We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Dan
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Surf Olas Altas(Puerto Escondido)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rockaway(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Fe(Puerto Escondido)
$97
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rincon del Pacifico(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bungalows Santa Cruz(Puerto Escondido)
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aldea del Bazar(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Suites Villasol(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arco Iris(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ribera del Mar(Puerto Escondido)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
53
7
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
7
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanging outtwo nightsplaya zicateladeluxelapdigsaccommodationpuertopoolkitchenmexicohost
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 63 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Dans is a great place to stay.
Very popular with surfers & Travelers so it sells out fast.
Make sure you get a room with a view, book early.
Food here is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiianStyle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at Casa de Dan, during a welcome vacation from teaching English in Mexico. Walking into Casa de Dan's a huge smile spread across my face, it was like walking into a little oasis. The whole place was beautiful with amazing plants and flowers lining the walkways and a relaxed, homely, friendly atmosphere. We stayed in Cabana number 2 and it was brilliant. The cabana was large, comfortable, and had the best hammock I had experienced while out in Mexico....which is an important thing. The cabana also had a kitchen area which was ideal! The pool was perfect for a dip to cool down in the heat of the day and there were the best views of the waves of Zicatela from the roof terrace, again very important! Dan's cafe was a fabulous way to start the day with an amazing breakfast and brilliant atmosphere. I could only stayed for two nights and I was gutted to leave, but Casa de Dan, and Dan himself, made such an impression I am hoping to return very soon but for longer this time and cannot wait. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon :)

Room Tip: Just book it and go!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzie181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We've stayed at Dan's over several years and have been enriched by our Mexican home experience. Dan calls it a hotel but it really is home for whomever stays in one of his wonderful apartments or cabanas. Stunning views of the Pacific, of interior courtyards and their flowers and the loveliness of poolside living make each day a treat. From a host who cares about his hotel like his child to the friendly and efficient office and housekeeping staff, from your laid back neighbours to the always envious visitors, Casa de Dan makes your Mexican stay rich, delightful and effortless. Our favourite 'home' was Big View apartment # 8. Dining, cooking, entertaining, reading, 'hammocking' - all took place out of doors. Sleeping and showering were inside activities. Beautiful designs of living spaces equal enjoyable stays. The addition of a Cafe and its great food in the past few years has brought another daily tradition to which people look forward. Again, another excellent vision of Dan's come to life! Come and check it out! you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Book early. The rooms are all different from one another so check the price and si\e to approximate your needs. All are charming.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I actually stayed here in 2007..twice because it was so good! And I still recommend the place to friends heading that way. The improvements they've made since then means a great place keeps getting better and better. The view, accomodations and location are all fantastic, the staff even more so and Dan and family make you feel incredibly welcome, like part of the community - which isn't always the case in surf towns.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place is popular all year round and often booked solid for months for the simple reason that it is the best value for money in Mexico.The rooms are like simple well maintained apartments with separate kitchen areas great for long term guests. Before visiting Dan's, I would travel with my own tool kit to fix the room, no need for that here.The breakfasts and lunch are great where you often get to talk to the owner(Dan).Great rooms,great pool,great breakfast,fantastic staff and excellent location (near Playa Zicatela).

Room Tip: Book your room before you book your flight.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews