We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is awesome - has the best of both worlds with a backpacker vibe (youngish crowd, social, communal kitchen etc) but you get a nice private hotel room and its much quieter and cleaner than a backpackers. We booked a double and got a massive king bed with an ensuite and there was an attic type floor upstairs which could have slept another two people in singles. This place is immaculately clean, the rooms are a bit rustic with palapa roofs etc which is lovely. It's not fancy but you really don't want fancy in Puerto and for the price the value is amazing. Location is probably the best in town, very very close to the surf beach and nightlife but one street back so you don't get the noise. Also no kids allowed which was great for us.
Pool area is exceptionally well looked after, Rene does an amazing job of the garden and it really does feel like a little oasis. Manuela the host was ridiculously helpful throughout our stay- nothing is too much trouble and you just feel really welcome. The is an honour system for beers and water which was great to be able to grab a beer by the pool and mark a tally against your room- so chilled.
So glad we stayed here - just book it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

It makes us happy to hear what a great time you both had in our Oasis! This is it exactly what we want :-)! That our guests simply enjoy their stay, relax and have a great time! We will do our best to keep this! But we also want to thank you for your nice words, for beeing our guests and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadivsor. We hope we will have you back one day (maybe soon you'll be tired of the rain ;-)), all the best to you both! Warm regards from Puerto, Manuela & René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is one of my new favourite places to stay in Mexico, and I can't wait to go back....it was such a nice and lovely visit! The lush garden, the lovely pool, the cosy and spacious rooms and friendly Manuela and Rene as your hosts, this is just the perfect combination for a really wonderful and relaxing stay. Had chosen Swiss Oasis after seing all the beautiful photos and the numerous good reviews and we certainly did'nt regret it, only that we had'nt planned for a longer stay in Puerto Escondido. The Oasis is just a block from the main street on Zicatela beach which makes it peaceful but still very central. Just loved the garden with the beautiful flowers and the pool was perfect for a refreshing afternoon dip when you got back hot and tired from the beach or the city. The rooms are actually much nicer than the photos make you believe. Big, clean and colourful with a great king-sized bed and a huge nice bathroom. There's also a convenient common kitchen but with all the restaurants nearby we did'nt use it. A hotel can be great but it's always the hosts that makes it special and worth coming back to and in this case Manuela is simply fantastic. We felt very welcome from the very first contact via mail and her advice regarding transportation from Oaxaca was very useful. At the arrival and during our whole stay she was also so nice and helpful with all kinds of information and advice, really the perfect host. We really loved the Oasis and will definitely be back for a longer visit next time. Highly recommendable!! :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LACopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you guys, you where fantastic! It was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for the great conversations, you where wonderful guests and we are happy that we could make your stay in Puerto to something special! And we would also like to thank you for taking the review us! We appreciate that so much! We wish you all the best and hopefully you'll be back soon. Have a great summertime up there in northern Europe, hasta luego! Manuela & René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Walking into the gorgeous courtyard with its beautiful swimming pool, sun beds, umbrellas, tropical flowers, hammocks and other guests all sitting around chatting made us feel like we'd come to the right place. Manuela is the perfect hostess and was like a second mum, giving us the local insight, best food and market recommendations and gossip while showing us our room.. The beds/pillows are great, the shower amazing, everything is spotless and the communal kitchen downstairs is wonderful. A 20 second walk to the beach and right in the middle of the action, we can not recommend this place highly enough and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Wow, better than home! It was our goal to make the Swiss Oasis to a home away from home. Your words, so as many others, make us happy! Make us happy to see that we have achieved what we wanted! And they keep us going, giving our best :-)! Thank you a lot for rating us! We're looking forward to see you again in our little Oasis. All the best to you, Manuela and René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

After our arrival in Puerto Escondido, we checked out several different hotels and locations. We choose the Swiss Oasis because they had the nicest and cleanest rooms/bathrooms and the location was perfect. The Hotelito is a vey cosy, friendly hideout with great hosts and guests. The pool, the room, the bathroom, all spotless clean. A good water preasure in the shower (hot water) allowed me to wash my long hair whenever I want. The rooms have windows on both sides, covered with moskito screen, so we could leave the window open and there was always a nice breeze so that we even did'nt need the good working celling fan. The big kingsize bed is very cosy and it's so nice and quiet, we had the best sleep during all our America trip. We first planed to stay only 4 nights...now it's 2 weeks! The owners care a lot for every single detail and making you realizing that they where traveler, knowing what's important.

We can warmly recomend this place, it may be hard to find any better place in Puerto as much as it's hard to leave this "home by the ocean"

Room Tip: They are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindan728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you! Thank you for, taking the time to review us, for staying with us, for these warm words, for recomending us, for beeing such pleasant guests :-). We wish you all the best and we hope we'll see you again ;.-), Manuela & René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely room, comfy bed, relaxing pool, friendly, helpful people.
On arrival (early in the morning) there was a bathroom and towels available for us to use until our room was ready. We could relax at the pool while Manuela welcomed us and gave us plenty of information and advice. Just what we needed after a long journey. They really have thought of everything here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Gracias and Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor. We're always happy to hear that our "efforts" are appreciated so highly. Maybe your next journey will lead you again to our Oasis ;-). We wish you all the best and many, many more great travel experience! Cheers from Puerto, Manuela and René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A great little spot just off the main street of Zacateras Beach. Eight rooms border the pool, common kitchen, and pleasant sitting area. The rooms are all very similar in design and style with the top rooms having a nice little patio out back to enjoy the warm and tranquil evenings. They don't have an ocean view but their location is perfect for being close to everything (1/2 block from restaurants and the beach) yet quiet and peaceful.

The drink cooler (providing beer, pop and water) is on the honor system and a really nice amenity even though there are numerous stores and restaurants nearby. Same with the kitchen facilities – it's a nice option to be able to prepare your own meals, even if it is only a coffee or snack by the pool.

The Swiss owners are delightful to deal with and very helpful. I especially loved being able to book the room on short notice without credit card or sending funds. It established a mutual trust and respect early on which we never had reason to doubt. Manuela is the perfect owner/host - always friendly and helpful and there when you need something.

I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdigabtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate us! Thank you for your nice words and for staying with us! We wish to have you soon again, take care and all the best to you both! Manuela & René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there for some 3 nights in february. Hotelito Swiss Oasis is pefectly located in the middle of Zicatela beach which is perfect if you're there for surfing. Only 50m from the beach. There is only 8 large rooms so it's quiet. Four of them have a loft with two beds in addition to a large kingsize bed downstairs. There's an equipped kichen where you can prepare your own food. The owners Manuela and Rene were super friendly and helpful. I would definitly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gzahl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelitoswissoasis, Owner at Hotelito Swiss Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Gracias & Thank you for taking the time to rate us! It was a pleasure to have you and hopefully we'll see you soon again. We wish you a wonderful summer with no moskitos and lots of fun.
All the best to you both, Manuela & René

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
9.6 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#1 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#13 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito Swiss Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Swiss Oasis

Address: Andador Gaviotas, 1 | Playa Zicatela, Puerto Escondido 71988, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $45 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotelito Swiss Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Playa Zicatela, only 50 meters from the beach, quiet and secluded, nestled between palm trees is where you'll find our Hotelito Swiss Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotelito Swiss Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing