing
Ranked #1 of 29 Tours in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fishing charter and sea safari tours. Departure at 7:00 am. Return at 10:00 am we offer trips to see dolphins,turtles,sea rays,humpback whales, and all the coast of puerto escondido! Cost: $500.00 Pesos per person also we can take you fishing for sailfish,marlin,tuna,or mahi-mahi! Cost:$700.00 Pesos per hour for the rental of the boat with all fishing gear include. We practice catch and released. Lots of nature out there!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fishing and sight seeing with professionals!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a fantastic time with Omar and Israel, seeing Turtles, Dolphins and flying Manta Ray's. In between we were lucky enough to catch a dorado and several skipjack's. Highly recommended if you are in Puerto Escondido.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    23
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Caught a huge Dorado and several Jack fish. Ask to go out with Juan & Kiko as your guides!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMARSPORTFISHING, Propietario at Omar's Sportfishing, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
hola dear coustomer!
thank you very much for your comment!
it make us fell very special to hear about how people enjoy our nature,
we are soo glad to hear that.
have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quathiaski Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish On!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

What to do when you have guests come to Puerto Escondido? Call Omar and organize a fishing trip! That' what I did. And what a trip it turned out to be. Have you ever had four Mahi Mahi on at once. Not a fluke, Omar's skill is what made that happen. Can you imagine, four people playing, no fighting Mahi Mahi between 12 to 30 pounds all at the same time. What a blast! Not an easy task for Omar and is decky Israel who had to tend the lines, fish and the two extra guests we brought along who just wanted to get some photos of the events as they progressed. Oh and did I mention a couple Sailfish, a swim with the turtles, and dolphin.
All this was done professionally, and a safety first attitude.
Omar is a very creative guide with a lot of experience behind him. I recommend you look Omar up on your next visit to Puerto Escondido and book a fishing adventure.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMARSPORTFISHING, Propietario at Omar's Sportfishing, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
hola dear coustomer!
we really apreciate your bussines, we are very happy and glad to hear your comment, that is very special to us and to the new comers.
we will keep on working to make coustomers happy!
thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fishing”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I am getting excited about coming to Puerto Escondido to fish with Omars Sportfishing who I consider the best Fishing Captain that I have ever had the pleasure to fish with.I really mean what I say. He has good equipment and his deck hand pocho is one of the best.
I’ve had the good fortune to be able to fish most of the world. Places like Africa,Brazil, Russia, Alaska, Costa Rica, Mexico, The Caribbean, and the USA. and I can honestly say that without a doubt Omars sportfishing have impressed me the most. Not only does Omar enjoy fishing but his passion of the sport makes the the difference.When were on the blue were not just trolling and hoping to for a hookup.Capitan Omar is on the hunt and That is what I like the most.It’s always a thrill to catch the big one but really the whole experience is what counts the most and that is just one reason that omars Sportfishing makes your experience the best it can be.
Dan Coassolo
.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMARSPORTFISHING, Propietario at Omar's Sportfishing, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
hola dear coustomer!
we are very very happy to know that our services are pleasing your needs, we will keep on giving our best effort to do the best we can!
ot os very importand for us to hear your comment!
thank you very much! and looking forward to have you aboard again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Put this on the TOP of your TO DO list while in Puerto Escondido”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have enjoyed many tours with Omar over many years. Omar and his crew have always been highly professional. We always feel safe and have NEVER been disappointed. In fact we never cease to be amazed at what Omar and Isreal find for us to see: whales, several kinds of dolphins, turtles, flying bat rays, birds, so many interesting sights. We love Puerto, and we love Omar, and you will too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherlar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMARSPORTFISHING, Propietario at Omar's Sportfishing, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
hola good morning!
we would like to take these minutes to say thank you! it is very importand for us to hear your opinion, we are happy to know your great times with us!
we will continue working and seeing nature and showing more about this!
thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's Sportfishing also viewed

 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to Omar's Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing