We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location near Playa Marinero”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flor de Maria
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location near Playa Marinero”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This lovely hotel was better than I imagined. It is less than a 100 meters from Playa Marinero—a good swimming beach, and a about a 5 minute walk to either Playa Zicatela or Playa Principal. The rooftop area with a pool, bar, and shaded hammocks as well as tables & chairs offers a wonderful view of the beach. The restaurant on the premises offers excellent meals at reasonable prices.The neighborhood is quiet & feels very safe. The staff is friendly. The Canadian owners are very pleasant and helpful. It is about a two minute walk to catch buses heading down the coast towards Puerto Angel. The hotel is clean and secure. Rooms have fans, screens & a safe. A great value in an exciting town. My wife & I will definitely book here again when we return to P.E.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
56
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anytown
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had another fantastic anniversary party at flor de Maria. Joanne and Paul and the entire staff go out of their way to make this annual party sooooo special.

After 15 years to PE, we enjoy dining at Hotel Flor de Maria during our stay in PE.

Marc and Jacque
Minnesota

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mxxxxx q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Staying in this quiet clean well-priced hotel so close to the ocean made our stay just perfect. Owners Paul and Joanne welcome guests and do whatever it takes to make your stay relaxed and memorable. The hotel is clean, well staffed, and safe. Joanne, who owned and managed a Toronto, Ontario, Canada, restaurant for many years, oversees very capable kitchen staff and in preparing superb dinners each night. It's the best accommodation in Escondido.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A refreshing reprieve from the "all inclusive sameness of resorts". From the friendly, social owners Paul and Joanne to the smiling, helpful staff, this wonderful old hotel offers a charming peaceful vacation in an exqusite setting, seconds walk to the most beautiful swimming beach, fabulous food and the roof top terrace bar and pool offer spectacular sunsets. The quaint setting, friendly locals, palapas beach bars (Lisa's Bar and her exotic birds, and Brad's Split Coconut where we enjoyed the Blues Festival) provides an oasis of activities, sights and fun. What a wonderful place! One of the best holidays ever.

Linda Urquhart

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the "Flor" last week, and we found that the welcome by Paul and Joanne was absolutely fantastic. Felt "at home" at the front desk.
The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Balcony was small, but great to have a door that opens.
The rooftop pool and bar was a great place to spend some quiet time and enjoy the view of the bay and a great breeze.
Restaurant was excellent....Try the Shrimp in Garlic......
Will return to this hotel when we return to Puerto Escondido
Many thanks, Paul and Joanne

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuskokaWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

You can't ask for much more. Simple full service rooms with comfortable beds, fans, good bathrooms, a 30 second walk to the beach (but enough off the beach to give you a feeling of being set-back), the best restaurant in Puerto Escondido, charming under-stated Mexican decor (yes, there is such a thing) and friendly hosts who are Canadian, European, and Mexican all at the same time. You can walk to town, to the world famous Mexican Pipeline to watch the surfers, or to any of several local beaches, either Playa Marinera or Bahia Principale in front of the hotel or two minutes to the Zicatela, or ten minutes to Carrizalilla or Manzanilla. We have trailed on all continents and would recommend Flor de Maria highly on any standard

Room Tip: They're all good, but decide whether you want the afternoon sun or not. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynM379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I was incredibly relieved to find this place - when I first landed in Puerto I stayed at an absolute dump in El Adoquin. Flor de Maria is tucked away at the Playa Marinero end of the main beach - the cleanest place to swim. Its a 30 second walk from the beach, and a great place to stay if you want to relax away from the tacky bustle of backpackers at Zicatela. The hosts are unbelievably helpful. The hotel itself has a restaurant with cheap, delicious food, as well as a terrace on the roof with hammocks, a swimming pool and a bar overlooking the beach. I spent many an afternoon swinging in a hammocks reading books borrowed from their library. The rooms are spacious and very cute, too. I had a wonderful stay here - highly reccommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#17 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#10 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
#21 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
77 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flor de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flor de Maria

Property: Hotel Flor de Maria
Address: Playa Marinero S/N, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Flor De Maria Hotel
Flor De Maria Puerto Escondido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing