We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding”
Review of Casa de Dan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Dan
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel has charming apartments and cabanas; a great lap pool and poolside area; beautiful mature gardens throughout; a reliable restaurant with excellent food, large portions and reasonable prices; and staff that are friendly, prompt, knowledgeable and helpful. The beds and bedding are top quality. Far enough from the nightlife for a good sleep and close to the beach.

Dan, his staff and fellow guests create an atmosphere welcoming to all. Most of the guests have been coming to Dan's for years. I have booked a room to return next winter. . .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We wanted to stay at Dan's from the start but they were full. Dan and his friends helped us find a place right up the street and we were instant friends. We spent most of our time at Casa de Dan, just hanging out and had breakfast at the cafe' every morning. Dan is such a loveable, generous, and helpful host! Thank you so much Dan. Even though we didn't get to stay in the place. My parents are on their way in Sept. and I hope they can get reservations. A definite MUST STAY place in Puerto...hard to get in, but so worth it. The breakfasts are the very best.
The pingpong tournament is AWESOME! WHOOOOHOOOO! We won!

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 8!!! HEAVEN
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelGailCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

If you are looking for an exotic experience away from home but still want the feeling of home and family, Casa Dan is the only place to stay in Puerto. You're not there more than one night before you know half the guests as they meet around Dan's kitchen table or by the pool or maybe in Dan's Cafe sampling the delicious fish tacos and their enormous bowls of fruita con yogurt y granola..Had a fabulous visit and will return again and again...Almost all the guests I met had been coming to Dan's for years..
Very close to the main surf beach and far enough away from the noisier night life.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something special to recommend them..Rms 7 and 8 have great views and are very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I've stayed in several of the apartments, and they were each unique and beautiful.
Very well appointed. Beautiful tile, incredible views, beautiful gardens, comfortable beds, wonderful kitchens, amazing colors throughout.
There's a very nice swimming pool on site as well.
Dan and his staff are a big part of the charm here.
Since my last visit, they have opened a restaurant that I'm excited to check out. Word is out that the food is quite delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 had the amazing views. There are others, but these were the two I've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyTSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Casa Dan puts it all together - this is the place to stay! The rooms are little apartments with kitchen facilities, nicely appointed with rugs and spreads made in Oaxaca. Everything is clean and well kept. The grounds and gardens are lovely, quiet, and complete with a swimming pool. Some of the rooms have spectacular views of the beach, and even if you don't get one of those rooms, there is the 'look-out' deck at the very top for anyone to enjoy the sweep of the surfing beach.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The Delux Cafe has great food - big portions and very reasonable. And it is an easy walk to all the restaurants along the beach strip for dinner choices.
This place has it all, but book as soon as you can - people keep coming back and the place fills up.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Simply the best!
Best location, value, service and view!
I have been a "Frecuent Flyer" for the last 7 years in Casa de Dan, It get better and better!
Dan makes sure you have an awesome stay!
Saludos
Pepe

Room Tip: Check the Gran vista rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel for more than 10 weeks so far over two summers, and I am booked for 8 more weeks next summer. Do I have to say more? I have been to Puerto Escondido 6 times and since I found this spot I stopped looking for other arrangements. The owner and staff are simply fantastic. The place is very clean and the cafe is amazing. A very comfortable location just up the hill and away from the main, busier main beach road, and it has a wonderful view of Playa Zicatela. My wife and kids love it as much as I do.

Room Tip: There is a variety of rooms/accommodations to meet a wide variety of needs. It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElProfessorLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#21 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suites La Hacienda
Suites La Hacienda
#3 of 61 in Puerto Escondido
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Zicatela Suites
Zicatela Suites
#6 of 61 in Puerto Escondido
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Real Puerto Escondido
Posada Real Puerto Escondido
#6 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Dan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Dan

Address: Calle Jacarandas No 14, Col. Santa Maria | Zicatela Beach, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Escondido
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing