We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flor de Maria is a lovely little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flor de Maria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flor de Maria
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flor de Maria is a lovely little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2004

My wife and I returned yesterday from a week's stay at the Flor de Maria. It was a lovely place to stay. The layout of the hotels is traditional, with all rooms around a central courtyard. The food is a special treat, and some of the finest in PE. Our room was comfortable (two double beds, ceiling fan, bath room with a good shower). Even though temperatures were in the 90s, there was no need for A/C. The hotel is 1/2 block from Playa Marinero, a terrific beach. Flor de Maria is 5-to-10 minute walk on the beach from both the Playa Zicatela beach and restaurants and the shopping street, El Adoquin. The owners, Jo Anne and Paul were very helpful and everyone there couldn't have been nicer. It's a special place. Go there!

Helpful?
10 Thank kitso4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
55
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2004

My friend and I stayed in Puerto Escondido after spending a month in Oaxaca city. It was beautiful, the food was tasty, and the mojito (spelling???) drinks were perfect! I would agree with the point made be another reviewer that the owners were a little off-standish, but the staff seemed fine to us.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2003

A friend and I have just spent the best part of a week at the Hotel Flor de Maria and thought it was fabulous. Paul was very helpful and accomodating as were his entire team.

I could not speak highly enough either of the hotel or Puerto Escondido. In a couple of words, GET THERE !

Mark

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2003

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Flor de Maria the first week of March 2003. We love you, Paul, Joanne, Alex, and all of the staff there. Oh, and Puchi too! (Their parrot.)I had done a lot of research on the hotels in PE and decided on Hotel Flor de Maria because it seemed a nice blend of small hotel, yet with great amenities, like a swimming pool. Plus, the location is perfect. Between the Adoquin and Playa Zicatela. The afternoon part of the day was spent up on the third floor with the swimming pool and the bar. Perfect and intimate. Hammocks, a great view and great sangria! Well, O.K., great mojitos too.Paul and Joanne, the owners, are just the nicest people and they make you feel totally welcome. A real bonus is the Cafecito, right across the street, where you can get a wonderful breakfast, fresh fruit, and Oaxacan coffee for about $2.50.I cannot praise this hotel enough. Dave and I will be returning for the international surfing competition (to watch) in November 2004 and we will definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2003

We recently returned from a week in Puerto Econdido where we stayed at the Flor de Maria. We found that our accomodations turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel itself is absolutely charming with its beautiful courtyard and hand painted doors. With only twenty-eight rooms we had soon met almost all the guests either at the restaurant or roof top pool and bar. It gave the place the feel of a bed and breakfast. Our hosts, Joanna and Paul could not have been more helpful or friendly. If you are looking for a holiday in Mexico where you actually spend most of your time interacting with Mexicans in an intimate yet very real setting, then this is the place for you. Craig & Heather

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2003

The owners of this hotel are wonderful. We stayed at the Flor de Maria for one week during the 2002 Christmas season. Our car reservations were screwed up and nobody at the rental agency spoke Spanish. One of the owners phoned the agency several times on our behalf until we got a car. We have never felt so warmly welcomed and cared for as we did at the Hotel Flor de Maria!

Helpful?
4 Thank chromatophore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2003

my. husband and i stayed at flor de maria.it is very beautiful,and the staff complains of being overworked,under payed and scaired of the owner.my husband became very sick,diareah and vomiting in the middle of the night when i went to get help to call a dr. i was told sorry the phone is locked in the drawer because the owner is worried about it being used,please wake the owner this is an emergency.i cant there was already an incodent and she will be very angry,i will lose my job.i ended up getting help to carry my husband to a nearby dr. he was dehidrated and recieved intravenus hydration.when i spoke to the owner the next day she did not even appolagize.we moved to rincon del pacifico where the staff seams much happier.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilma1917, Owner at Hotel Flor de Maria, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
We wanted to clarify that your experience was before the year 2000, when we became the new owners. We are sorry that you had this horrible experience ; but wish you would have checked your facts regarding ownership before you wrote to Trip Advisor 3 years later.

Hotel Flor de Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#17 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#4 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flor de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flor de Maria

Property: Hotel Flor de Maria
Address: Playa Marinero S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Flor De Maria Hotel
Flor De Maria Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing