We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Omars Sport fishing is the best”

Puerto Escondido Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Puerto Escondido Fishing will take in search of fish from trophy Marlin to edible Yellow Fin Tuna. We do fishing from the shore, and from boats. Deeps-sea or close to shore. Also take a Dolphin and Turtle Watching private tour. Puerto Escondido Fishing is for all your fishing and ocean sightseeing options in Puerto Escondido.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Omars Sport fishing is the best”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have been out with Omar and Isreal twice and I must say that it was simply an awesome experience both times. Omar tells me when it is time to go out so there is an excellent chance to catch sailfish and dorado. If he thinks the time is not good he freely tells me that. How honest is that? Very professional very patient good english and super knowledge. If you are looking for a wonderful fishing experience in Puerto Escondido, in my opinion, you can do no better than my friends Omar and Isreal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Never caught such big fish: 10lb mahi mahi, yellowfin tuna. Lots of fun

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 007wmks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
1 review
“awesome”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Puerto escondido is a place(1 1/2 hr bus ride) from Huatulco, you can spend months.has evrything, from surfing to fishing and nigth life..been to Puerto 8 yrs in a row now..just love it.best is the Zicatela strip..many restaraunt to choose from..Weather?no place in the world so sure of sun evry day,,,onother place to visit that is only 1/2hr from Huatulco is Zepolite....is a nudist beach,,but is nude is optional...very nice place

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank sante62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chon is a great guy to fish with when Puerto Escondido”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you are looking for a very nice and competent guide to fish with in Puerto Escondido, Capt. Chon Cruz will serve you well. We have have used Chon's services for 3 years, encompassing 6 fishing trips, and have enjoyed every outing.

Chon prefers bluewater fishing (i.e. dorado (mahi-mahi), sailfish, tuna), and that is his expertise. You fish from a panga (24 foot v-bottom boat with a bimini top) that can hold up to 4 people plus him and his 1st mate. He supplies reasonably good equipment and line, the tackle, fuel, and bait, all for a reasonable price. We paid 400 pesos per hour (4 hour minimum) last February for a 5 hour trip for 4 of us (so about $185 US total plus a nice tip). We boated 3 dorado, all right at 45 lbs and caught and released 3 sailfish. The previous week we went out for 4 hours and caught 1 nice dorado of around 25 lbs. We were skunked on only 1 trip out with him in February 2010, but at that time there was not any good bluewater to be found.

Another good point of fishing there is you typically only go 5 to 10 miles offshore...and sometimes not that to find fish...and usually get to see 2 or 3 species of dolphins, dozens of Olive-Ridleys sea turtles, offshore sea birds...if you are into such things (I am as a biologist).

To get hold of Chon go to Playa Carrazalillo where his wife runs a small restaurant and ask around for him or his email is: chon.mar@hotmail.com. He is a very nice man and competent guide.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_V_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We had a GREAT time...”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Went fishing with Lorenzo. Great time. Caught a Yellow Fin Tuna.

We went back to a restaurant on the beach and they prepared tuna tartare and grilled tuna for us.

Great day. Ready to go again.

Helpful?
Thank racrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Escondido Fishing also viewed

Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca
 

Been to Puerto Escondido Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing