We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Trengrove Cottage, south facing, beautiful views, peaceful, traditional yet contemporary!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trengrove Cottage, south facing, beautiful views, peaceful, traditional yet contemporary!
Dimmable lighting, original artwork, Smart TV with Netflix, BBC iPlayer, ITVHub and much more.
For a family holiday or long weekend, the perfect location to visit all Cornwall has to offer!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Trengrove Cottage, south facing, beautiful views, peaceful, traditional yet contemporary!
Dimmable lighting, original artwork, Smart TV with Netflix, BBC iPlayer, ITVHub and much more.
For a family holiday or long weekend, the perfect location to visit all Cornwall has to offer!
After long walks on the beach, come home to the wood burner for cosy evenings by the fire.
Open plan living and dining.
Open plan kitchen-diner lends a great sociable atmosphere. Cook and chat with friends over the bar.
Beautiful views in all directions.
Trengrove has all you need for great dining in a traditional Cornish cottage atmosphere.
South facing, bright, open plan sitting room and dining room,
Open plan sitting room, dining room and kitchen.
We wrote 'Our Cornwall', full of our favourite places, tips and info, as a guide for our guests.
'Our Cornwall', helpful local guide, full of tips, info and photos.
Wood burner for cosy evenings by the fire.
Smart TV, with Netflix, BBCiPlayer, ITVHub, All4, etc. Variety of books and over 200 dvds!
BOSE SoundLink, just pair with your device via Bluetooth or AUX for all your favourite music!
Watch a film, play some games, read, or simply relax with a glass of wine by the fireside.
A variety of books and TV/DVD/radio plus an extensive film library with over 200 dvds!
A collection of various books: fact, fiction, biographies, classics, cook books and art books.
South facing, bright, with lovely views in every direction.
South facing, with beautiful views.
Our Guest Manual answers any questions.
Send some free old fashioned postcards instead of a text!
All guests receive one of our Shopping-Bags-For-Life to take home!
Wide collection of cookery books, culinary inspiration for all tastes!
For breakfast, lunch and dinner you will find wonderful local produce on offer.
Trengrove really is a great cottage for culinary enthusiasts, a great kitchen, very well equipped.
Washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge-freezer, toaster, microwave, and all cookware.
We keep a small larder of basic requirements.
Double oven, grill, induction hob, all you need.
Trengrove has all you need to cook up a feast!
Practical kitchen and fantastic local produce from nearby farm shops, butchers and fish market.
Smoothie maker and blender.
All the 'tools' you need in the kitchen to cook up a Cornish feast for the family and friends!
All the tools you need in the kitchen to cook up a Cornish feast for the family and friends!
All the pots and pans you'll need to cook up a Cornish feast for the family and friends!
Induction hob and double oven with grill.
1½ bowl sink and dishwasher.
Wake to a gorgeous view! Trengrove's double with ensuite.
Trengrove's double bedroom with ensuite shower and toilet.
Egyptian cotton bath robes and towels all provided.
Egyptian cotton bath robes.
Original artwork through the whole cottage.
Ensuite with sower, toilet, basin and heated towel rail.
The ensuite shower room.
Ensuite with sower, toilet, basin and heated towel rail.
Trengrove's Egyptian cotton bath and hand towels.
Trengrove's second double bedroom.
Breakfast in bed!
Each bedroom has its own TV with DVD and radio. Enjoy a movie in bed from our extensive DVD library.
Trengrove's Egyptian cotton bathrobes.
Wake up to a gorgeous view!
Trengrove's Egyptian cotton bathrobes and some local reading.
Original Victorian ornamental fireplace.
Twin room with adult size bunk-beds.
With full size bunk-beds the twin room is also great for older children or adults.
All bedrooms with TV, DVD and radio. Choose a children's film from our extensive DVD library.
Family bathroom with shower, bath, heated towel rail, charger sockets, toilet.
Family bathroom with shower, bath, heated towel rail, charger sockets, toilet.
Family bathroom with shower, bath, heated towel rail, charger sockets, toilet.
Ample off-road private parking.
Welcome to Trengrove!
Afternoon tea in the garden with scones, jam and Cornish clotted cream!
Private enclosed garden, perfect for a summer al fresco breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Private enclosed garden, perfect for a summer al fresco breakfast, lunch or dinner.
A quiet corner to relax with a drink and a good book.
The well kept garden provides colour all year round.
Welcome to Trengrove Cottage at Hill House.
Looe's wide sandy beach and Banjo Pier, location for the Looe Music Festival every September.
Looe Beach
Looe Harbour
Looe's Banjo Pier.
View from Looe's Banjo Pier.
Fishing boats and West Looe viewed from East Looe.
Summer evening on Looe Harbour
Looe beach.
East Looe quay, the fishing boats bring in their catch for the local restaurants.
The South West Coast Path stretches for miles with breathtaking scenery.
West Looe viewed from East Looe quay.
Looking eastwards towards Rame Head from Looe beach. The Rame Peninsula is perfect for walks.
West Looe viewed from East Looe quay. Take a fishing trip from here or hire a boat.
The Looe Estuary.
Looe's Banjo Pier and and St George's Island - also known as Looe Island.
Polperro harbour, lovely for a summer stroll.
Nearby Polperro, old fishing port. Visit the 'Blue Peter' pub on the harbour.
The Eden Project - the world's largest indoor rainforest!
Golitha Falls. A series of spectacular cascades in a steep-sided valley gorge. Beautiful all year!
Golitha Falls and the ancient woodland through which they flow is a National Nature Reserve.
Whitsand Bay's long, wide sandy beach.
Whitsand Bay.
Whitsand Bay's long, wide sandy beach.
Whitsand Bay's long, wide sandy beach.
Heading east on the South West Coast Path.
Heading east on the South West Coast Path.
Heading west on the South West Coast Path towards Polruan.
Lantic Bay on the South West Coast path.
Sunset at Lantic Bay.
Heading west on the South West Coast Path towards Polruan and Fowey.
Heading east on the South West Coast Path towards Talland Bay, Polperro and Looe.
The South West Coast Path, view to Lantic Bay.
The South West Coast Path, view to Lantic Bay.
Heading east on the South West Coast Path towards Talland Bay, Polperro and Looe.
View from the South West Coast Path to Lantic Bay beach.
Heading West towards Fowey and Polruan on the South West Coast Path.
Lantic Bay beach.
Duloe Stone Circle in the neighbouring village.
Duloe Stone Circle in the neighbouring village.
Duloe Stone Circle in the neighbouring village.
Restormel Castle near Lostwithiel.
Lanhydrock House.
Lanhydrock House and Gardens.
Cothele House and Gardens.
Lanhydrock House and Gardens.
Golitha Falls in winter. A truly beautiful and magical location all year round.
Rame Head Chapel (first licensed in 1397). Rame Head is a coastal headland near Whitsand Bay.
View from the chapel at Rame Head.
The Chapel at Rame Head, first licensed in 1397.
Below Rame Head Chapel.
Bodmin Moor.
The Cheesewring on Bodmin Moor.
The Tamar River near Cothele House.
The Tamar River near Cothele House.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Duloe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
NickSarah...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Love love loved Ian's place! It is clean, cosy, beautifully decorated...I could go on and on. It was the perfect place to escape the city and enjoy the serenity of the Cornish countryside. The cottage is well equipped which meant we happily spent one of the nights in watching a DVD and cooking a home cooked meal. Ian provided us with great recommendations and activities to fill our weekend. I would happily recommend this place to anyone and hope to be back soon. Thank you!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djoliver
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb hidden gem”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Trengrove Cottage this weekend gone, and had a fantastic weekend. We travelled with 4 adults, 1 small child and 2 small dogs.

The cottage is hidden in a secluded hamlet a couple of miles from Looe, and was the perfect location to take small child and a couple of dogs away for the weekend.

Looe is a lovely town, but Polperro is a lovely dog friendly harbour town (we appreciated the little tram service so our 2yr old didn't have to walk too far into the village), and Talland Bay which lies between Looe and Polperro is a great secluded dog friendly beach, with rockpools and a great cafe.

The cottage was superb, with everything we needed for the weekend. A hearty recommandation - many thanks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richieff...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage in lovely setting”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at this wonderful cottage and would very much recommend to anyone wishing to explore the delights of Cornwall.

The cottage itself is beautifully maintained and it's clear considerable effort has gone into making your stay as pleasurable and hassle-free as possible. There is a detailed welcome guide to provide you with any specifics about the cottage you might need, as well as information on the local area - not to mention the team that's just a phone call away should there be anything else you might need. On top of this you'll find a host of other published books and maps to plan your days if you'd not had the chance already. The kitchen is well equipped and the local Spar grocery in Pelynt is larger than it appears from the outside. There are plenty of larger food outlets further afield if desired.

In terms of activities, we particularly enjoy our walks and had great fun exploring the local coastal paths. We did a circular walk starting at Polruan and going round the coast to check out the beach at Lantic bay, before heading inland to meet the river Fowey then back for a deserved pint at Polruan. Polperro is also well worth a visit. Whilst the town itself can err on the side of being a little kitschy, a hike East along the coastal path rewards you with some wonderful scenery. There's also a few routes around the cottage which'll treat you to rolling hills and woodland, with details included in the welcome guide.

When looking for a holiday getaway, it can be tricky to find a balance between somewhere that's nice to stay, which is in a good location and that is also good value. Trengrove Cottage strikes this balance very well indeed and we would certainly recommend to anyone interested in holidaying in the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money
Liked least: Set booking periods (although this is understandable)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaramfar
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage with beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Ian's cottage for 3 nights. It was the perfect location for a short weekend break, with lots of lovely places nearby to visit. The cottage itself has beautiful traditional features but has been converted into a very stylish and desirable cottage. The garden and surrounding fields were also enviable and well maintained. Ian was a very helpful host and I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who fancied a holiday to Cornwall.
Hope to visit again soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueFrog6...
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a long weekend at Trengrove with my two dogs and some friends. It is a truly beautiful house with history & period features but will all the modern home comforts you could wish for. The house is tucked out of the way in lovely countryside but easily within reach of Looe & the local attractions.. the garden is stunning and I would struggle to find any negatives or suggestions on how the cottage could be improved. Ian was a helpful host who seemed to be always available & willing to answer questions or to help make sure our stay was perfect. I hope to return to Trengrove in the near future and my only hesitation in giving such a good review is that I dont want it to be fully booked when I next want to stay there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable holiday in Cornwall”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Trefanny Hill House. Our accommodation was very comfortable and everything we needed was on hand. The information provided for us regarding directions and local points of interest plus accessing groceries etc was excellent. We also appreciated your brother visiting us to explain the workings of the towel rails.

I would thoroughly recommend Trefanny Hill House to any of my friends should they be travelling to Cornwall.

Thank you once again for helping to make our stay in Cornwall a very pleasant occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the authenticity of the cottage, comfort and situation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenMidd...
Middx
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful!”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hill House Trengrove for 4 days with my husband and two younger children aged 14 and 11. The cottage has been renovated by the new owners and all I can say is wow! What a change to the appearance and ambience of the cottage. Fresh "clean" colours fabrics and upholstery has made what was once a dull, dark cottage a light and modern one whilst still retaining it's old world charm. Wifi was a welcome addition too! The cottage has all amenities that you would need to make for a comfortable and lovely stay. All the bedrooms are comfortable and one is an en suite too. The downstairs bathroom/shower room has also been modernised. The location of the cottage just 10 minutes from Looe and Polperro is a plus. The hamlet of Trefanny Hill is a peaceful, tranquil one, exactly what you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of London/city life. Thoroughly recommend and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing