We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
184
96
45
35
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
96
45
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak night wedding venue lovely old building trebarwith strand the pub standard room great atmosphere stayed one night sunday lunch cooked to perfection mussels weekend break friendly welcome ate here feel very welcome north cornwall family room
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 372 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have eaten at the Mill 3 times & have had an excellent meal every time. The restaurant is light, airy with a good atmosphere & the young but very knowledgeable waiting staff do well even when busy. In fact we actually prefer the service from them than the owner himself! The 2nd time of visiting I had the pleasure of meeting one of the sous chefs, Adam who was, even after a full day in the kitchen, enthusiastic & energetic & was happy to talk about some of his amazingly creative ideas.

On our 3rd visit we discussed perhaps booking a table for some of our friends for my 'big' birthday with the possibility of booking some of the rooms. We asked the owner after we had finished our meal if we could have a look at the accommodation & he said that he could show us one of the superior room as all the other ooms were occupied.

As we passed through the pub - we have had a drink in here & it's very different to the restaurant but relaxed & an equally good atmosphere - and into the reception area, the contrast was immediate & shocking. The reception was not only shabby but dirty & grimy. The owner took us up the stairs & to the first room on the left. I think my face must have said it all. Both myself & Moonface we totally speechless. The room was just awful. Bare, what furniture there was was old & tatty, the bathroom was dirty & mouldy, the paint was peeling on the walls & to be honest we were amazed that they have the front to rent out a room like this at all, let alone as a superior. And the owner seemed to think the room was lovely. After an embarrasing silence, we left promptly.

We will go back for a meal but the experience has been slighly marred by knowing what is on the other side of that door. My recommendation would be go for a meal & I doubt if you will be disappointed but don't what ever you do stay there or suggest to anyone you want to stay on friendly terms with to stay there either.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillHouseTintagel, General Manager at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2010

We are glad that the reviewer enjoyed our restaurant and appreciates the level of service that our staff endeavour to provide, it is a shame that this wasn't reflected in their service score.

We do not feel that this is a very fair review for the following reasons:

1 - The reviewer did not stay with us.
2- The comments about the quality of the rooms were based on a cursory glimpse of Room 1, not other rooms were viewed.
3-This review was written 4 weeks after the visit and no comments were made to us at the time.
4-We accept that the room is in need of some decotation however we feel that the reviewer has exaggerated slightly, at the end of a busy summer season there is always redecorating and repair to be done, particularily in a 16th century building, this will start in November. We do not accept that the bathroom was dirty or mouldy.
Our reception area has also been earmarked for refurbishment this winter as this is a high traffic area located between the bar and the terrace.

Thank you

The Mill House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have just spent 4 idylic days here and only needed to use the car once. Very welcoming and peaceful place, a hidden gem. The beach is fantastic and is within walking distance. We walked the coast path in both directions which has stunning views. Breakfast certainly sets you up for the day and the paupers meal on Wednesday was fantastic and outstanding value. I've visited most of Cornwall over the years and this place is definitely high on my list of places to visit again I just can't believe it has taken me so long to find it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Looked really lovely from the outside, but on entering room 3 the wall below the shelf with tea and coffee on it was covered with damp and mould. the celing was mouldy in the bathroom and behind the tap was dirty and not been cleaned properly. this establishment was ment to be four stars, perhaps the other rooms were nicer but ours was a let down. also it was a sunday night and you expect the noise from the pub below to tail off after about 22:30, but at 23:30 the pub was still in full flow with music playing really loudly, which i thought was inconsiderate to their guests! this was supposed to be a break away which was long overdue and we felt reluctant to complain at the time as we were unsure if we would get anywhere at such short notice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayescx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Dancing light on pebbled stream
Peace and calm, a chance to dream
A La Carte to make Van Gogh envious
Sense of those who lived before
Breakfast portions - Famous Five
We’ll definitely be back for more

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimSandiDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

It seems The Mill House Inn has become a victim of it's own success as they have now built a quite large extension in order to cater for wedding receptions and other large functions. However, it seems they are trying to keep their local patrons happy whilst catering for the bigger money spinners, but it didn't work for us. The bar was noisy and raucous and upon arrival, service was very haphazard and insincere, eg. barmaid said you can't have a table for at least an hour, but then we were shown to a table in the non-atmospheric 'aircraft hangar' within 20 minutes. The quality of the food was actually GREAT, but the service was letting the chef down big time, and we left feeling that if we were the chef, we would NOT be happy. In the end, we were ready to order dessert, but because we watched two other tables be asked for their orders before us (who were way behind us prior to that), we went off the idea. We complained, they were apologetic, but it tainted the experience for us. A real shame, as the food was excellent. We would probably not go back as a result.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morriganmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews