We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food! Fantastic sausages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ring O Bells

Ring O Bells
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in St Issey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barton under Needwood, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely food! Fantastic sausages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice country pub which welcomes children too. The sausages were fantastic with a choice of mash! Children's meals very good not just your averge nuggets or sausages!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olympia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food here was good but the service was slow. We hadn't booked, although you can. We arrived around 7.15 and all the tables in the bar area were full. We enquired for a table and were shown through to a small restaurant area in which only one other table was occupied. We were advised that food was cooked to order and there would be a short wait but our food took almost an hour to arrive. It was good and hot when it did come and the waitress was very pleasant and apologetic. My husband commented that the food was better than the beer which he said was not kept well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loves_Holidays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful flowers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Passing by this pub at lunchtime and decided to call in for a snack, sat in the beautiful back yard, amongst flowers and pots of herbs and tomatoes. We ordered soup and a roll, soup not the best very salty, roll had been warmed but not that fresh, rather dry., but we enjoyed the colourful garden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twixeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No cake with morning coffee!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My two friends and I regularly have a coffee and cake walk each week in the summer. As we live locally, we'd spotted that the Ring O Bells were advertising morning coffee and homemade cakes. Ideal....we could have a walk through the fields to the pub, partake in refreshments then return along the Camel Trail. When we arrived at the pub around 11 am, one of my friends went in to see what was available. When she came out, she said that we weren't going to be very happy as there were no cakes on offer. When she told the landlord that we had walked a significant distance specifically to have coffee and cake, his reply was that it (yes, it was a singular cake!) was in the oven and anyway, he only had one pair of hands! We thought for a while and decided to have the coffee. When we went back in to order, we were given another unfriendly reception so we returned home coffee and cakeless! Disappointing as this is my local pub and I'm all for supporting local businesses. I'm sure the Britain in Bloom committee didn't go cakeless the day before!

Helpful?
Thank Lindsayphilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Would definitely stop here again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We're always weary about stopping at pubs, especially small local pubs but I have to say that our stay at the Ring o bells has put all this behind us!! The atmosphere was fantastic and not once were we made to feel like an out of towner. The room was perfect for our family stop. Plenty of room and very clean. A nice touch was the small gift of a cake awaiting our arrival went down well. There was a small wait for the food but it was all cooked from fresh so couldn't complain and too be honest was WELL worth the wait!! The homemade pies and sausages were out of this world. We wish we could of taken some home but unfortunately we were not there long enough. Will definitely be going back. Thanks Chris and all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal_Tipps99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ring O Bells also viewed

 

Been to Ring O Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing