We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
185
98
46
35
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
98
46
35
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak night wedding venue old mill lovely old building trebarwith strand the pub standard room stayed one night sunday lunch cooked to perfection pudding lovely atmosphere weekend break evening meal friendly welcome ate here family room
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 376 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Lovely old building with a great big new dining room stuck on the back. Pitching high - website makes it look very smart - but it's a bit tired inside. We stayed in a four-person suite - rooms 8 and 9. Small, old-fashioned rooms, very clean. Room 8 had a single bed and bunk beds; room 9 had a small double bed - too small for us to get a decent night's sleep, especially as it was pretty noisy downstairs (Bank Holiday Monday) and the curtains were so lightweight in both rooms that the light woke us up at about six a.m. Impossible to shower without drenching the bathroom, and the basin was the smallest one I've ever seen. We ate in the restaurant and both ordered lobster thermidor (£19.95 apiece) which came far too quickly for the dish to be anything other than pre-prepared, and was simply half a small lobster on a bed of salad with potatoes - the lobster was dry and elastic and without any sort of sauce let alone thermidor. We should have sent it back. When we mentioned this as we checked out the man behind reception said he'd had to pull the chef up on something else as well that evening, and offered apologies but no refund. Staff were friendly but mostly teenage. Access is not for the learner driver - there's a very sharp hairpin bend on to a steep road down to the hotel. Overpriced, overrated, disappointing.

Room tip: rooms 8 and 9 were a bit noisy at night
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmcompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandraCornwall, Owner at The Mill House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

My husband and I were very concerned to read this review, as these hotel guests had attended a wedding at The Mill House earlier in the day. We were pleased the wedding was so successful (the groom's parents wrote in our comments book remarking that 'the food was lovely' and the wedding couple also wrote some glowing comments about their day).
It is unfortunate that the reviewer had an unsatisfactory dinner experience and if this had been reported at the time, then we are sure this would have been resolved and an appropriate refund organised. The reviewer stayed in our family room, which is very popular with families and has never been subject of a negative review. As it is on the top floor it is a relatively quiet room and the bed, which is of standard size with a king size duvet has recently been purchased. We are sorry the reviewer was unhappy, but feel many of the comments were unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very friendly
Lovely sandwiches
Great location
Lovely ale
Would thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winchestersmith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We did not stay at The Mill House but we dined in the bar one evening whilst on holiday in the area so this is a review for the food only.
Overall we had a very nice meal. The restaurant was closed so we ate in the bar. The service was friendly and quick and the food was very tasty. A nice atmosphere as well.

Date of stay: June 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Member1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights here after our wedding. The service we received from all of the staff was great from the moment we walked in -we even had our room booking upgraded on account of being newly weds!

The room itself was wonderful. Clean and spacious with exposed beams and plenty of character from the old building. All the usual facilities tea/coffee television and radio etc. The adjoining bathroom was also large, spotless and well stocked with toiletries. The choice of breakfast was good with the usual range of cereals, fruit and yoghurts plus several cooked options.

The location is fantastic a five minute walk to the beach and within a short drive to Padstow etc.

We ate in the bar/restaurant one evening, for the pauper’s night. The food was good and for the price it represents excellent value.

Yes, there are locals drinking in the bar in the evening and yes, you will hear them talking in your room. Get over it. It's an inn. - If the locals eat and drink there then it’s usually a good sign.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ade_oxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My wife and I visit the area regularly and are always on the look out for new places. We spend a great deal of time down at Trebarwith Strand and have driven past The Mill House on many occasions and to be honest had not given it a second thought as we’d assumed it was nothing more than a ‘crab sandwich and pint pub’. Whilst (for a giggle) reading some of the reviews for the ‘barking’ Tintagel Castle Hotel we noticed a couple of references to The Mill and thought we’d give it a try.

The restaurant is in what looks like a barn conversion at the back of the building. It’s light and airy and well done in muted tones. The high ceilings and wooden floors makes it a bit ‘boomy’ but the tables are well spaced so there’s no real noise problem.

The menu is sensible and well balanced; about 6 starters and mains (so you know this is freshly prepared stuff) there was also a comprehensive wine list which was reasonably priced. We both had scallops in a chick pea puree to start – which arrived on the obligatory pieces of slate – a simple and well put together dish. Mains were a seafood broth for my wife and a rib eye steak with mini steak and mushroom pie for me; again both excellently executed, nice simple flavours, superbly presented and very well cooked. Puddings again great, chocolate brownie for me and sticky toffee pud for my wife.

But, there is a ‘but’. . . The service. . . Whilst it wasn’t ‘bad’, it just wasn’t ‘good’. We and a number of other diners had to ask for bread (which incidentally was home made and excellent) before the meal, food was literally ‘plonked down’ without a simple “enjoy your meal”. Mistakes with dishes were being made (not with us admittedly but with other diners) and one just got the impression that this was a young group of kids, doing this as a holiday/evening job with no real training or care – which in an establishment of this quality, shouldn’t be happening – one felt they needed a restaurant manager to watch these kids like a hawk.

So there we have it, all in all an excellent meal in great surroundings, just sort the staff out and it really will be a great, great venue. . . Oh, and one other thing, the chairs that are stacked “out of sight” above the doorway to the restaurant. . . They’re not “out of sight” at all and make the place look untidy!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews