We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£10 menu is excellent value”

The Pickwick Inn & Oliver's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in St Issey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in 7 acres of beautiful Cornish countryside, the Pickwick Inn is one of North Cornwall's hidden gems. The award-winning pub and restaurant now has 9 luxury bedrooms, all with sweeping, uninterrupted views across the Camel Estuary to Padstow and Rock and out to sea. Beer garden and children's play area.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“£10 menu is excellent value”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have not been here to eat for several years as had a couple of bad experiences, but on the recommendation of a friend gave it another try. I understand the chef is the same, but the food was far superior to previous visits. I had roast duck, which came with a choice of sauces and fresh vegetables, which although al dente, were actually cooked ( the last 2 visits they were almost raw) It was half a duck, with crispy skin, and I couldnt eat it all , and this was part of the £10 winter menu, didnt have room for a pud, but they sounded scrummy from the descriptions on the board. Only downfall was eating in the bar, the stools and seats are not quite high enough for the tables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    118
    52
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went there as part of a party of 15 people. We all have starter, main and dessert and the food was excellent, the staff where so helpful and friendly. With food and drinks came to £30 per person which was excellent value. Will be going back very soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherryanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Level Contributor
363 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Average pub food at normal prices, but unwelcoming”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We recently dined here early one evening whilst on a family holiday in the area. The evening was cold, dark and wet outside and when we arrived at about 6.30pm the place was empty apart from a couple of drinkers at the bar. We asked the young girl who was serving behind the bar if we could sit in a warm area of the bar, preferably near the roaring log burning stove, but she said that as we had two 7 year old boys with us (who are incidentally impeccably well behaved), we had to go into the 'family room'. There was only one heater working in the 'family room' and the room its self was chilly and clinical. Once we had decided what we all wanted to eat and drink I went to the bar and ordered our food and drinks, and again the young girl behind the bar was curt, almost to the level of rudeness.
The meals duly arrived and were served by two very helpful, polite young waitresses, however the food can only be described as of a reasonable standard and certainly not worth going out of your way to seek out.
Thankfully this is not the sort of traditional Cornish welcome, or Cornish food that we usually encounter during our holidays in this wonderful part of the UK. So please don't let this put you off Cornwall, just find a more welcoming, family friendly place to dine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysonholiday53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

read about this on here and wasn't disappointed. Very difficult to find in the middle of no where but pub busy which is a good sign. Extensive menu with a large specials board currently most items £10 now its winter. May unusual items on the menu too which made a pleasant change. fresh cooked vegetables and very nice chips too. I can recommend the crispy pork belly, lamb shank and the white fish pancakes. The desserts are heavenly too

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N00kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Great food, fabulous location, friendly staff who gave us a warm welcome, the barmaid Sally was lovely. Great pint of Rattler. Nice pub for all, child friendly. Be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Wackygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickwick Inn & Oliver's Restaurant also viewed

 
Little Petherick, Padstow
 

Been to The Pickwick Inn & Oliver's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing