We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to relax and do NOTHING (or everything)”
Review of Villa Lili

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Lili
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific place to relax and do NOTHING (or everything)”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent ten nights at Villa Lili and had a beautifully relaxing time. The owner Claire is the most helpful, kind and friendly person you could ask for, and she really made an effort to make our stay memorable. She even bought us a birthday cake!!! Like everyone says, the breakfasts are incredible and we only ate twice a day because they were so filling. You won't regret a stay at this wonderful hotel in this magical place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haaames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    15
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
61
137
47
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We traveled as a couple and stayed here for 2 nights in the room on the highest floor - no balcony but offered a stunning view of the beach. Wished we could stay longer. Adelina, the owner, is amazing and was always willing to have breakfast with us and teach us about Mexico's culture, politics, etc. Irene's traditional home-cooked food is delicious! We hope to return some day! Whether you are travelling as a couple, solo or with a family/friends, this place will suite your needs!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Words cannot express how amazing and incredible our time was at the Villa Lili. We have traveled to many locations and stayed in may hotels and B&B's around the world, and the Villa Lili blows each and every one away.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Villa Lili in the fall of 2010. We were coming to Puerto Escondido for 3 months, but originally booked our stay here for one week to look at different hotels in the area. It didn't take long for us to decide that we already were in the best place in Puerto and we would be staying at the Villa Lili for the entire 3 months.

The owners and staff were truly amazing. They treated us and everyone who stayed there, even if for only a night or two, like family. They would always go out of their way to make their guests truly enjoy their experience. We arrived as guests, but we left feeling like family. I can say that all of the guests who stayed while we were there also left feeling the same way.

The cleanliness of the entire hotel and grounds is unparalleled. The food....oh the food! I looked forward to the breakfasts each and every morning. A hot meal was cooked individually for each guest every morning along with freshly squeezed orange juice, local coffee, fresh breads, fresh fruit, and cereal. Unbelievable. Seriously the tastiest meals, and I wouldn't have to eat again until supper. The hot breakfast changed every day too, and you're not eating the same thing every day. The breakfast table was also a great place to meet other guests and discuss things to do and even plan outings together.

The people in general who stayed there were all happy, friendly, and fun. The atmosphere was always pleasant and conducive to meeting other guests and having a good time. There was never anything to complain about; in 3 months, I didn't have a single problem, and I didn't know of any other guest who did either. We made so many friends with other guests during our stay there that we still keep in touch with today. Like I mentioned earlier, we also left feeling like family with the owners and staff.

There is no other place like the Villa Lili (and Quinta Lili, same owners, same concept). I wanted to write this review much earlier, but I never felt I could adequately express how amazing the place is. If you are visiting Puerto Escondido and looking for a clean, fun, friendly place to stay where you are treated like royalty and family at the same time, the Villa Lili is definitely the place for you. Singles, couples, groups, young, old: great for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had intended on staying for 2 days and ended up staying for 7! Irene's traditional home cooked breakfasts provided us with the freshest and tastiest culinary experiences of our entire mexican trip (the coconut prawn tacos a personal fave of mine). The rooms were beautiful and Claire and Louis went far above and beyond their call of duty to provide a warm, friendly and helpful environment. We cannot recommend Villa Lily highly enough and we hope to return some day! Lucy&Nick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBooko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a wonderful trip again to PE! Such a great beach location ....5 minute walk from Playa Carrizalillo and the best part is the staff! Adelina, Claire, Luis and Irene really know how to take care of their guests. They take a real interest in understanding their guests interests, then assist in getting the activities lined up. Their hospitality is some of the best I've experienced!

Love PE for the many varied activities: great surfing, wonderful surf instructors from Oasis! Bioluminescence at the lagoon at night is amazing....also the visit to the turtles and releasing to the ocean! Made a trip to the waterfalls which was so interesting and beautiful. Love the temescal and massage from Alejandro at Temecali -amazing experience!

Great food throughout PE! The best is the wonderful breakfast served by Irene at Villa Lilli! Will be back again soon - can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We couldn't have found anywhere better than Villa Lili for our long weekend at the beach. I had chosen the hotel based on the positive reviews online, and all my expectations were met. Our room was spacious and comfortable - despite three of us sharing, it never felt cramped. I was initially worried that it would be too hot without an air conditioning unit but the fans and open windows (with mosquito screens) did a great job and we were always comfortable.

The facilities were first-rate. The wifi connection worked without any problems. The pools (plural!) were great - ideal for those times when the beach was busy or we wanted to be a bit quieter. The breakfast was delicious - possibly the best mango I've eaten in Mexico, and excellent hot dishes too. We really appreciated the honour bar, it made our stay even more comfortable.

The best thing about the hotel was the people, though - all the staff were lovely, and the owners Luis and Clare couldn't have been more friendly or helpful (spot-on restaurant and surf shop recommendations, making phone calls to check the turtle sanctuary was open, giving us a lift to the airport, even retrieving my lost keys!) while still giving us privacy and space to enjoy Puerto Escondido.

Room Tip: We particularly liked the seating area on the balcony on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxwjci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel but the best part by far was the breakfast. Irene was amazing! We always looked forward to the hot mexican meal!!! I hope you guys open a restaurant.
We also really enjoyed Luis and Clare taking the time to give us advise for activities. They gave us the occasional ride around town, too. We loved surfing, watching the huge waves, took spanish classes, saw dolphins, turtles and the mangroves. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
8.2 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#2 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#6 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lili

Property: Villa Lili
Address: Calle Puerto Escondido 115 | Esquina con Camino Carrizalillo, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lili is a boutique style hotel of exquisite design with 9 large ensuite guest rooms over 4 floors including 2 master suites with private jacuzzis and wonderful sea views. There is also a large swimming pool and lounge area, wi-fi in-room, cable tv and fine Mexican breakfast including healthy options using all local ingredients are included in the rate. Please note we have no affiliation or connection in any way to another property named Villas Lili in Puerto Escondido. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing