We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hosts, good food, good rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flor de Maria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flor de Maria
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good hosts, good food, good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Paul and Joanne were accommodating in every way. Food in the dining room is very good, the hotel is close to the beach, very clean rooms, nice rooftop deck. Not fancy, but a nice economical place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
55
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We had a wonderful, relaxing 3-week stay with hosts Joanne and Paul. Our room was comfortable and cool even in the heat of the day. We loved the walks along the beach in the early morning, mingling with the local fishermen, reading and relaxing in a hammock on the roof during the heat of the day, Spanish lessons in the afternoon, followed by margaritas on the roof at sunset … then dinner served by Pedro in the excellent hotel restaurant. Thank you Paul and Joanne … we definitely plan to visit you again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza22Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Rooms are air y,no air con requied. Rooftop pool and bar. Restaurant is 5 star. Can only describe menu as FANTASMAGORICAL. The Hidden Cove has a hidden secret.

aca.rik

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were excellent. The restaurant was great. Our rooms were simple , but clean and comfortable. It is a pretty place. We spent a lot of time on the roof overlooking the beach--in the pool, swinging in the hammocks, reading, sipping drinks served from the bar---a great place to be. It was a short walk to the beach and a short ride to anywhere else.
Thanks, Joanne and Paul for making us feel so "at home"!

Hilde Neustaedter, Winnipeg MB, Canada

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hneustaedter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Good facilities, clean room, great food in restaurant, good location

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otonabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel was rather good choice for us as the purpose of our stay in Puerto Escondido was beach and birdwatching. The beach (swimmable) is very near to the hotel - ca 100-150 metres. Yes, the town centre is a bit further but we did not find it disturbing. Used a taxi couple of times and during the daytime it is a nice 15 minutes walk along the beach.
The only thing we did not like was the restaurant - it was a bit pricy and the food... Well would not eat there again.
Otherwise the rooms were large, beach was near and if you got tired of the waves then there is also a pool on the roof. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Had the pleasure of staying here in December 2009. Hosts Paul and Joanne couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful during my 3-night stay. Flor de Maria is, in my opinion, the best of all worlds in Puerto Escondido: it's on a quiet side street, away from the bustle of the main drag (not that PE ever gets too bustling...), but still just, literally, a few minutes walk to the main beach (which is spread out before you when on the rooftop terrace).

Beautiful interior courtyard, typical spotless tile everywhere, comfortable rooms, and as mentioned, a rooftop terrace with lounge chairs, small swimming pool, hammocks, a small bar and wonderful sunsets. And all for a most reasonable $55-60 a night US (and getting cheaper every day, it seems, thanks to the current battering the peso is taking against the dollar.

Puerto Escondido is a very down-to-earth, laid-back beach area (I'd say resort, but it really ISN'T a resort). You're just as likely to be body surfing next to a local as another tourist. Only a few main drags, great small mom-n-pop's restaurants, relaxed atmosphere and all the sand, surf and sunsets you care to handle.

If your travels take you to PE, you can't go wrong with Hotel Flor de Maria.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellfedwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#17 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flor de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flor de Maria

Property: Hotel Flor de Maria
Address: Playa Marinero S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Flor De Maria Hotel
Flor De Maria Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing