We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most perfect place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flor de Maria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flor de Maria
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We've stayed twice now (2 years in a row) at the Flor de Maria - it is perfect in every respect! A beautiful hotel, superb staff and service, and an excellent restaurant. Paul and Joanne (the owners) are lovely, warm people and really make the hotel what it is. We will return, again and again, because it is simply the best!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
55
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We're back after 9 months to stay at the wonderful Flor de Maria. 6 of us journeyed from Acapulco to Puerto Escondido. On arrival we all headed upstairs to the roof bar for some cold beer and to enjoy the beautiful view of the Pacific. This year we lazed around in the shade swinging on the hammocks with beer in hand (La Buena Vida). The dinner and breakfast menu are fantastic and selection is excellent. Joanne does a great job of keeping us healthy. We stayed on the second floor for 3 nights. Each room has a safe for your passports etc., and a fan to keep the room at the
right temperature. We enjoy the shopping in Puerto Escondido. Some of our favorite stores are: the loom factory, beautiful bedspreads,excellent prices, main market lots to see. Paul can always give you idea's on what you might enjoy doing and seeing. We all rested up back at the hotel catching up on the local news from Paul and Joanne. Try this hotel I'm sure you to will be happy you did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AcaSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in good location. Clean rooms, good value for money. Hotel beautifully decorated and painted. Rooftop pool and terrace has great views. Manager away during our stay but staff friendly and helpful (limited English so bring a little Spanish with you).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIS266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights in Hotel Flor de Maria in Puerto Escondido! The food they serve is excellent and very reasonably priced, so it was no wonder the restaurant was filled almost every evening we were there. The rooms are also comfortable with soft beds (not many of those in Mexico!) and were kept very clean by the friendly people working there. The roof terrace with a bar, pool and hammocks were also very nice to relax on, and it had a great view over the beach, which is just a minute walk away. This is also the part of the beach where it is safe to swim, and not the big Zicatela beach where it is huge waves for the surfers.

The location is perfect for enjoying Puerto Escondido, as it is close to the beach restaurants and the main street, without being bothered by noise of any sorts. Paul and Joanne were very friendly and helpful with all our requests. We will definitely try to stay at this hotel again if we have the chance to go to Puerto Escondido at a later occasion.

Room Tip: We had a room in the first floor, which was both cool and quiet. We got a tour of the available room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just back from Puerto Escondido and the Flor de Maria was perfect, as always. Puerto's a great spot but staying at the Flor is what makes it irresistible, which is why so many of us return year after year after year to savor Joanne's fine food, catch up on the news of staff and other guests and bask in the comfort of Paul and Joanne's unfailing warmth and hospitality, to say nothing of the hammocks by the pool. Book often, book soon. MLF from Toronto.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are generally brighter than the ones on the first floor, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hamaca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Manitoba
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just love the pastel colors of this hotel. It makes you so comfortable walking through this Crayola Castle. The rooftop is another favorit haunt of mine. And lets talk about the diningroom and the specails of the day. Always a good mixture to satisfy ones tastes. The way Joanne can fuse flavors with the local fare is incredible. One day I had Tandoori Mahi Mahi. FANTAZMAGORICAL. I love my chilirellenos and I was told by her that she does not deepfry them Like everybody else. She bakes hers. If you need anything at all, Paul and Joanne will make sure you get it. I look forward to my return back to my hidden cove.

Room Tip: No rooms get direct sunlight, so all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a charming hotel, perfect location and warm hosts. We kept Paul and Joanne busy with requests, all of which they tended to graciously. The hotel is not "on the beach" but is a very short walk (and the hotels "on the beach" are actually across a street from it). Beautiful ocean view from the rooftop patio, great food in the restaurant. Really glad we chose this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#17 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#4 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flor de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flor de Maria

Property: Hotel Flor de Maria
Address: Playa Marinero S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Flor De Maria Hotel
Flor De Maria Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing