We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Casa de Dan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Dan
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Dans for 11 nights in one of the cabanas and it was just amazing in every way. The place is a collection of cabanas and apartments and are spread out around the grounds so that every apartment feels very private. The location is great, only a few minutes from town and you get amazing views across Zicatela. The staff are wonderful - Dan, the owner, is friendly and always willing to chat and give great advice, and the rest are always helpful and lovely. Dan's Cafe has the best breakfasts in town for the best value and makes delicious fish tacos in the weekends. Book well in advance as this place is very popular - it was our favorite place in our entire four months of travelling and I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to Puerto Escondido!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms very clean and completely furnished, with kitchenette fridge and water heater. Close to calle Morro (Zicatela beach) and a short bus/car drive from Adoquin and Center Puerto Escondido. Great atmosphere and guest from all over the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuckerwulche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Dans is a great place to stay.
Very popular with surfers & Travelers so it sells out fast.
Make sure you get a room with a view, book early.
Food here is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiianStyle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at Casa de Dan, during a welcome vacation from teaching English in Mexico. Walking into Casa de Dan's a huge smile spread across my face, it was like walking into a little oasis. The whole place was beautiful with amazing plants and flowers lining the walkways and a relaxed, homely, friendly atmosphere. We stayed in Cabana number 2 and it was brilliant. The cabana was large, comfortable, and had the best hammock I had experienced while out in Mexico....which is an important thing. The cabana also had a kitchen area which was ideal! The pool was perfect for a dip to cool down in the heat of the day and there were the best views of the waves of Zicatela from the roof terrace, again very important! Dan's cafe was a fabulous way to start the day with an amazing breakfast and brilliant atmosphere. I could only stayed for two nights and I was gutted to leave, but Casa de Dan, and Dan himself, made such an impression I am hoping to return very soon but for longer this time and cannot wait. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon :)

Room Tip: Just book it and go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We've stayed at Dan's over several years and have been enriched by our Mexican home experience. Dan calls it a hotel but it really is home for whomever stays in one of his wonderful apartments or cabanas. Stunning views of the Pacific, of interior courtyards and their flowers and the loveliness of poolside living make each day a treat. From a host who cares about his hotel like his child to the friendly and efficient office and housekeeping staff, from your laid back neighbours to the always envious visitors, Casa de Dan makes your Mexican stay rich, delightful and effortless. Our favourite 'home' was Big View apartment # 8. Dining, cooking, entertaining, reading, 'hammocking' - all took place out of doors. Sleeping and showering were inside activities. Beautiful designs of living spaces equal enjoyable stays. The addition of a Cafe and its great food in the past few years has brought another daily tradition to which people look forward. Again, another excellent vision of Dan's come to life! Come and check it out! you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Book early. The rooms are all different from one another so check the price and si\e to approximate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I actually stayed here in 2007..twice because it was so good! And I still recommend the place to friends heading that way. The improvements they've made since then means a great place keeps getting better and better. The view, accomodations and location are all fantastic, the staff even more so and Dan and family make you feel incredibly welcome, like part of the community - which isn't always the case in surf towns.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place is popular all year round and often booked solid for months for the simple reason that it is the best value for money in Mexico.The rooms are like simple well maintained apartments with separate kitchen areas great for long term guests. Before visiting Dan's, I would travel with my own tool kit to fix the room, no need for that here.The breakfasts and lunch are great where you often get to talk to the owner(Dan).Great rooms,great pool,great breakfast,fantastic staff and excellent location (near Playa Zicatela).

Room Tip: Book your room before you book your flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
264 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suites La Hacienda
Suites La Hacienda
#3 of 63 in Puerto Escondido
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zicatela Suites
Zicatela Suites
#4 of 63 in Puerto Escondido
60 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Escondido
Hotel Escondido
#1 of 63 in Puerto Escondido
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Dan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Dan

Address: Calle Jacarandas No 14, Col. Santa Maria | Zicatela Beach, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Escondido
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing