We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, romantic, very friendly, AMAZING breakfast!”
Review of The Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Trebarwith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, romantic, very friendly, AMAZING breakfast!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed one night at this lovely b n b and wish we stayed longer! Cosy rooms with comfy double bed. Kettle, tea and complimentary biscuits. Have a drink in the downstairs pub and definitely get the full Cornish breakfast, scrambled eggs and vegetarian sausage. Have dinner down the road at the Port William and King Arthur's Castle is just around the corner. I will be back when we visit family in the UK again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    86
    33
    31
    10
See reviews for
60
192
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This inn isn't the cheapest, but for a special meal it's really worth it. Lovely setting and the service was excellent. Lovely choice of local specialities and the food was beautifully cooked. Well worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

we ate here on Easter bank holiday Monday when we came to watch their annual Easter duck race. excellent food. good value for money. only disappointment was that our chosen ducks didn't win. just have to try again next year!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bronwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked a 2 night stay for my husbands Birthday and primarily chose the Mill House as we were able to take our dog. We stayed in a superior room which was spotlessly clean, with a lovely comfortable bed with pleanty of room for us and the dog. The location is amazing and although the weather could have been better it didn't spoil our stay. We spent a whole afternoon in the bar drinking with friends in front of the log burner, it felt like home from home.
The whole atmostphere of the place was warm and friendly as were the staff. The food was amazing, we ate in the restaurant both nights and the chef made my husdand (upon request) a supherb brithday cake.
We'll be recommending to all our friends and will def be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room (room 1) although it's right next to the stairs you have no neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This converted mill is on a tiny dirt road in the middle of the forest; if you can find it, it is worth a stay. Our room No. 5 was huge, elegant and very comfortable. There is no elevator and one must walk up a narrow stairway which adds to the charm. The dining room is cosy, spacious, tastefully decorated. We liked it so much that we stayed a second night. Unfortunately the food is quite inconsistent. Our first dinner was excellent. The identical mushroom soup did not resemble the one of the night before in any way - it tasted like some leftovers had been scraped up and diluted. We were told that a different chef was in the kitchen. The staff doubles up at reception, the bar and the dining room. It is a very good location for visiting Tintagel castle, Boscastle, Port Isaac, etc..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The room (no 6) was cramped with no drawer space. The windows were so rotten there were gaps between the single glazing and rotten wood. The double opening doors to the bathroom did not shut and did not have a lock on, hence no privacy. There was only a toothbrush holder, no shelf ! We had dinner the first night of our two night stay. The steak was fatty and difficult to cut/eat. My partner mentioned this and we were refunded one of out sweets. The eggs at breakfast were fried in too hot fat and were crispy . The dining room was hardly cosy, with just an electric light run into the 'log burner'. The bar had two old settees round a log burner. The bar was uninviting and had two small wooden tables with church like wooden chairs. The staff were friendly and helpful. The general state of the inn is run down. Gutters were blocked with ivy growing up the roof and in gullies (also blocked). Many slates were missing from the roof. The residents lounge was not cosy and a thoroughfare to the bar and restaurant. The bed was comfortable in the room. The two packets of biscuits were not replaced on the second day in the room. The second night we ate in Tintagel and had a lovely meal, half the price and in a warm, cosy environment.This inn needs a great deal of work on it and although our room was a 'Standard Double' it was not well presented or cosy with a gale blowing through the rotten windows. I think the hotel inspector needs to book in for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

From the First phonecall until we left, the service was exceptional without being over-attentive and Mark was welcoming and friendly. The restaurant, bar and lounges were cosy and comfortable with log burning fires and both the evening meal and breakfast were beautifully presented and delicious.

We stayed in the family suite which was
warm and much better than the owners' rating of " basic" The room was quiet and peaceful with a good ensuite.

This place is gorgeous and perfect in every respect. Go there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillybobsGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trebarwith
1.6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
174 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Inn

Property: The Mill House Inn
Address: Trebarwith Strand, Trebarwith, Tintagel PL34 OHD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel > Trebarwith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trebarwith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill House Hotel Trebarwith
The Mill Hotel
The Mill House Inn Trebarwith, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing