We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here's the plan for a perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Here's the plan for a perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I admit it - we have stayed at Calcot many times and love it. Some people don't get it but perhaps they just don't know how to get the most out of this wonderful place, so here's the deal:

1) Business people, loving couples and grandparents: ask for a room in the main building. Either opt for room service breakfast or go early (if you can get out of bed!). Book a treatment in the Spa and go there at some point between 10.30 and 2.30pm, then explore the Cotswolds before coming back perhaps to enjoy an evening soak with champagne in the outdoor hot tub (after 5.45 when the kids should be well clear of the Spa). Enjoy grown up cocktails and dinner in the Conservatory (we're not completely raving about the new refurbishment and the loss of some favourites from the menu but equally we weren't at all disappointed and can see the advantages of all-day availability of drinks and high quality nibbles). Stay 2 or 3 days - it will feel like 2 weeks.

2) Families with children - arrive in time for children's swimming (3.45-5.15). There is a real point in having swimming limited to this time. It allows adults and Spa members some well deserved peace and quiet for the rest of the day and it tires out the kids just at the point where they are very happy to have tea and go to bed, leaving you able to enjoy dinner together with the safeguard of baby monitoring or a wonderful team of babysitters at less than London rates. Our kids have always loved the Playzone and any child who likes being with others, doing fun painting or activities or (when older) playing on the Xbox or watching films in the mini cinema should enjoy themselves, while you retreat to the Spa (see above). Breakfast will be busy but the staff really know how to look after families and, if you ask, will do everything they can to help. Vacate your room straight after breakfast to allow the housekeeping staff in but then return later and enjoy more sleep! Get some fresh air in the early afternoon by going out to visit one of the local attractions. There are so many places to go and things to do that we are still finding new things, years after our first visit.

Tea for the kids is a 3 course affair, with several choices and bread and drinks are freely available to you as soon as you arrive. If your child is completely desperate, ask politely for pasta and it shouldn't be a problem, but, honestly, the choice is so good that there really is something for everyone. You will see several dads hoping for sticky toffee pudding from their child's plate. Portions can be small for older children but, again, ask and you will find that the kitchen will accommodate a hungry pre-teen. Enjoy a pint or a G&T while they eat. If you really can't cope having dinner a deux and have to have the children eating with you, stay in the Gumstool. There is nothing worse than seeing bored or tired small children having to sit through dinner in the Conservatory falling asleep or glued to their DS. By the way, if you can't stir from the hotel but want your child to colour in pictures, do lots of practice for their 11+ exams which will happen in 2 years' time, sing at top volume or just run round manically, for the sake of others, please let them do it in their room or in the Playzone, rather than taking over the whole of the lounge.

A black pepper martini before dinner and a chance to talk to one's significant other in peace and an adult atmosphere is a wonderful treat for a usually-harassed mum.

3) Most importantly, if you think nothing is good enough for you or your child - that you (or they) are the centre of the universe, number one priority and so should be able to take over the pool, eat whatever you want to eat at any time of the day or night, park immediately outside your room with no consideration for safety and show no consideration for others because you paying, JUST DON'T COME!! Everyone else, save up and enjoy........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpaStruckSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    173
    65
    22
    7
See reviews for
249
279
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a truly wonderful mid week break in February, taken aback by the excellent staff, facilities and room. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome and very helpful staff, who tried to answer our many questions. We loved having the pub on site and can see the real potential for those with children. We were worried about Calcot being taken over by children during half term but there is enough space, that couples without can also have time on their own, especially in the spa area. The spa was brilliant - an excellent design and a truly relaxing area to be in. The pool is large and the steam room/sauna room, designed well to nip in and out of when relaxing upstairs. All in all, a wonderful stay. We would love to come back one day.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonflower40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The perfect combination for families of good solid service ~ lovely accommodation and good old fashioned warm and cheerful service. Spa treatments were amazing! My massage was off the planet ~ I could barely walk or see straight afterwards.
The children loved the pool and the lighting ~ and it was beautiful in the evening.

Dinner and breakfast were both exceptional. We liked the cosy, intimate atmosphere of the newly refurbished conservatory restaurant and reception rooms.

Calcot Manor makes for a very relaxing, restful stay which is perfect for young families and couples alike. Romantic, peaceful and perfectly placed for a truly relaxing rest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Calcot manor is the perfect retreat. We were fortunate enough to spend a day and night there. I can't describe how amazing the therapists were in the spa, very deserved of their accolades. I thoroughly recommend your visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with friends and the first room we were allocated smelt musty and damp/wet. We were not in the main house/building. I appreciate it is in the countryside but there were also spiders everywhere. We called reception and they apologised promptly offered us a new room which was in the main building and just beautiful! It did have a weird hum (like an extracts fan type noise) but that didn't bother us.

The meals were amazing in both the formal restaurant and casual bar/pub. I did find a bug in my soup (ugh!) and as a goodwill gesture was offered a cocktail or wine. This didn't put any of us off the fact though that the rest of the food was world class and we would stay there again just for the food!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlandboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a one night stay on the Thursday before Easter. If I had spent more time looking at the hotel's website I would have realised just how family friendly it is, particularly for an Easter break, and would have been prepared for the very large number of toddlers. We arrived late morning and were shown to a very nice, spacious and comfortable room (York) in the main building. It was well appointed with a large bathroom with bath and shower. The room was quiet with a view over the fields. We then went into Tetbury for a stroll round the shops (don't miss the Highgrove outlet) and lunch. Tetbury is a pleasant rather upmarket town. After lunch we went to the spa, enjoyed a relaxing swim in the indoor pool followed by a dip in the outdoor hot tub and a visit to the first floor steam room, sauna and relaxation room. All very nice and a good standard. So far we had seen only a small number of people; hotel guests and local members of the spa. At 3.45 (when the spa opens to children) about a dozen toddlers arrived and the noise levels rose. We retreated to the lounge for tea, where a couple of toddlers were running about. The lounge has an open fire and was rather cosy given the cold weather. Rather than eat dinner in the hotel we drove through Tetbury towards Cirencester and ate at the Trouble House, which despite its appearance serves very good food with friendly service. The following morning we had breakfast in the Conservatory, which is a delightfully light and airy space. There was a good selection on the buffet and a menu for cooked items. We had the full English breakfast which was good but a small portion. The majority of the tables were occupied by families with small children which created a rather noisy atmosphere. After lunch we did the marked walk round the fields which was most enjoyable. The service throughout our stay was good and friendly. We very much enjoyed our stay but next time we want to stay in the area we would probably head for somewhere less child friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have just returned from spending a weekend at Calcot Manor in celebration of my 40th birthday. It is a hotel I have heard great reviews about and despite the rather high premium to stay there we pushed the boat out on this occasion.

It was worth every penny. From the moment we arrived, we were met and given a tour of the hotel, was shown our room and was offered all our luggage to our room and the parking of the car. Champagne was given to us for my birthday and throughout the stay, the staff were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. I felt that the hotel were appreciative of my business rather than the normal standard you get from a lot of hotels these days.

The little things from the homemade cookies in our room to our towels being changed twice a day just added to the whole luxury and experience and all in all the premium we paid was quite reasonable for the experience.

Thank you Calcot. We will be returning!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe double in the main hotel. Nice and quiet for those without children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB1973_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
6.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Property: Calcot Manor
Address: | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing