We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
182
95
43
34
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
95
43
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak nightwedding venuelovely old buildingtrebarwith strandthe pubstandard roomgreat atmospherestayed one nightsunday lunchcooked to perfectionmusselsweekend breakfriendly welcomeate herefeel very welcomenorth cornwallfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 366 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very friendly
Lovely sandwiches
Great location
Lovely ale
Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winchestersmith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We did not stay at The Mill House but we dined in the bar one evening whilst on holiday in the area so this is a review for the food only.
Overall we had a very nice meal. The restaurant was closed so we ate in the bar. The service was friendly and quick and the food was very tasty. A nice atmosphere as well.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Member1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights here after our wedding. The service we received from all of the staff was great from the moment we walked in -we even had our room booking upgraded on account of being newly weds!

The room itself was wonderful. Clean and spacious with exposed beams and plenty of character from the old building. All the usual facilities tea/coffee television and radio etc. The adjoining bathroom was also large, spotless and well stocked with toiletries. The choice of breakfast was good with the usual range of cereals, fruit and yoghurts plus several cooked options.

The location is fantastic a five minute walk to the beach and within a short drive to Padstow etc.

We ate in the bar/restaurant one evening, for the pauper’s night. The food was good and for the price it represents excellent value.

Yes, there are locals drinking in the bar in the evening and yes, you will hear them talking in your room. Get over it. It's an inn. - If the locals eat and drink there then it’s usually a good sign.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ade_oxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My wife and I visit the area regularly and are always on the look out for new places. We spend a great deal of time down at Trebarwith Strand and have driven past The Mill House on many occasions and to be honest had not given it a second thought as we’d assumed it was nothing more than a ‘crab sandwich and pint pub’. Whilst (for a giggle) reading some of the reviews for the ‘barking’ Tintagel Castle Hotel we noticed a couple of references to The Mill and thought we’d give it a try.

The restaurant is in what looks like a barn conversion at the back of the building. It’s light and airy and well done in muted tones. The high ceilings and wooden floors makes it a bit ‘boomy’ but the tables are well spaced so there’s no real noise problem.

The menu is sensible and well balanced; about 6 starters and mains (so you know this is freshly prepared stuff) there was also a comprehensive wine list which was reasonably priced. We both had scallops in a chick pea puree to start – which arrived on the obligatory pieces of slate – a simple and well put together dish. Mains were a seafood broth for my wife and a rib eye steak with mini steak and mushroom pie for me; again both excellently executed, nice simple flavours, superbly presented and very well cooked. Puddings again great, chocolate brownie for me and sticky toffee pud for my wife.

But, there is a ‘but’. . . The service. . . Whilst it wasn’t ‘bad’, it just wasn’t ‘good’. We and a number of other diners had to ask for bread (which incidentally was home made and excellent) before the meal, food was literally ‘plonked down’ without a simple “enjoy your meal”. Mistakes with dishes were being made (not with us admittedly but with other diners) and one just got the impression that this was a young group of kids, doing this as a holiday/evening job with no real training or care – which in an establishment of this quality, shouldn’t be happening – one felt they needed a restaurant manager to watch these kids like a hawk.

So there we have it, all in all an excellent meal in great surroundings, just sort the staff out and it really will be a great, great venue. . . Oh, and one other thing, the chairs that are stacked “out of sight” above the doorway to the restaurant. . . They’re not “out of sight” at all and make the place look untidy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel is in a wonderful location. The staff were very friendly. Decor a little tired. Overall impressed and would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over bar at weekends Can be noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimpymeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews