We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Week at Black Berry Barn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Lanwarnick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Lanwarnick
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Week at Black Berry Barn”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our second stay with Jo and Mike. Last year we spent a week with the family in Hob Nob, and when we had to make a late decision for a week this year, we decided to return and try one of the other cottages.
We were not dissappointed - the welcome was as if we were old friends. It was great to have a welcome basket of food and drink, especially the scones, cream and jam - a great way to start the break.
Black Berry Barn is very comfortably furnished with everything a couple or family could want. All fixtures and fittings are of the highest standard.
Old Lanwarnick will remain on our list of places to holiday
Thank you to Jo and Mike

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Rainbow Cottage for a few days and we also bought my wife's horse with us. Jo and Mike run a truly five star establishment. The cottages are very well designed , very comfortable and well appointed. Ours had lovely views over the surrounding countryside. Jo is utterly tireless and so helpful. She went riding with my wife each day to show her the best routes and on one day we boxed up and took the horses to the beach. Unfortunately it rained every time they rode but that's what you have to risk if you holiday in GB. We would recommend Lanwarnick to anyone who wants a comfortable, stylish base from which to explore this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x8mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

With a choice of accommodation, we have chosen Rainbow Cottage twice now for our week long stay. First time to Cornwall in 2012 and re-booked within a month of returning home for June 2013 and weve been back four days. The record to re-book for 2014 was 36 hours.

We have a two year old Cocker Spaniel, whose accommodation is free and made to feel very welcome and at home and had we have had a horse, this destination will even cater for this.

So much dedication, determination and attention to detail by Mike and Jo has gone into restoring the properties at Old Lanwarnick and has been improved with re-decorated bedrooms since our last stay.

Lets start from the booking process, well, that's easy, the website has availability and its live so its easy to confirm your booking straightaway.

Pre-arrival, well thats easy too, pre-book a massage, organise champagne breakfasts for those special occasion and you can order your shopping for your stay online and have it delivered on the day of your arrival - this is fabulous for us as we live in Lancashire. The beers were cold everything was waiting for us in the fridge for when we arrived.

Arrival - perfect - a smile and a big welcome from Mike and Jo, the owners who show you around and show you how things work. You do get instructions for all the gadgets and gizmos in the property. the 3-d tv, the playstation, the cooker, dishwasher, washer dryer - anything that has an on/off switch. a welcome pack with goodies in it, i.e., bacon, cornish cream teas, eggs, bread etc, just to get you started.

It took our dog no time at home to settle in. Open plan with wood floors so perfect for dogs. downstairs at the lower ground level is where you find the bedrooms and bathroom - the dog isnt allowed in the sleeping quarters but perfect for us. child gates supplied to help to organise this.

the bedrooms have been re-decorated from the last time we stayed but nonetheless, lovely and again attention to detail.

directly opposite the cottage is the gym and the barn hot tub - fabulous view from the tub over the hills and not mentioning the music and lights gadgets in the hot tub - great and welcoming.

lower down there is a dog exercise area which is pretty much a lawned field with seating area, fencing and a gate to keep the dog in. we have many pictures of our very happy dog loving every minute of this are.

we like the luxury of this accommodation and all that it has to offer.

to cottage has a folder with information of things to do, maps for the surrounding areas and general local information.

weve chosen to book hobnob for next year which we know will be just as good as rainbow. we want to invite people to join us who we know will love this just as much as we do.

Would like to say a huge thank you to Mike Jo and Tiff for a perfect stay and looking forward to next year.

If anyone wants more information about this accommodation, do contact me as i would be happy to chat about it.

Leaving wasnt difficult because we know we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiancé surprised me with a trip to Old Lanwarnick for my 30th birthday and it was the perfect break away. We stayed in Spice Barn which was a beautiful barn conversion from the outside with all the mod cons on the inside. Joanna was friendly, informative and very welcoming and even though the other barns were full we didn't bump into anyone else and had the hot tub to ourselves after some hard coastal walks. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the Honey Pot and Joanne made us feel very welcome right from the moment we arrived. The Honey Pot is finished to a very high standard and all the fixtures and fittings are great. The best thing of all is the hot tub, we enjoyed making use of this each night and the gym is also very good. Although the owners are close by, you really feel like you are alone during your stay at Old Lanwarnick but you know the owners are there and willing to help if needed. There are miles of open countryside to explore and the grounds of Old Lanwarnick are stunning.

Overall I would say this is a great base for a holiday in Cornwall and the cottages provide everything you could possibly need for your stay (the welcome pack is also fantastic).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USA_honeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I with our 2 children spent 4 nights in Blackberry Barn. The interior is amazing; beautiful well appointed kitchen, stylish lounge area with a comfy corner settee and fantastic bathroom and shower. There are also lots of thoughtful touches, such as picnic blanket, freezer blocks etc provided, as well as a stairgate which was useful with our 18 mth old.
The hot tub was lovely in the evening looking out over the hills. Everything has been done very tastefully and I cannot fault the cleanliness...absolutely spotless. I'm always slightly put off when I read dogs are welcome, but the barn was pristine as you would expect of a 5 star.
The only issue I have is with the beds, which were disappointing in their quality as were the pillows, some of which were very lumpy. The single beds were fine for our 4 yr old, but would have no support should an adult sleep on them. It was surprising the beds didn't match the high standards and attention to detail that is so evident elsewhere.
We had a lovely break in Blackberry barn and it is really clear that nothing is too much trouble. Our daughter really appreciated seeing the owners horses and talked about it for a long time afterwards!
We would recommend Old Lanwarnick to others. I would love to give it the 5/5 it deserves, but only with investment in better beds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura2012Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The accommodation is top notch with every detail thought about . Jo and Mike, the owners, couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. The surroundings are beautiful with lots to do and see. My 10 year old daughter described her holiday as 'the best time of her life'. The only possible improvement would be a pool but with the hot tub and local beaches there is plenty of watery fun to be had !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Lanwarnick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lanwarnick

Property: Old Lanwarnick
Address: Duloe PL14 4QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Duloe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Duloe
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Lanwarnick 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen on Discovery TV and winners of the Best Self Catering Tourism Awards for Cornwall and The South West 2011/12. Old Lanwarnick, is a 5 Star,Gold award winning, luxury, holiday hamlet, located 20 miles over the Cornwall/Devon border. Set in 34 acres and surrounded by hundreds of acres of unspoiled, ancient countryside, 3 miles from the beach, with beautiful walking, cycling and horse riding from the door. Dogs and horses welcome Free of Charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Lanwarnick Hotel Duloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing