We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Surf Olas Altas
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days. Originally my wife made contact with the hotel as she was already in town staying at a different hotel that was next to a bar. So she chose to switch to this hotel for when I joined her. She was given a good deal on a room with a king size bed and advised me to contact the person at the desk via e-mail to confirm our requirements. I wrote to them but after 24hr had not received a reply so I made the booking via bookings.com as my wife advised it was high season and we needed to make reservations immediately. Upon arrival we were given a room with 2 double beds and told that they could not honour the original offer of the king sized bed because I had made this booking via the web site. In this room there was a poorly functioning A/C and a weak 20Amp breaker that kept blowing on it. After some insistence and much flipping through my spanish/english dictionary they moved us next door to a room with a new A/C. Several hours later when we used the toilet it was apparent that there was a leak in the seal at floor level. Back to the dictionary and a few times requesting repairs by the evening of the second day we had a non leaking toilet. Overall I guess were not to disappointed with the place as it was much cleaner and newer then other places we looked at. Was quiet at night because there were no bars or night clubs close by and had friendly staff. I was able to practice my spanish lots as the majority of the staff including front desk personnel spoke little or no english.

Room Tip: It appears as though the more expensive rooms had safes, and were away from the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 84 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This restaurant is a must visit when you are in Puerto Escondido.We were just there for dinner last night. Now this was not my first visit to the restaurant. I have had lunch there and it was great, but I want to talk about dinner. The service was very quick, professional and friendly. They have a varied menu but what caught my eye was the pasta section. My wife and I had the seafood lasagna, was to die for. I do not know how else to describe it. I am a pasta lover. It was just great. My son-in-law had one of their specials which featured chicken and he really enjoyed it. The special came with soup and desert. Thank god my son-in-law was too full to eat the desert; It was a two layered chocolate cake and it was great.

I will be bringing friends and family back to try out other items on the menu. The dining experience and the service would be rated as excellent.

Rick B

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed at Olas Altas for perhaps 8 years. The staff is always helpful, management and ownership are always nearby. Rooms are always 100%, grounds are perfect, pool always
clean and a wonderful view of the ocean. Resturant in front of the hotel has a full menu and offers food and beverage service to the pool. They always manage our special requests without any problems.

We are booked for Jan. 2014 and anxious to return.

Cheers, MN Longtimers to PE

Room Tip: Just ask to see the rooms. They have several options. Wireless is nice, allows us contact when nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We arrived in Puerto Escondido without reservations in late November. Our taxi driver recommended the Hotel Surf Olas Altas and we were not disappointed. Good price, nice clean room with TV across the street from the beach. Good restaurant on site and many close by. They have an excellent pool and well maintained grounds. Management is attentive and professional. Zicatela has a great vibe and wonderful sunsets.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tamale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank azuleja57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Irbis_od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Josué R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Suites Villasol
Hotel Suites Villasol
#9 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#11 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
Hotel Paraiso Escondido
#14 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
Hotelito Swiss Oasis
#4 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casamar Suites Hotel
Casamar Suites Hotel
#5 of 47 in Puerto Escondido
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surf Olas Altas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surf Olas Altas

Address: Av del Moro No 310, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range: $46 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surf Olas Altas 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Olas Altas es un hotel de 4 estrellas localizado en Puerto Escondido. La Playa Zicatela, con una longitud de 3 km, cautiva a los visitantes y ha sido considerada como la playa de los surfistas nacionales y extranjeros, ya que por sus grandes olas se ubica dentro de los tres primeros lugares para la practica de este deporte a nivel mundial. Sin embargo, Puerto Escondido tambien es para aquellos que no practican el surf. Es mas, Puerto Escondido cuenta con una gran diversidad de atracciones en eco-turismo y aventuras extremas, pero mas que nada familiares. De las 7 playas en Puerto Escondido, solo 2 no son nadables; Playa Manzanillo, Playa Principal y Playa Carizalillo estan a solo 5 minutos del Hotel y son precisamente familiares. Para mencionar algunas de las atracciones d eco-turismo: Observacion de delfines y animales maritimos, Pesca Deportiva (Pez Vela/Dorado), Cascada de la Reforma, la Laguna Manialtepec (con su fenomeno de la fosforescencia despues de la temporada de lluvias), Playa Escobilla (famosa por el desove y la liberacion de tortugas maritimas), Zona Cafetalera, Aguas Termales, Mazunte con Punta Cometa (las mejores puestas de sol de la region), Zipolite & mucho mas (descubre Puerto Escondido en oaxaca.Travel). Para los aventureros habra el paracaidismo en temporadas altas, la tirolesa, tours en bicicletas o en caballo por varias zonas naturales. Desde el Hotel Surf Olas Altas, usted se podra trasladar facilmente a todas las playas y actividades. Los huespedes reciben el mejor servicio integral de calidad y calidez, 24 horas, del amable personal en el area de recepcion. Las confortables habitaciones cuentan con todos los estandares de un hotel de 4 estrellas. Cuenta con 4 tipos de habitaciones: estandar, ejecutivas, suite (las unicas con vista directa al mar y cocineta integrada), junior suite (las habitaciones king size, para hasta 8 personas entre 2 recamaras). Se Organizan eventos sociales, bodas, lunas de miel, conferencias, congresos, capacitaciones, etc. En los salones de eventos (2) o en el area de jardin y terraza. La alberca semi-olimpica cuenta con chapoteadero para ninos menores, palapas con camastros, servicio de bebidas y alimentos y una vista apreciable al mar. En Surf Olas Altas encontraras reposo y bienestar; un viaje inolvidable para toda la familia. Habitaciones y Servicios del Hotel: - 61 habitaciones (47 Estandar, 6 Ejecutivas, 4 Junior Suite, 2 Suite) - Todas las habitaciones cuentan con: Aire Acondicionado, Cafetera, Television, Telefono, Wifi, Mesa de Escritorio, Bano completo, Caja de Seguridad, habitaciones con balcon, Amabilidades - Junior Suites: 2 recamaras cada c/ camas matrimoniales. Especialmente para familias o grupos mayores. - Suite: con vista al mar, 1 cama King Size & Cocineta (equipada) - Servicios del Hotel: Estacionamiento vigilado, Lavanderia ($), Boutique, Restaurante Olas Altas, Alberca Semi-Olimpica con servicio de Bar&Snacks, Salones de Eventos ($), Elevador, Recepcion 24 hrs, Transportacion Aeropuerto-Hotel / Hotel-Aeropuerto (de Puerto Escondido), Room-Service, Wifi, Amabilidades. - Habitaciones y areas de no fumadores - Familias y Ninos bienvenidos, Gay friendly, Mascotas no permitidas - Aceptamos American Express, Visa & Mastercard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surf Olas Altas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing