We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Calcot Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Calcot Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a one night stay on the Thursday before Easter. If I had spent more time looking at the hotel's website I would have realised just how family friendly it is, particularly for an Easter break, and would have been prepared for the very large number of toddlers. We arrived late morning and were shown to a very nice, spacious and comfortable room (York) in the main building. It was well appointed with a large bathroom with bath and shower. The room was quiet with a view over the fields. We then went into Tetbury for a stroll round the shops (don't miss the Highgrove outlet) and lunch. Tetbury is a pleasant rather upmarket town. After lunch we went to the spa, enjoyed a relaxing swim in the indoor pool followed by a dip in the outdoor hot tub and a visit to the first floor steam room, sauna and relaxation room. All very nice and a good standard. So far we had seen only a small number of people; hotel guests and local members of the spa. At 3.45 (when the spa opens to children) about a dozen toddlers arrived and the noise levels rose. We retreated to the lounge for tea, where a couple of toddlers were running about. The lounge has an open fire and was rather cosy given the cold weather. Rather than eat dinner in the hotel we drove through Tetbury towards Cirencester and ate at the Trouble House, which despite its appearance serves very good food with friendly service. The following morning we had breakfast in the Conservatory, which is a delightfully light and airy space. There was a good selection on the buffet and a menu for cooked items. We had the full English breakfast which was good but a small portion. The majority of the tables were occupied by families with small children which created a rather noisy atmosphere. After lunch we did the marked walk round the fields which was most enjoyable. The service throughout our stay was good and friendly. We very much enjoyed our stay but next time we want to stay in the area we would probably head for somewhere less child friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 771 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have just returned from spending a weekend at Calcot Manor in celebration of my 40th birthday. It is a hotel I have heard great reviews about and despite the rather high premium to stay there we pushed the boat out on this occasion.

It was worth every penny. From the moment we arrived, we were met and given a tour of the hotel, was shown our room and was offered all our luggage to our room and the parking of the car. Champagne was given to us for my birthday and throughout the stay, the staff were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. I felt that the hotel were appreciative of my business rather than the normal standard you get from a lot of hotels these days.

The little things from the homemade cookies in our room to our towels being changed twice a day just added to the whole luxury and experience and all in all the premium we paid was quite reasonable for the experience.

Thank you Calcot. We will be returning!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe double in the main hotel. Nice and quiet for those without children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB1973_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for one night at the beginning of Dec, hubby had arranged it as a birthday treat. Had a lovely time, found it to be very relaxing and really enjoyed the pool and spa treatments which were great.
The outdoor hot tub is a real wow, with the open fire.
Dinner in the Conservatory was also lovely, there were a lot of yummy things on the menu and we had trouble choosing.
Room was nice too, great size and fab bathroom. A little tired in places eg damp patch on the ceiling and some peeling wallpaper which is a shame but did not spoil our stay.
All in all had a lovely stay and left feeling relaxed and recharged.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just visited Calcot for a night and dinner in this delightful part of the country near to Tetbury. The staff were delightful and helpful. The ambience of the hotel was homely but with a modern twist. The restaurant conservatory and the lounge and bar area had very recently been refurbished in a beautiful style between traditional and modern but remained very welcoming. The Gumstool was traditional English pub style but comfortable and well done. can't comment on the standard of food but got the impression it was of a good standard and the pub catered well for families as well as couples and singles.
The Spa was beautiful and had a good selection of facilities and activities but if you want any sort of treatment ,massage etc book at least a week in advance.
The food in the main restaurant was beautifully served and prepared . The portions were generous and the choice of food was superb. My only criticism of it was that although new and very flexible the menu was confusing and took some time to decipher and choose. There was an emphasis on locally produced food which in these times of worry about sources was excellent.
Breakfast was again lovely with a buffet style for fruit cereal and breads and if you wished you could choose from a menu for cooked food.
The rooms were nicely decorated and a good size. The heating was on all night which didn't suit my wife and but with a little work I'm sure we could have got round this issue and I'm absolutely sure the staff would have sorted this out.
Useful to have the fitness track and would recommend the hotel for families as well as couples.

Room Tip: There are rooms I the main house and outside. Some may prefer to be in house especially when it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezziet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recommended by several friends, this did indeed prove to be the ideal place to take the family (children & grandchildren) to celebrate my birthday. Just a short report as so much praise has justifiably been heaped upon Calcott Manor, but special mention of the friendly & willing approach at reception, the tireless & cheerful patience of the Playzone staff, who mopped up a grandchildren on numerous occasions, the Conservatory Restaurant & its Manager David - who works so hard & provided us with a memorable birthday banquet and finally Management, represented, on our weekend, by assisitant manager Ben, who took the trouble to line up a big screen in the Business centre for us to watch Wales v England Rugby (nearly spoiled my w/e, but Welsh son in law, Andy, insufferably cheery afterwards!!). A truly outstanding place, with so many charming & thoughtful extras (many without extra charge!).

Room Tip: Our room Gatcombe was excellent, a were Badminton & Ozzleworth as family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Whilst our kitchen was being refitted, we decided to take a weekend away from dust and take-away food by disappearing to the Cotswolds. A two hour drive away from London, Calcot Manor is near the charming village of Tetbury, complete with its plentiful antique shops.
On arrival, we were booked into a generous size family suite, which contained a separate room with a bunk bed, much to the joy of our daughter, who spent a good half an hour
The bathroom is well appointed with own brand aromatherapy-themed toiletries, in joyful quantities.
Making the most of the two night stay away, we dined in The Gumstool for the first night with our daughter and very much enjoyed the food. Service was prompt and the atmosphere was relaxed, remarkably child -friendly.
Our Saturday involved releasing our daughter into the monitored Playzone whilst we enjoyed a break, a very fine lunch at the Blue Zucchini in Tetbury and then swimming at the luxurious Calcot Spa, which caters for non-residents as well as hotel guests. This was a great Saturday out which ended in babysitting for our daughter and a fine dining experience at the upmarket Conservatory. The cocktail which preceded our meal was particularly notable as the barman has considerable charisma and skill. The food was above average and service excellent.
Leaving on the Sunday was tough but had to be done.
We much enjoyed our stay and are certain to return. Also, kindly accept this review as a note of thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: Choose Family Suite with bunk beds for the little one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucidboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I'm quite demanding when it comes to a weekend away, as I don't get it often and know i gotta pay the price to completely recuperate.
When we arrived at Calcot Manor (at night) we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful buildings, lights, and staff welcome. They helped us straight away bringing all luggage up to the room and were very nice.
The room was a large standard (room name: York), which was good sized, with big bathroom (large bath + large shower). The bed was unbelievable and the first night there was wow. Low ceilings, but it seems that would be the standard for rooms in the main building. Rooms outside the main building seem to have higher roof-type ceilings.
Food was very good (breakfast was great), spa treatments were excellent. The pool is quite casual but good sized, perfect for a good swim. Changing rooms were clean, big and functional.
Only downside, I would have appreciated cotton slippers in the room (none) and cotton slippers at the spa (instead of plastic ones that had been worn before). And - breakfast was a notch down on Sunday compared to Saturday for some reason - minor but noticed.

Calcot Manor is not an obvious bling 5 star place. It's a real countryside retreat with simple yet nice interiors, 5 star friendly service (really), delicious food, and a great spa, on beautiful grounds. Batteries recharged after 48 hours, no hassle.
Enough for me. Possibly a bit pricey, but worth it. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
15.9 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
610 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,387 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 7 in Tetbury
437 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cowley Manor
Cowley Manor
#1 of 1 in Cowley
899 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcot Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcot Manor

Address: Near terbury | Gloucestershire, Calcot, Tetbury GL8 8YJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury > Calcot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range: $302 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calcot Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cotswolds are lovely! Tumbling hills, lavender horizons, wildlife, walks and waterparks - they're all on offer, and what's more, they're all on the doorstep of Calcot and Calcot Spa. With an indoor pool, secluded (lavender-lined) courtyard, hot tub and log fire, gymnasium and multiple treatment rooms stocked with the best therapists and the best products, Calcot is renowned as one of the most luxurious spa hotels in the Cotswolds. 35 bedrooms and they're all beautiful - we guarantee that bit. We've suites in all shapes and sizes and two-floored (separate bedroomed) cottages - ideal for families. All within a 220-acre meadowland that has lots to do (or not - that's up to you). Tennis courts, climbing frames, outdoor pool, running routes, cycle tracks, a disc golf course and a woodland gymnasium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calcot Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcot Manor Hotel Calcot
Calcot Manor Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing