We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Duloe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joann K
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location which makes for a great base to tour around Cornwall. The train journey from the end of the garden to Loos is a must. In fact travel by train is very easy and not at all expensive. We took the train from the end of the garden into Penzance for the day. The cottage is extremely well equipped and has everything you could want. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend this cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixStow...
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore East Cornwall and West Devon”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Miller's Lodge is a cottage with character but thoroughly modernised inside. Contains a lounge/diner with kitchen attached and upstairs a bedroom and bathroom. It is a comfortable place to stay and the kitchen in particular is very well equiped. As others have mentioned it is situated next to the Looe Valley line and St Keyne station which runs from Liskiard to Looe. The service is very reliable (trains about every 90mins) and allows an easy ride into Looe but also connections to the rest of the main railway network from Liskiard.

Millers Lodge is about a mile (maybe less from St Keyne and apart from the train it is a rarity to see any traffic at all. The roads are generally very narrow and I would suggest using the road from the cottage direct to Liskiard to get out into Cornwall rather than the minor roads which aren't always signposted.

Would thoroughly recommend Millers Lodge and plan on returning angain in the not too distant future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilco007
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the nicest cottage we have stayed in, it really is home from home with all the lovely finishing homely touches, it has everything you need and more! quality cuttelry and crockery, fluffy towels, coffee maker, dish washer, and all mod cons, we loved it here!! It's so peaceful, the first morning we woke up I opened the window to just the sound do birds singing, it was a world away from what we are used to, it was bliss, the train into Looe is a must! very cheap too and easy to catch. There's a big morrisons and an Aldi about 3 miles away so not far to stock up. We visited so many places Mevagissy, Plymouth, Falmouth but my favourite was St Ives! It's about 56 miles away (around an hour and 20 mins) but well worth a day out. The owners are lovely and very helpful I really can't recommend this cottage enough! Lovely stay thank you!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markpayne
England
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage - 10/10”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Millers Lodge between 20th and 27th July 2013. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was perfect. The cottage has everything you need. On the ground floor is a living room with dining area along with a fantastic and spacious gallery kitchen with about every utensil and pots and pans you would ever want. The kitchen also has an integrated dishwasher, washing machine, toaster, sandwich maker, electric tin opener, integrated fridge, integrated freezer, oven, electric hob, microwave and coffee maker amongst the array kitchen appliances.

Also provided are a clothes horse, ironing board and a Laundry basket. Electronics include a widescreen tv with freeview along with a DVD player. The cottage also includes a small selection of DVDs to watch. There is also a high end CD player and radio.

Upstairs leads to a gallery landing with a bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom is contemporary and includes a wc, whb and a shower. There is also a heated towel rail and lots of fluffy towels included.

Off the lounge is a small courtyard with a washing line and a table and chairs.

We were traveling with our 9 month old daughter and the owners were extremely friendly and very helpful. They provided us with a high chair, play centre, bath and changing mat which was really helpful and thoughtful. Whilst the owners were unobtrusive, it was great chatting to Paul about his musical passion and his new venture in the pipeline.

The cottage is located next to a stream and directly opposite the St Keyne Wishing Well halt railway stop. Trains run about Every hour to Looe or Liskeard and are very handy. It was great to pop into Looe (£2.60) adult return for food and drinks and then get the train back to the cottage. No driving required at all for Looe.

The cottage proved to be a great base for exploring the region. We visited Looe, The Eden Project, Padstow, Port Isaac and Polperro; all of which were great places to visit. There is a Morrisons supermarket about 10 minutes drive away in Liskeard which was very handy for stocking up on provisions.

In conclusion, Millers Lodge was faultless and somewhere we certainly won't hesitate to recommend to others as well as hopefully making a return visit ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and provisions were fantastic, as was the location and remoteness.
Liked least: No wifi signal but it is very remote so to be expected
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne H
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best ever Cottage”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned and we can honestly say this cottage is superb, every thing you need is in the cottage which matches modern with old world charm it is very comfortable and tastefully decorated. the location is perfect for touring cornwall and the inobtusive train stop to Looe and liskeard is a delight just 20 yards from the front door The owners are really friendly and helpfull we will return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: it was all so good that to say anything bad would silly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomL83
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First family holiday with baby - would highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

What more can I say? This was the ideal cottage for many reasons. Firstly it is in the best area. Central to the East of Cornwall you are only a short drive from anywhere (e.g. St. Austell, Eden Project, Looe, Polperro, Padstow). Secondly the location is so peaceful and ideal for a relaxing getaway. Thirdly the cottage has everything you need for a relaxing getaway and it has all modern conveniences. Fourthly I would highly recommend this cottage if you would like to take your baby for its first trip away. Ours is 9 months and she had a travelcot provided, a high chair provided and also a babies play centre too. Finally the owners of the cottage are so friendly and their gift on arrival was well needed after the drive. Oh...did I forget to mention that you can walk from the cottage to the rail track to Looe/Liskeard? Having a train so close may put people off, but you cant hear it and it isnt that often. It does provide a few drive free days if you have had a lot of driving and it is a fairly good price. On the whole an excellent cottage in an excellent location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having the train halt so close
Liked least: Having to drive home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really Comfortable cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Our stay at miller's lodge was so peacefull & comfortable
the cottage itself contained everything and we could not have asked for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location
Liked least: no wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing