We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mill House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wootons Inn(Tintagel)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$131
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
$117
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Port Gaverne Hotel(Port Gaverne)
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
172
92
41
34
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
92
41
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak nightlovely old buildingtrebarwith strandwedding venuethe pubstandard roomlovely areasunday lunchmusselscooked to perfectionstaff were really friendlyout of seasonbreakfast was deliciousate herenight breakfeel very welcomerelaxed atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 351 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have to tell the world about this wonderful place From arranging the taxi to collect us and take us back to where we were staying to the friendliness of the waiting staff nothing could have been bettered The scallops were divine The sea bass on mussels and clams to die for! So good were they that my husband had another helping and was given an extra helping of scallops too The garlic and cream sauce was delicious The lovely helpful waitress was a delight and nothing was too much trouble The chocolate brownie was very tasty but sadly after a course of local tasty cheeses there was too little room left to eat it all The strawberry shortcake that my husband had gets top marks
In all this is a top restaurant on a par with some of the Michelin starred ones we've been too and despite it meaning a round trip of over 500 miles and an overnight stay we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparklenutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed in this lovely hotel for seven nights in the family room. We found the room to be light, spacious and very comfortable and It had the added advantage off having an adjoining room for the children. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we looked forward to our freshly cooked breakfast each morning. We ate twice in the bar for an evening meal which on both occassions we found the food to be delicious and enjoyed by all of us. I would not hesistate to recommend this charming, relaxing and very friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The rooms were fairly basic and not well appointed without a lot of the trimmings you would expect for the price charged. For example there were no shampoo, body wash etc in the bathroom and some of the furnishings had seen better days. We were on a business trip and could not have a cooked breakfast because the kitchen didn't open until 8.30am. But even if we had been on holiday we would have wanted to eat breakfast earlier than that to enjoy some sightseeing. On the positive side we had an excellent meal in the restaurant and enjoyed some excellent live music in the bar. Was a bit of a walk to the beach. Overall not a memorable experience especially when we stayed the following night at a lower priced hotel in nearby Boscastle which was much better value for money and fitted out like a palace in comparison.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricnnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Lovely old building with a great big new dining room stuck on the back. Pitching high - website makes it look very smart - but it's a bit tired inside. We stayed in a four-person suite - rooms 8 and 9. Small, old-fashioned rooms, very clean. Room 8 had a single bed and bunk beds; room 9 had a small double bed - too small for us to get a decent night's sleep, especially as it was pretty noisy downstairs (Bank Holiday Monday) and the curtains were so lightweight in both rooms that the light woke us up at about six a.m. Impossible to shower without drenching the bathroom, and the basin was the smallest one I've ever seen. We ate in the restaurant and both ordered lobster thermidor (£19.95 apiece) which came far too quickly for the dish to be anything other than pre-prepared, and was simply half a small lobster on a bed of salad with potatoes - the lobster was dry and elastic and without any sort of sauce let alone thermidor. We should have sent it back. When we mentioned this as we checked out the man behind reception said he'd had to pull the chef up on something else as well that evening, and offered apologies but no refund. Staff were friendly but mostly teenage. Access is not for the learner driver - there's a very sharp hairpin bend on to a steep road down to the hotel. Overpriced, overrated, disappointing.

Room Tip: rooms 8 and 9 were a bit noisy at night
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmcompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandraCornwall, Owner at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

My husband and I were very concerned to read this review, as these hotel guests had attended a wedding at The Mill House earlier in the day. We were pleased the wedding was so successful (the groom's parents wrote in our comments book remarking that 'the food was lovely' and the wedding couple also wrote some glowing comments about their day).
It is unfortunate that the reviewer had an unsatisfactory dinner experience and if this had been reported at the time, then we are sure this would have been resolved and an appropriate refund organised. The reviewer stayed in our family room, which is very popular with families and has never been subject of a negative review. As it is on the top floor it is a relatively quiet room and the bed, which is of standard size with a king size duvet has recently been purchased. We are sorry the reviewer was unhappy, but feel many of the comments were unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very friendly
Lovely sandwiches
Great location
Lovely ale
Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winchestersmith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews