We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house”
Review of The White House

The White House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Issey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #3 of 4 St Issey B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Excellent guest house, cannot say enough about the exceptional quality throughout their premises or the wonderful breakfasts. with so much choice. The owners are very warm, welcoming and caring.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend at The White House. Having travelled extensively throughout the world I can honestly say that I have never come across such perfect hosts. Elaine and Warwick (not Mike !!!) pay so much attention to detail that nothing is overlooked. The place is spotless, comfortable, homely, welcoming and all that you could want whether staying for a weekend or an annual holiday. There is a great choice of breakfast options including fresh fruit compote and even smoked salmon and kippers. The full English had sausages that actually tasted of real meat, not your usual chaff and skin!!!!!!!!
This is the place to stay when visiting Padstow and comes at a very good price.
Thanks Elaine and Mike (oops Warwick) Will see you again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We're just back from a weekend in Padstow where we did Rick Stein's seafood course. We booked at the last minute so struggled to find somewhere to stay as in August everything is full. We wanted a 'trendy' hotel but all the nice hotels were fully booked so we decided to go for a B&B. We called loads in the area and most were full and finally after searching the internet for ages found this place. You never really know from a website what a B&B is going to be like so we were apprehensive as we drove down.... but we needn't have been. This place was a real find. We were warmly welcomed and our room was just perfect. You could tell a lot of thought, work and love had gone into it. We also got to peak at other rooms and they were similar. They've done them up with a seaside theme, with lots of attention to detail, fun Sasha Harding artwork, nice furniture, nautical objects and sea shells set out with taste. Not at all quirky or wacky, but stylish, tasteful and clean. This could honestly have been a small trendy hotel room and we don't think you would have got anything better in a Rick Stein hotel in Padstow (apart from possibly a bigger bathroom, larger TV or better views). When we compared this to the kind of hotel room you would get in Padstow for twice, three or even 4 time the price (and that were all full) we could not believe our luck. A lot of the seaside hotels have old and dreary decors. This place is fresh and trendy.
Some rooms overlook the road but with the double glazed windows closed you can hardly hear the traffic and the others look over the fields and the beautiful Cornwall countryside.
Breakfast was good, just the sausages could have been of better quality.
Warwick and Elaine are lovely hosts.
This palce is only a few minutes drive from Padstow, so don't pay hundreds there for something that's 'just ok' but pay a lot less and go for something great with the White House.
Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HiddenGemLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

The White House is located in St Issey a 10 minute drive outside the beautiful town of Padstow. My partner and I arrived in Padstow without booking accommodation (big mistake!) but we were extremely lucky to find this guest house had had a cancellation. Elaine and Mike were very pleasant, Mike was particularly chatty and did all he could to make sure we were well versed on where to go in the area. The guest house was clean, bright and very welcoming and the breakfasts were good too. I hate to be negative as Mike and Elaine have obviously worked really to cater for their guests, but I was surprised to find there was no shower gel or even a bar of soap, which is normally supplied in these establishments to cater for those who are on the travelling road. Elaine did however supply me with a bar of soap from her own supply when I asked. This aside we had a really enjoyable two night stay, a little overpriced at £85.00 a night but nonetheless I would recommend staying at this guest house, just don't forget your suds!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shellage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Doppelbett in unserem Zimmer war etwas schmal (Queensize), Elaine bietet aber auch 2-Bett-Zimmer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Silke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: St Issey, Wadebridge PL27 7QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge > St Issey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Issey
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White House St Issey, Cornwall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing