We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to surf and relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puerto Escondido Surf House
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to surf and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Puerto Surf is a very nice place, 1 block from the beach with only 5 bedrooms so it is a quiet place which is cool. You get to meet nice people, to chat with the surf instructors and David who runs the place in a relaxed and pleasant way.
I'd love to go back there ! If you want to chill out, this is the spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClementNowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
56
110
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Not much else to say other than an amazing place to stay! David is the perfect host, who has created the perfect relaxing environment for guests. There is no pressure for you to have lessons if you stay there, they will happily just rent you boards. We will definitely be returning at some point!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3EnglishGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent a week down there this July, I honestly didn't know what to expect. The minute we got there we knew it was going to be great, the house is awesome, great location, the people are THE BEST. The lessons were amazing and so much fun! Also our room was excellent, very tidy and homey.
I wish I could have stayed there longer, David and the guys are so nice and friendly.
Highly recommend this place!
Gracias por todo David!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We (my boyfriend and I) had high expectations from having read the other reviews here on Tripadvisor, but they were all correct - this is the perfect place for either learning to surf or improving your level of surfing and at the same time getting to chill out at the beautiful house a stone's throw away from the beach La Punta. The house includes great details like hammocks in the garden and a fully equipped outdoor kitchen. David is the best host you could ask for; we had a few complications with the house appliances, but he made sure to get it fixed right away, and we could tell he wanted to make sure our stay was as good as possible. This goes for the surf lessons as well: David and the other instructor Óscar were so patient and enthusiastic with us, eager to push us and build our confidence which in the end paid off as we both advanced a lot within very little time. We were only three people in our group, so having two instructors was great as this allowed us to receive a lot of individual help.
Choose Puerto Escondido Surf House for your stay (preferably combined with the surf lessons offered there) in Puerto Escondido - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tojna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The other reviews are spot on. PE Surf House is a true gem. A quiet place just a few steps from beautiful La Punta (and its awesome and fun point break). The rooms are comfortable and super clean, and David and Swantje are extremely friendly and helpful hosts. I've stayed here twice this summer (while living in Oaxaca) and look forward to more weekend trips to the PE Surf House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltrankvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuauhtémoc, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you like a home like place to stay, with good vibes and with a great surf spirit, this is the place! You always meet people, make friends, the rooms are very clean and it´s a place that is not noisy at all! I love it! highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in the Surf House for a long weekend and were super impressed by the facilities, surf boards and all. David is a great surf instructor as well!
The surf house is walking distance to a lot of neat little restaurants and bars, walking distance to La Punta (if you're a good surfer) and easily accessible to other beaches by taxi.
The rooms are nice, clean and functional.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleNatem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.4 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#4 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#6 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#7 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bungalows Santa Cruz
Bungalows Santa Cruz
#24 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Escondido Surf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Escondido Surf House

Property: Puerto Escondido Surf House
Address: Calle Nuevo Leon S/N - Esq Benito Juarez, Puerto Escondido 70934, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Escondido
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By creating a homey and quiet atmosphere set in a naturally beautiful area, we want you to experience surfing and relaxing in a new way. We are located at La Punta de Zicatela, 50m from the beach. La Punta is a left pointbreak and a gret spot for beginner and intermediate surfers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing