We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paraiso Escondido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

I really like this hotel. My wife and I have stayed here four times over the last decade or so and find no reason to choose any other place in PE.

The rooms and suites are all different in decoration and sometimes in layout and size…but there’s not a bad room/suite in the place. The hotel is not on the beach but is only a short walk from the Playa Principal. Most mornings we would walk to the Playa Principal, then to Playa Marinero and then continue to the end of Playa Zicatela. On the way back, we would have breakfast at one of the Zicatela restaurants. In the other direction, the attractive Playa Manzanilla is about a kilometer’s walk away. It’s a hot walk back later in the day but a taxi or a water taxi can bring you home for little cost (about $3-4 for a taxi anywhere in town in early 2009).

All rooms in the hotel face towards the ocean and its breezes, although the ones on the ground floor have only a view of the attractive (and clean) pool and garden area. The light and airy rooms/suites are modest and uncluttered, have good AC, a patio or balcony and are very comfortable. Clean, ironed bed linen every day is a wonderful treat on the coast. The suites are quite large and one has a private kitchen that opens onto its patio (which also has a small dipping pool). The other suites share a small but well-equipped kitchen at the end of the hallway. Most of the time, however, you’ll probably find yourself eating out. In case you want to cook for yourself or buy prepared foods, there’s a large, well-stocked Super Che supermarket about 5 minutes walk away.

The pool area has a small café/restaurant if you didn’t feel like sampling the local eateries. The family that run the restaurant fit perfectly into the friendly, helpful atmosphere and are a joy to chat with when they’re not busy rustling up a meal or drinks. Around the pool are pleasant, small lawns and gardens populated with sculptures of fantasy animals…there’s always something new to find.

Sergio and his staff have made the hotel a safe, comfortable place to stay where you will receive kind, warm, friendly and effective service.

So, if you want an interesting, unique hotel with warm and efficient service combined with high levels of cleanliness, close to the beaches but not on them, then you need look no further. But if you’re looking for the normal beach resort mega-complex, this charming hotel will not be for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zennor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    47
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
49
82
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

If you are thinking of staying at Hotel Paraiso Escondido, go ahead and book. My husband and I stayed here for two weeks in February 2009 and loved everything about it.

The staff, under the friendly guidance of Sergio, the manager, are all friendly and helpful. Sergio speaks good English, lives on site and is more than willing to assist with any travel plans and give information on surrounding area.

The hotel rooms are well cared for by the senoritas and kept very clean. The pool area and the garden are well groomed and always tidy. The only time we found it a little busy around the pool was at the end of the day, when it was a lovely spot to cool off after a walk home from the beach or some other adventure.It was always fun to share information with the other guests. (By the way, we did not hear a single complaint about the hotel from any guests.)

We ate at the onsite restaurant several times and found the food to be tasty and always freshly prepared. They packed a wonderful sandwich for us the day we left..saved us from starvation on our 8 hour bus trip to Acapulco.

The location of the hotel is perfect...short walk up steps to Super Che which sells everything you can think of. It is a 10 minute walk down to the Adoquin which has many shops and restaurants and pedestrians only after noon. We, 65 and 72 years old, were able to walk to all the beaches, from Zicatela to Carrazillilo.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okanagan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

My wife and I spent two weeks at Paraiso Escondido and loved it! We rented a suite for 8 days and planned on going somewhere else for the last 6 nights. After a few days we decided to stay there and nowhere else.
The hotel is perched on a hillside a few blocks from the beach. The pool was nice and clean and so was our room. The view from our room was also quite nice.
The owner (Sergio) was very helpful and friendly. The staff was very pleasant as well. There is a restaurant on site which served good food at a reasonable price.
The hotel itself is just a cool, cool place. I wish I was better with words, but we were just completely relaxed there.
The only downside (for some people) may be the steps. It's an short, uphill walk from the Adoquin to the hotel and then there are a few flights of steps to get to your room. We were on the third floor, so we had a few more steps, but the view was worth it. I would not worry about the steps if you are in reasonably decent shape.
We were able to use a small kitchen which is shared by the three suites. It was small, but was just fine for our needs.
Will we go back? Absolutely! We are planning on going back for 2 weeks next year and plan on staying right there again, hopefully with some friends.
I'll edit this later and add some pictures. I can't now because my wife is taking a nap and I'm not nearly raedy for that (Ijust learned to cut and paste)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaperTiger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

Mi esposa y yo stayed here for 9 days this January. The hotel is perched on a hillside just above bahia principal and just below the main carretara. It is very close to Super Che, a large grocery and general store. The grounds are spacious, clean and adorned with what looked like to me, genuine Mayan or other indiginous limestone statuary. The pool is large and clean, the restaurant good, with friendly staff, and managed by Ernesto, who is very helpful and has a good command of English. Sergio, the hotel general manager, also has good English and is equally helpful.The rooms are spotless, the sheets are changed daily, the air conditioning good, and the balconies afford good views of the bay. Close by are Banamex with an ATM, a laundromat, and many good restaurants, including Casa de la Pasta, where the chef is an Italian, making excellent pastas and sauces.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank famos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

Our family of 4 visited Hotel Paraiso Escondido this past December for several days during our trip to Oaxaca. We came here with our 2 young-adult daughters and stayed in one room together.

The hotel is very well run, well appointed and clean. The management is very friendly and helpful, especially Sergio!

Our room was very comfortable - had a good balcony and the air conditioning was welcome late in afternoon when it got hot. The only complaint I had about the accomodation was that the beds were made with a sheet directly on a plastic mattress cover which was a little crinkly and sticky, but no on else in the family was bothered by it, except me.

The hotel is at the end and just behind the main street that runs along the Playa Principal. Since it is set back from the main street, it's quiet, elevated, and affords good views from the rooms and pool area. The pool is kept very clean and was cool and refreshing after a day at the beach.

The restaurant is very low key - like eating at outside picnic tables. The food is all made from scratch and everything we tried was delicious. The prices were more than reasonable. Service was relaxed and very pleasant.

The location of the hotel allowed us to reach most of the beaches with a short (20 min or less) walk . From this place we could easily walk to Playa Manzanillo, Puerto Angelito, Playa Carrizalillo, Playa Principal and Zicatela.

I would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Paraiso Escodido again. It's combination of size, intimacy, friendliness, cleanliness and location were a winning combination for our family.

  • Liked — Size, Style & Location
  • Disliked — plastic mattress cover
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMOK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

My fiancé and I stayed here in 2008 and have nothing but good to say about the Paraiso. It's located a short walk to the Playa Principal and the Adoquin but is tucked away in quiet little spot where you can get away from the crowds. There's a bank and laundry about 50 metres away and it's also a short walk to the Playa Manzanillo, which is a beautiful little beach where you can relax, catch a boat out to see dolphins (cheers Captain Omar!), etc.
Sergio the owner and the staff were great and the rooms were spotless and have air conditioning (believe me when I say that you'll need aircon if you're there in July).

  • Liked — Staff and aircon!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibliotecaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

Hotel Paraiso Escondido is the best place to stay in Puerto. All rooms have great views, but if you don't mind stairs, stay on the upper level rooms where the views of the bay and sounds of the sea are superb. The hotel is an easy walk to town or a cheap cab ride to the beach. The grounds are lovely and private with many colonial touches such as arches and altars. The manager went out of his way to help us find a car (Economica) and gave us the best advice for restaurants in the area. His English was perfect and all of the staff were kind and helpful. The hotel is immaculately clean:they even iron the sheets. The lovely pool provides a wonderful respite after a day on the beach.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank FlordelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
Hotel Aldea del Bazar
#16 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#3 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso Escondido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso Escondido

Property: Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Address: Calle Union 10 | Street next to Banamex Bank, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Escondido
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paraiso Escondido 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique hotel in Puerto Escondido, just like being in an old Mexican Hacienda. Colorful, peaceful, excellent location, great service, staff and view to the bay. Paraiso Escondido is really your best bet for a great vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paraiso Escondido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Escondido Hotel
Paraiso Escondido Puerto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing