We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel on a spectacular beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Real Puerto Escondido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Real Puerto Escondido
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel on a spectacular beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Heading for a third stay at this hotel. The beach is amazing; the beach pool is a great respite from the heat and the upper level pool is too. The location is particularly good for a sunset view. The buffet meals are just fine with both Mexican and "American" food on offer (and a good soup every day at lunch). At breakfast, the staff are ready to make omelettes to order.. After day 1, the staff know that I want tea instead of coffee - they are very attentive. I wonder why guests quibble about the rooms? How much time do they spend in them? They are standard size, clean and comfortable. As for bugs, well this is the tropics.

Room Tip: Ocean side room windows open to the sea breeze so no need for air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    94
    30
    13
    4
See reviews for
65
56
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oliphant
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

this hotel is what I would call a typical Mexican hotel.we stayed for a week[leave tomorrow]and were about the only gringos here!we came via sunwing and it was pretty cool getting off the plane with hundreds of others and being the only ones getting in a taxi from huatulco to Puerto!left in freezing weather and now zooming up 200 with icy cerveza from the gas station and windows wide open!!ahhhhh.if you want sandals or secrets, real is not for you.if you realize that your room is for sleeping and washing in and want a great experience give this place a try.the grounds and rooms etc are as described by others but I have ZERO complaints about them.the staff and manager are wonderful,kind and smiling tho the staff have limited English.
we were spoilt tho as our first few days were al a carte due to small numbers staying.then it filled up with Mexican families so switched to buffet.the al a carte was great...the buffet,good.this gave us the opportunity to try local restaurants all a massive $2.50[25 peso]taxi ride away.fantastic!!santé fe,paris bistro,el nene etc etc.cocos beach club is brilliant.beautiful beach and NO people.try pez gallo rest next door on the beach for lunch!we had fillet mignon and coconut shrimp and shared[home made surf n turf]with cervazas and a bloody mary still less than $40.!
I will be back for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rufusandollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakusp, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

we had a great time at the posada real
the hotel is in a beautiful setting overlooking the beach , all the staff is really helpful and friendly
the grounds around the hotel are well kept and maintained
we really enjoyed Cocos Beach club,the Beach is amazing , no big crowds, just a great place to
relax, food, drinks and service is great at Cocos
Yes, the rooms are very basic and could use some TLC, but you don't spend much time in your room anyway
overall, we believe it is a great value and we are planning to stay at the posadsa real again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here due to a flight being cancelled and were pretty disappointed with the quality of the room. The rooms are very very basic and minimal. Not to mention we saw cockroaches in the room and it is supposed to be 5 stars! Food from the restaurant was horrible and greasy too Americanized for our liking. On a more positive note there are good views and good pools to pass the day; however there are better places to stay in puerto Escondido.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanna7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

All aspects of the hotel/resort other than the room was great. The reception area and staff were friendly. The pool near the rooms was good. The Coco's Beach club a short walk or complimentary bus ride away was stunning. Great beach, good pool, nice food and drinks. They even cooked a fish I caught for me. However, the rooms are a real let down. Badly in need of modernisation, refurbishment and a good lick of paint. They bear little resemblance to the description given on the website. The beds claimed to be Tempurpedic, but were in fact not (although comfortable nonetheless). I could only receive the free wifi by placing my computer on the sink in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toandfromtheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Three star hotel, five star views! You can not turn around without seeing something beautiful. I'll do this in point form in the interest of brevity.
Food- sketchy. Lucky there were eggs at breakfast because my palate is not international enough to eat tripe, beef tongue in green sauce or pig skin. Many inexpensive restaurants were a 25 peso cab ride away. Green taxis have a set rate to everywhere.
Rooms- basic, no balcony so we got outside as soon as possible. It is sooo beautiful and peaceful, why would you want to be inside?
Service- AMAZING. As many smiles and conversations as you are interested in. Someone who speaks some English is always available. Wait service at the beach at a 3 star, we were so spoiled. Don't forget to tip the people who don't get a lot of tips The security guy, Javier, appreciated a token for his job and the gardeners liked caps etc. Only person who disappointed was Joqiun, the Sunwing rep and he was not employed by the hotel. If you want anything from him you have to get in his face otherwise his face is in his PC
Beaches- Explore! Bococho for walking and surf, several smaller beaches in walking distance for swimming and Principal and Zicatela for miles if walking, shopping and people watching.
Pools- a little murkey but so warm
Coco beach club- 100 stars down so no towel game. Yeah! Lots of room and chairs, no towel cards, drink service as mentioned and fantastic walks and views. For a more gentle ocean for swimming, walk to the left past the rocks. At the right times, tidal pools are great for cooling off in.
Shuttle from airport- a comfy minivan ride through mountain, mango orchards, fields of papaya,pineapple,banana.....the hour and a half feel like a free tour, flies by.
I have bad luck with Sunwing flights to Huatulco(delays, plane problems etc) but absolutely love Purto Escondido and the Posada Real. We even got it on sale. If you're not a traveller who sits on the resort all day, highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank hell0itsme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A hotel in Puerto Escondido with WiFi in the room is difficult to find and this place had it.Beautiful grounds and a short comp shuttle to the beach club.The rooms are pretty basic,smallish and tiny bathrooms but clean and adequate.Staff very friendly and grounds immaculate.The food was very average,we went out most nights in very reasonable taxi's to various excellent restaurants in town.Just a short taxi from the main surfing beaches,if that is of interest,otherwise the beach club more than measured up.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for ocean views..not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spiritedtraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#16 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivo Resorts
Vivo Resorts
#7 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Puerto Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Puerto Escondido

Property: Posada Real Puerto Escondido
Address: Boulevard B. Juarez Lote 11, Puerto Escondido 11980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Puerto Escondido 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Real Puerto Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Puerto Escondido Hotel Puerto Escondido
Best Western Puerto Escondido
Puerto Escondido Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing