We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
182
96
43
34
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
96
43
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak nightwedding venuelovely old buildingtrebarwith strandthe pubstandard roomgreat atmospherestayed one nightsunday lunchcooked to perfectionmusselsweekend breakfriendly welcomeate herefeel very welcomenorth cornwallfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 367 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2017

Wonderful building in idyllic setting.
On entry smell of dog and damp
A little unkempt hallways and stairwells
Resident lounge seating dirty and scruffy ....I wouldn't sit on it
Very upset that room unclean and was charged for drinks while waiting for another clean despite it being done the day before!
Even after clean found many areas that were dirty and 'hair' in shower as much as cobwebs etc.
Because of this chose not to stay for food and drink in the evenings
Breakfast was excellent. Good choice of continental and cooked although Saturdays 'fresh' fruit was put out again on Sunday rather shriveled edges on the melon.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bigteaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjohngraham, Owner at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, which I was also very upset to read. Firstly my apologies for the general state of our premises. The previous night was our annual fireworks exhibition and there were nearly 500 visitors on site, so the premises may not have been as clean as they normally are, particularly as it had rained later in the evening. I understand your room was re-cleaned on request and you should have been given a free drink whilst you were waiting. Please let me know how much you were charged for this drink and I would be happy to refund this.
I am a little confused about your comment about the breakfast fruit, as I thought you stayed on the Saturday and Sunday night and not the Friday and Saturday night as you have indicated?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We had a meal here on a Thursday evening in September during our visit to Cornwall. It was the £10.00 steak night and the steak was great. We were very happy with the other food as well like the veg option and the lovely cheese cake. The staff were very friendly and the service was quick. There was a very good selection of ales as well. I wish it were our local.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nia7x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjohngraham, Manager at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your review of us here at The Mill House Inn. Our steak night is very popular and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your steak. Will look forward to a potential return in the future.

Kind regards,

Jack Buckley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed a couple of times at this venue and have to say we do not have a bad word about it. The food has always been excellent and the staff are always friendly and helpful.
It may not be the largest hotel or have the very latest modern of facilities but its small and perfectly formed, this is its charm.
The location is stunning. The management are exceptionally helpful and considerate and deal with professionally on a personal level.
We love this venue so much we are getting married here next year(2018) and can’t wait.
Mark and his team should be congratulated on the running of this hotel.
I’m sorry if anyone has had cause to bemoan the venue in any way, I can only think it must have been an anomaly and most definitely the exception, definitely try again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank bjdance69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjohngraham, Manager at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We pride ourselves on friendly service and being as helpful as possible. We look forward to your wedding in the New Year and make your special day memorable.

Regards,

Jack Buckley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Lovely venue, very accommodating and the food was excellent, a buffet so that there was something for everyone. Would recommend it as a very, cosy and personable. A great choice on a very windy and wet afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjohngraham, Manager at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Hi John,

Thank you for your comments and for recommending us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed The Mill as a wedding venue.

Regards,

Jack Buckley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

This is the fifth time we have stayed at the Mill House, with our German Shepherd, and for the fifth time it was excellent. Great food and atmosphere, lovely staff and a great pint (2012 Tintagel). The Breakfasts are superb, rooms are always clean, very comfortable and a very dog friendly pub. There is good food every night with the 'Paupers Supper' and 'Steak night' offering extremely good value.
The locals who use the pub are always friendly and happy to inform you about the local area and sites.
The 'Mill House' is surrounded by woods and is a short walk away from the beach at 'Trebarwith Strand' This in my opinion is one of the nicest beaches in Cornwall, always clean, with lovely sand to walk on with stunning scenery.
You can purchase, Drinks, Food, Ice-creams here and hire a surf board if you wish.

Room Tip: Check it has a shower, room one, though very spacious has a bath and hand shower, not for every one, though it doesn't bother us.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDouglas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjohngraham, Manager at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Hi R Douglas,

Thank you for your lovely comments about us here at The Mill House Inn. We are pleased to here you and your German Shepard had a lovely time. We are very lucky here at The Mill to be situated next as you rightly said a stunning beach in all kinds of weather. We will defiantly be look forward to your return stay with us.

Regards,

Jack Buckley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews