We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best overall value for friendliness, location and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ben-Zaa

Hotel Ben-Zaa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Escondido
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ben-Zaa
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Oaxaca, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best overall value for friendliness, location and food”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in 16 different lodgings in Puerto Escondido during the past 14 years andhave finally settled on the Ben-Zaa as my favorite because of consistently good, home cooked food, best Happy Hour in town, large rooms with ocean breeze, clean swimming pool and airy patio where guests gather.. The location on a knoll near Playa Manzanilla makes air conditioning not necessary. Personal service is best I've found in Puerto. Taxis go past this hotel every few minutes and cost less than $2 to any of the beaches, night clubs, etc. anywhere in the area. Ben-Zaa is a great, all-around value for budget-conscious travelers.

Room Tip: I prefer oceanside for quietness and breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapulin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had the evening special meal.It was the best pork I have ever had in puerto. Also great salad with fresh beet slices and fresh pepper wedges. Yum. We will be checking the schedule for our next meal there! We went to the rooftop to watch the sunset. Excellent unobstructed view. Had dinner on second floor patio.

Room Tip: Restaurant review only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I thought that this place was great value and in a top location. In between the centre and main beach and the best beach (Manzanillo). The rooms were clean and comfortable however they were looking a bit run down. The pool was well maintained and an added bonus. Although never having eaten at the restaurant the dinners looked like good value and quite tasty with a freshly made daily special. The cocktails also looked good. The atmosphere was nice however the american owner and their regular guests seemed to congregate around the bar most nights, this may be a bit intimidating for the other guests if not speaking english. It did seem a bit cliquey. Although, for those that make an effort to integrate and eat at the restaurant, i'm sure they would be very welcoming. The owner seemed like a nice bloke. If planning on fishing in mexico Puerto is the place, very good value and an excellent experience. Also definatly worth trying some surf lessons. As a complete beginner i was able to stand up within a few attempts with some excellent instruction. On playa principal go to one of the life guard boxes and ask for godo or his phone number, he was excellent and good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were recommended this place by a travel guide, which usually has great recommendations.
This place was pretty awful from the start. The staff were rude, asking us on more than one occasion if we were planning on staying until we had said, as they wanted to offer the rooms to waiting guests. We had made a reservation with them beforehand and found this annoying.
The bathroom had mouse droppings since we got there, and were not cleaned before we left.
The towels were so old they were disintegrating, as was some of the furniture.

We were not given an introduction to the place, and noticed there was a Christmas dinner happening for the guests (we assumed) but were not given concrete details when asked what was going on.

The only nice thing about his place is the location- as it is between zicatela and manazanillo/carrizalillo beaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelsonville,ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Have stayed many times and will stay many more!! It is clean safe and without question the best food drinks and happy hour in town!! Sunset from the roof top holds some of my best memories of mexico!! The pool and staff are fantastic can't wait to get back there!! Viva Mexixo!
!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74sweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

The owners were extremely friendly. Most of the guests were English speaking and seemed to know each other; at least in the winter many of the guests come year after year. Loved the swimming pool and the view from the roof.

I had two reservations: the first is that there is just a very dim light above the bed so reading after dark is impossible. The biggest problem I had was my room was on the ground floor facing the restaurant/bar which is the focus of the social scene at the hotel so you could hear every conversation from morning until the bar closed at 11 p.m. So if you want peace and quiet in your room, book a room on the side opposite the restaurant/bar.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — Noise from restaurant/bar
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank metasequoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This is my third visit to Puerto Escondido and the Ben Zaa....and definitely not my last!

I wanted to experience a part of Mexico and its culture that is not as heavily influenced by tourists as it is in other parts of the country. I found it here!

The Ben Zaa is an affordable, safe and clean hotel with a friendly atmosphere. It reminds me of the TV series "Cheers" ...a place where everyone knows your name. There are many people who are regular guests, come every year and it often feels like old home week each time I visit. Steve and Mariae Posing, owners of the property, wear many hats..local guide, personal chaueffeur, nurse, chef and bartender..to name a few. They make me feel like I'm part of their extended family which I am eternally grateful for.

E.Yeomans - Banff, Alberta Canada

  • Liked — Clean, affordable, safe and popular with Mexican clientele.
  • Disliked — lack of amenities e.g. not enough towels, hangers,
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissEmBanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Escondido hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#16 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mozart y Macondo
Villa Mozart y Macondo
#12 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Tucan
Hotel El Tucan
#20 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rockaway
Hotel Rockaway
#8 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabanas de Playa Acali
Cabanas de Playa Acali
#35 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bungalows Santa Cruz
Bungalows Santa Cruz
#24 of 48 in Puerto Escondido
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ben-Zaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ben-Zaa

Property: Hotel Ben-Zaa
Address: 303 Calle Puerto Angellito 3A | Sector Hidalgo, Puerto Escondido 71980, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Puerto Escondido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ben-Zaa... has 32 clean, comfortable rooms, with balconies, ocean view and poolside rooms, gorgeous rooftop views of the entire town, garden areas with palapas, both child and adult swimming pools and enclosed parking. The hotel is conveniently located for easy access to the airport, shopping and four beaches. The Hotel courtyard features the charming Restaurant-Bar Escondido, where International chef Steve Posing creates his masterpieces, allowing diners the choice of Mexican or North American cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Zaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing