We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Puerto Surf
Nearby Hotels
$137
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surf Olas Altas(Puerto Escondido)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Fe(Puerto Escondido)
$82
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rockaway(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Santa Cruz(Puerto Escondido)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mozart y Macondo(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$53
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Suites Villasol(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aldea del Bazar(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
$38
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Carrizalillo(Puerto Escondido)
$200
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites La Hacienda(Puerto Escondido)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
268
17
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
17
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla puntapoint breakabsolutely recommend this placeplace to staylearn howrooms are cleanfantastic atmospheregreat housefew stepsgreat friendsrestaurants and barsprivate bathsolo travellerthe beach is greatperfect spotstayed for nightsenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 289 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This modern three storey home is a lovely 'port in the storm' away from the 'surfing youth crowd' on the nearby streets.
Although that is what David does as his second job...offer surfing instruction....The community kitchen is used for snacks and breakfast, and it all feels very safe and quiet.

Boards are neatly stacked around the property, and the owner is very helpful.

My son took a few lessons while we were there, and I gladly sat on the beach, and dipped into the ocean to body surf.
The single bed room was filled, but the KING size bed was extremely comfortable, mosquito net and all.
Some great restaurants around the village, and a wonderful authentic French/Swiss bakery.
Book as many days as you can at this affordable rate. Taxi's are plentiful, as well as the bus, into the city.....Who needs it though...with fantastic sun, surf, and good company....!

Just wish they had wifi....but it's available around the village.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawariver49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The house is located at La Punta which is a great location for surfing. Playa zicatela is about 20 minutes walking from La Punta which is great. The house is very beautiful and relaxing. As for the surf classes, David is an awesome surfteacher, he got me standing on my first day. Safety is very important for him which is great and he will always make sure that you catch the bests waves. All with all I have had a great experience in the house and I would recommened it to everybody who wants to relax and fall in love with surfing.

Room Tip: If you want a guarenteed great vacation, book your place at the house.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinevandenBoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Puerto Surf House and made some great friends. The Surf House itself is beautiful, very clean and in the best location, just 50 yards from La Punta, a great right hand wave off the point. David was very cool and easy going, he didn't have any problems with us staying longer and then having to leave a day earlier than planned. He has a nice selection of boards, mainly for beginners but a couple of shortboards too for intermediate surfers. Price is good value for money, we'd definitely go back and totally recommend to anyone heading to Puerto. The streets are sandy and you can easily get a taxi into the main town to surf or party. We had a great time, thank you very much! Nicy and James.

Room Tip: if you can, there is a double room on the first floor, we didnt stay there but I imagine it is the best one ;)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Surf House for five fun days. It's a small place (they now have four rooms) and is away from the main Zicatela tourist area at La Punta. I much preferred La Punta - it is really peaceful. There are still good cheap places to eat nearby, plus a few small stores, and the main town is only a 5 minute 30 peso taxi ride away (or a 40 minute walk along the beach).

Most important, the house is right by the beach and La Punta's surf break. The rooms are clean and large and super good value. The place has a nice garden with shade and hammocks. David is friendly and helpful (Swantje was in Germany while I was there).

They have short and long boards for rent. I didn't take surf lessons (already surf) but other guests spoke very highly of David as a teacher.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKN2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Puerto Surf for a week. All my expectations were met and even exceeded! They offer really great value. Nice rooms (double or twin available) with bathroom, there is a kitchen with fridge for everybody to use and hammocks to chill in the shade. The surf lessions (with Jesus/ Chicharon, David was on vacation) were a lot of fun and he really made sure that we only caught good waves. As the equipment is free to use outside the lessons we were able to practice a lot, which really helped. Swantje also gave me a Thai massage, which I can really just recommend to everybody, very relaxing. Overall it is safe to say, that Puerto Surf offers everything you need and want for a superb price and the environment is super friendly and nice.
I am sure I will be there again!
BTW: don't let the fact that there is no A/C get in your way, with the fan it was not too hot during the night

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonVIE89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews